We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my return from a recent business trip around Tasmania. I was looking for a quality sleep. It was my last night before flying back to the mainland. Altho the rooms are not modern, they are exceptionally clean, very well maintained, warm and provide all that you need. Because this hotel is away from the main highway, the rooms are very quiet. The televison is large flat screen and there is an extensive dvd library. The staff could not have been friendlier. Bed was firm, but I like that. The mobile internet reception was also slow. Overall a lovely place to stay. This will be my choice from now on when in Burnie area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. The things you have mentioned such as a quiet, clean room with a good quality bed, are those we try to focus on - although we need to keep working on the internet access, sometimes great, sometime not. Looking forward to welcoming you when next in town. Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
33
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed as part of a group of about 20 people and did not hear anyone say anything bad about the hotel. We arrived late and left early so did not have time to appreciate the location but it is attractively situated next to the Cam River. The staff were welcoming and happy to meet our requests. The rooms were small but warm and comfortable, which was appreciated in mid-winter and after a 4 hour drive. The beds were fine, the plumbing worked, the lights and TV worked, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can stay a little longer next time and
enjoy the local countryside. Kind regards - Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As others have commented, this motel is in a quiet location just outside of Burnie. The rooms are clean and the addition of a heater was appreciated. The bathrooms have been given a makeover and were very clean.
The downside for me was that I found the bed so hard and so uncomfortable. I am still suffering a sore back almost a week after. My husband had no problem though so it is a very personal thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Toone463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad we were able to meet your needs, if you are back this way please ask for a softer bed, we have different types, although your husband may not be happy! Cheers - Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was nice and simple, rooms were tidy and clean with good amenities.. Flat screen tv, nice hot water. There was a heater in the bedroom which was good as it was quite cold. Was just what we needed for our overnight stay. The bed was pretty hard. Family had a split room next door. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks Rhys for your constructive comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards - Kev & Cindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Arrived on second day of our Tassie holiday. Was greeted by a smile and hello from Kevin, milk and the local paper. BEST reception of any place I've stayed.

Room was basic, little dated but clean and comfortable bed combined with a quiet location.

Restaurant was great, our meals were good quality and good servings along with great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Did you have to give Kevin such a good rap? I am still
trying to get one up on that! Cheers - Cindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of February and was happy with the experience. Nice clean room on the second floor and everything worked. It was also very quiet, which I’d hoped for. Reviewers of other “sleeperies” in the Burnie area often mentioned excess noise so I opted for accommodation out of the CBD but still easily accessible. Only complaint was a shortage of power outlets in the room. I had to rearrange furniture to be able to plug in the computer for working and charging at the same time. A minor inconvenience but still a nuisance. Food in the restaurant was good. Breakfast not included but the motel provides the makings of a continental breakfast for about $10 per head.

Room Tip: Upper floor quiet because no one on top of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Appreciate your review and glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet - we love it too.
Just wanted to let you know we have taken your comments regarding the power outlets on board and have installed double outlets beside the table and chairs in those rooms that were lacking.
Many thanks - Kev and Cindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff were lovely but the room was straight from the 70's. looked old and tired. It was good to have a table to work on and the tea and coffee making area was great.
walking distance to places to eat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Our property was built in the 70's so it is always an ongoing mission to keep them looking fresh. Hope to see you again soon - we now have 32" flat screens in each room, great to watch our free DVD's on. Cheers! Cindi & Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
3.6 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
3.4 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#4 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn

Property: Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Address: 9 Murchison Hwy | Somerset, Burnie, Tasmania 7322, Australia (Formerly Best Western Murchison Lodge)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, quiet location opposite a scenic tidal river. On the edge of the Tarkine wilderness, near Penguin rookeries, Makers Workshop, Hellyer whiskey distillery and the tulip farms of Table Cape. A short drive to Stanley, the Tarkine Wilderness Experience and the majestic Cradle Mountain. Only 10 minutes from the Burnie Airport. Be sure to try the fresh local cuisine in our renowned onsite 'Jetty Licensed Restaurant'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing