We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hot Showers”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for three nights in an upstairs Motel room.
The outside is very drab and needs some work. Inside is better, but still quite dated. Bit cramped with the queen bed, single bed and roll away. This was the cheapest accommodation we stayed in and it felt like it.
Shower was excellent however with plenty of hot water. Good location with quick drives to Burnie, Wynyard and further along the Coast.
Given the cost, would probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have recently re-designed one of the rooms similar to the one you stayed in and it is open plan and very modern looking. The response had been very positive, so, next winter we will complete all rooms to the new design. All bathrooms are now new in the block you stayed in. Real value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed overnight in the cabins and the accommodation wasn't very comfortable. The cabin was old and didn't feel clean. It also had a smell about it that wasn't very welcoming at all. The hot water in the shower was the best thing about the cabin as it was a cold night. The rating was only 3 star so I guess I can't expect much more. Next time I will be doing an inspection before checking in.

Room Tip: Inspect before deciding to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybeatlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

room had all the essentialls need nice view staff was ok made you feel a bit like it was to much effort to take the cover off the pool bed was to hard to sleep on we left at 1.30 am to drive home room was also dusty

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked the view and of course the pool heated to 28C is always a favourite of our guests. The bed is only 2 years old and we have had only a few comments about the bed, but I suppose that bed comfort is a personal choice. Next trip, we suggest our Park View units, older and softer beds. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location, straight opposite the beach. Awesome spot on the beach for sunsets and sunrises. We also enjoyed the town of Burnie. Nice shopping area and excellent Makers Workshop. A good base for looking further along the coast as well. Small undercover pool was great when the sea is too cold to swim in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmxlalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here just one night on business. Check in was friendly, the room was clean, very convenient to all the towns on north west coast. Although easy to find, right on the highway, my room in the middle of the property was quiet. Plenty of off street parking.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for the premium waterfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Recently we have updated 4 more of our cabins. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this location before so knew it was a good family friendly place for an Easter getaway.
The staff are faultless.
The facilities cater for everyone, from campers to families with well laid out grounds and ammenities.
Will be staying again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Manager at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have now installed new heaters in all our cabins, so winter visits are warm and cosy. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I booked and paid for our 2 night stay before we left NSW.
We stayed in the cabins in the back where it was quieter than the motel rooms at the front as the establishment is on the main highway north west.
the cabins are of olders style but everything was there. Heater is only little fan heater but does the job. All supplied you only have to bring is your food and your self.
When we return we will be staying there again.
Highly recomend this establishment.

Room Tip: If you want you can have a quiet cabin out the back even though they are the older style it is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you commented, the cabins are older at the rear but generally are well accepted. For larger families we have 4 deluxe cabins with 2 bedrooms and sleep 5. These are newer cabins and are very popular. I am waiting for the new range of heaters to be released for the winter and we will be updating the heaters throughout.. With our new range of electric and woolen blankets for the winter, you will not go cold. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
2.3 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
18.5 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
220 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park

Property: Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Address: 253 Bass Highway, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Caravan Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets there are 7 options to choose from. Self contained sea view motel rooms, self contained park view motel rooms, family cabins, dormitory back packer accommodation, on site caravans, powered caravan sites and unpowered tent sites. We are located 3km west of the centre of Burnie directly across the road from Cooee beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnie Ocean View Motel And Holiday Caravan Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing