We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely decorated & conveniently located”
Review of The Duck House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duck House
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent a night at the Duck House and house looks much better than the photos shown in the website. It's very nicely maintained. We received warm welcome from the host and we really appreciate the food she prepared for our breakfast the next day. We enjoyed our stay at the Duck House

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Several friends and family members recently stayed at the trio of B & Bs [owned by the same people] - The Duck House, Mrs. Philpotts and Amelia's Cottage. Each residence was simply stunning with beautiful antiques, immaculate rooms and with every comfort you could wish for while on holiday. We were there for a family wedding and each of us said we would come again just to stay in the beautiful accommodation. Lynne and her husband Titch go above and beyond to ensure guests' comfort - including supplying a fantastic breakfast of free range eggs and bacon, cereals, yoghurts, plunger coffee, juice etc. The bathrooms are also well stocked with everything you'd ever need and there is a communal garden situated between the homes where guests are invited to help themselves to fresh produce. I was only disappointed that I couldn't stay longer and will definitely go back. If you're looking for a home away from home which is so much more than a motel then contact Lynne. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: The Duck House is probably the smaller of the 3 but they are equally suberb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A big shout out to Titch and Lyn to say thanks. We stayed one night at the 3 bedroom Duck House. More than enough room to cater for us all ( 2 couples ) Ours was a last minute booking made via the Info Centre in Burnie. Beautiful well maintained old house, close location to everything you needed, including walking distance to all shopping facilities and straight down the road at night to the promenade to see the Penguins. We received a warm welcome from Titch the owner, who also gave us information on things to do in Burnie. Ample provisions for breakfast were provided upon our arrival - a nice touch .Definitely worth the $$. We recommend this property to all travellers.

Room Tip: A 3 bedroom house - Book it now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IveGotToLetYouKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Location was within walking distance of town/the makers workshop with off street parking. Facilities were everything you could need, including fresh garden produce and yummy breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the bath relaxing, even with the ducks! A great place to stay in Burnie.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank bkotago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Duck House is a gorgeous house with everything you could need for a stay in Burnie. The house is immaculately maintained, the owners will give you a very warm welcome and you will have access to a great garden with free vegies, herbs and lemons/limes. Generous breakfast provisions are supplied for you to prepare for yourself in the very well appointed kitchen. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The house is situated on a very quiet street while still within a very short walk to the bars and restaurants of Burnie. The host is very knowledgeable of the local area and can advise on local gems to visit; we took a drive to Stanley based on their recommendation and the drive over there was one of the highlights of our trip to Tassie - absolutely beautiful countryside. Unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: The Duck House is a must stay if in Burnie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thanks for a great time whilst we were there your hospitality was 100%
When we come back over we shall certainly visit you again
This place is a must visit
If you near here take time to look around at so much to do in this wonderful country

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shutupp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautifully furnished cottage, welcoming hosts and free WiFi - what more could a traveller want?!? But there's more! The breakfast supplies were delicious and more than ample for our guests. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPF194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burnie hotels
0.2 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Burnie
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
0.1 mi away
Wellers Inn
Wellers Inn
#3 of 5 in Burnie
53 reviews
9.6 mi away
Burnie Airport Motel
Burnie Airport Motel
#5 of 7 in Burnie
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duck House

Address: 26 Queen St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Burnie
Price Range: $118 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duck House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Duck House B and B cottages are fully self- contained and within easy walking distance of the beach and the penguin viewing area, Burnie CBD and restaurants. There are private gardens with herbs and vegetables for you to harvest and enjoy. A "Multi Award Winning" establishment, the three B and B cottages have won "Best Accommodation in Burnie" for 2008, 2009 and 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duck House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duck House Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing