We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and tidy, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and tidy, great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very clean and tidy older style accommodation. It is a little dated but in great condition and well looked after. Friendly and helpful staff. A great location just outside of Burnie, very quiet with no trains and wharf noise like locations in the city. We had 3 meals in the restaurant and they were all high quality at reasonable prices. Free internet was a bonus.

Room Tip: If you're chasing a really quiet room ask to be in the southern bank of units towards the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
33
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this motel for two nights while visiting the area (Burnie & Stanley). The room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was good. The young woman at reception was friendly and very enthusiastic. No complaints on any counts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont South, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Great position just out of Burnie across the road from the River with free internet and comfortable rooms, not far from Seabrook Hotel with $10 very good meals,two desserts for one, with terrific service and pokies in the bar

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked one night and stayed two. Very friendly and helpful manager, nothing was too much trouble for her. The motel is a bit dated, but don't be put off, it is exceptionally clean & comfortable, and there is the most wonderful beach across the road which we had almost to ourselves. When the tide is high the water comes up the river and everyone swims there - great fun. There is an on-site restaurant with decent food, and we also ate at Fish Frenzy in Burnie, 10 mins drive away. All in all a great place to stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Photos in ad don't do justice. Really comfortable and clean and wonderful start to Tassie holiday .great restaurant good value .Staff and hostess really helpful and friendly Bed really comfortable and shower was excellent . Breakfast good size and this is an ideal place to stay as so close to all popular tourist spots . Stanley just hour away .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, the rooms were comfortable & peaceful. The staff were very friendly and caring. We ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing A+++++
The parks and surrounding area is beautiful, and Cam River is lovely and we all enjoyed our stay & would love to return one day.

Room Tip: You can't go past this place it's so peaceful and relaxing. We had rooms on the ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maxine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had been wanting to cook something on the barbie since getting to the island, and our hosts were very helpful in getting a seldom-used BBQ working, loaning us all we needed for cooking and dining, and for washing up after.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheCordrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
3.6 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
3.4 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
Address: 9 Murchison Hwy | (Somerset), Burnie, Tasmania 7322, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, quiet location opposite a scenic tidal river. On the edge of the Tarkine wilderness, near Penguin rookeries, Makers Workshop, Hellyer whiskey distillery and the tulip farms of Table Cape. A short drive to Stanley, the Tarkine Wilderness Experience and the majestic Cradle Mountain. Only 10 minutes from the Burnie Airport. Be sure to try the fresh local cuisine in our renowned onsite 'Jetty Licensed Restaurant'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing