We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our special day in Burnie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours

Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours
Ranked #7 of 16 things to do in Burnie
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day Trips and Cruise Ship Day Tours around Burnie and along the North West Coast of Tasmania. Enjoy the experience of our "special corner of the world" whilst being chauffeur driven in luxury transport. Let Robyn be your guide or design your own itinerary. Tours that are flexible to suit your requirements. Spend a day on the Play A Round in Tassie Foodie Trail, where you will taste and sample cheese, chocolate, cherries, raspberries, honey, salmon, ginseng, nougat, fudge, cider, wine and olives. A fabulous day where you will travel through the picturesque rural areas of the North West Coast. You will not leave our shores disappointed, having created wonderful memories, long after your visit to Tasmania is over.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our special day in Burnie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We looked up a few tours before we left NZ and after looking at a few alternatives we contacted Robyn, and after a few emails we both decided to book our tour. On arrivial at the Makers workshop we immediatly new that we had picked the right one.
. Robyn gave us both a big hug and we set off to spend 5-6 hours as if we were old friends, and were soon visiting lovley coastal roads to Stanley, saw the popies lots of interesting sights, stopped for lunch in the quaint town of Stanley, took a tour up the Cable car to the Nut with spectacular views of Tasmania and other learnt a lot about where we were and surrounding towns.
Roby let us know lots about industry and other facts of Tasmania that we enjoyed listening too while we were with her, and we will certainly pass on details of any of our friends that are going to visit this Southern Island of Australia.
This tour was relaxing and exactly what we needed to spend a day on our short visit.
The end of the day ended too soon and we know that one day we will return to see Robyn's little corner of the world
Dot and Owen

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DOTMAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn M, Owner at Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
A great review, thank you very much. Celebrating your Wedding Anniversary and Birthday on a cruise to Tasmania was a wonderful experience for you both. Our tour to Table Cape, Boat Harbour and Stanley in ideal weather conditions was excellent and as you said the five hours went quickly. You have to visit us again as I have so much more to show you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas de Conac, France
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Thanks so much Robyn for your absolutely fabulous tour around Burnie, visiting glorious scenery, quaint villages, chocolate factory, cherry shed, unbelievable begonias, and lots more. We enjoyed ourselves enormously with you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn M, Owner at Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It was a great day, thank you for joining me on my tour. The weather was glorious and we covered a lot of ground during our time together. It was great to hear about your 'special corner of the world' maybe we can get together again during 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experiencing Burnie with only one day in port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were on a cruise in mid-December 2013 and so only had one day in port to experience Burnie and surrounds. After much research on the net we contacted Robyn at ‘Play A Round in Tassie’ Tours. She was very quick to reply to our enquiry and we soon had a tour booked at a reasonable price for the day. Robyn’s friendly style made my wife and I feel welcome and confident that we had made the right choice well before we left home.

After catching the shuttle from the ship Robyn was easy to spot at the drop off point at the Maker’s Workshop. We shared our tour with three other cruisers from the ship and after introductions, we were each presented with some treats to enjoy during and after the trip, then after a quick discussion or what everyone was expecting from the day we headed off to see the sights.

We enjoyed Robyn’s little surprise ‘fun factor’ at Table Cape, visited Campbell’s Lookout and had a photo with the Rhapsody in the background, the City of Burnie, and its port with great views over Bass Strait.

This was a full day with stops at Guide Falls, Hellyers Road Whisky Distillery, Penguin (where they were in the Christmas spirit by dressing the giant penguin in a Santa suit), Ulverstone, past the Three Sisters and Goat Island.
Our journey included Braddon’s Lookout, Devenport, Bluff lighthouse, Anvers Chocolates, the Cherry Shed and Latrobe where we had some shopping and a quick late lunch before heading for our last stop at Blustery Banks Vineyard.

We then had a leisurely drive back to Burnie in Robyn’s comfortable vehicle for the last part of our tour driving by the stately homes of Burnie before being dropped back to the Makers Workshop in plenty of time to catch the shuttle back to the ship.
We would definitely recommend Robyn and ‘Play a Round in Tassie’ tours for a personalized and fun experience whether you are in Burnie for a day or more. Robyn can cater for couples or larger groups and after the tour you will feel that you have spent the day with a friend and will want to visit again soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JesterMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn M, Owner at Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you very much. What a fun day we all had. I think it helped having a couple of comedians on board. It is so good when guests are able to hop on the first available shuttle, it means we can get started early on our tour and fit so much into our day. December is a great time to visit our 'special corner of the world', as there is so much fare for you to sample and taste. I didn't want our day to finish as I felt I was travelling with friends too. I hope you come back again, I still have so much more to show you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A lovely day in Burnie and surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a very enjoyable day in Burnie and surrounds. We were cruise ship passengers and Robyn was waiting for us as we stepped off the bus transferring us from the ship to the visitors' centre. Transport was via an immaculately presented Mazda 4wd.

Ahead of the excursion we had requested the sorts of things we did and didn't want to do and Robyn delivered perfectly. Robyn stocks her vehicle with drinks for along the way and she customised these to our particular tastes too.

During our trip we saw a lovely waterfall, farmland with crops including opium poppies (apparently Tasmania grows half of the world's legal crop), a boutique chocolate factory, cherry shop, a quaint family owned wildlife park, and a number of the towns along the coast. Lunch was our choice and so we ate fish and chips with Robyn by a nice river.

At the wildlife park we stroked a wombat, Tasmanian devil, and a koala. We also fed kangaroos, goats and some fish.

Robyn had us back at the visitors' centre about 45 mins before the final bus back to the ship. This gave us time to look around the centre before returning to the ship having used all available time off of the ship and seeing the sights.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrYellowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn M, Owner at Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure experiencing the attractions with you and your perfectly behaved children, they were wonderful. It is always great fun visiting the wildlife park, being able to get up and close and personal with the kangaroos and koalas. You visited Tassie at a good time of the year with raspberries and cherries available for tasting and it doesn't matter what time of the year, its always great to sample Anvers Chocolates and fudge. Our picnic of fish and chips by the Mersey River before returning to Burnie was a great way to finish our tour and luckily before the rain set in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A lovely day with Robyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend and I booked with Robyn for when our cruise ship stopped off in Burnie. Though it was cold and rainy Robyn ensured we had a terrific time! The tour was all about us, she gave us suggestions and we told her the places we were interested in and she happily obliged. Even taking us shopping! The personalised greeting we recieved as we got off the shuttle bus made us feel very welcomed and throughout the day that feeling still remained! The tour really was like going for a drive with a good friend, whilst still being extreamly informative. If you are going to Burnie this is a must do tour, You will not be disapointed! Thanks for the great day out Robyn!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn M, Owner at Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was your day,and a pleasure suggesting ideas that interested you both. My guests are special and I want them to feel that way from the moment they are welcomed until we say goodbye at the end of our tour. Shopping at Christmas time without the hustle and bustle that bigger cities have was easy and enjoyable. Rain, hail or shine our 'special corner of the world' always has something for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Play A Round in Tassie Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing