We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple, affordable, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, simple, affordable, comfortable”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here just one night on business. Check in was friendly, the room was clean, very convenient to all the towns on north west coast. Although easy to find, right on the highway, my room in the middle of the property was quiet. Plenty of off street parking.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for the premium waterfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Recently we have updated 4 more of our cabins. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this location before so knew it was a good family friendly place for an Easter getaway.
The staff are faultless.
The facilities cater for everyone, from campers to families with well laid out grounds and ammenities.
Will be staying again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Manager at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have now installed new heaters in all our cabins, so winter visits are warm and cosy. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I booked and paid for our 2 night stay before we left NSW.
We stayed in the cabins in the back where it was quieter than the motel rooms at the front as the establishment is on the main highway north west.
the cabins are of olders style but everything was there. Heater is only little fan heater but does the job. All supplied you only have to bring is your food and your self.
When we return we will be staying there again.
Highly recomend this establishment.

Room Tip: If you want you can have a quiet cabin out the back even though they are the older style it is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you commented, the cabins are older at the rear but generally are well accepted. For larger families we have 4 deluxe cabins with 2 bedrooms and sleep 5. These are newer cabins and are very popular. I am waiting for the new range of heaters to be released for the winter and we will be updating the heaters throughout.. With our new range of electric and woolen blankets for the winter, you will not go cold. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were slightly disappointed in the room. It was spacious and tidy but the bathroom was cramped and in serious need of updating. The rooms are facing the beach but with the busy road in front of the hotel traffic noise can be an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. The bathroom is next on our list to have an upgrade. We have completed the upgrade to the living/sleeping area with new double glazed windows, a newly added balcony, painting, air conditioning (greatly appreciated this year with our beautiful weather), new furniture and beds. When completed I am sure you will be delighted. We hope to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had fantastic accommodation, clean and tidy. The management were friendly, helpful and accommodating in every way. We had a 2 x Bedroom Family Room. The indoor heated swimming pool was a bonus for our two children who spent a lot of time in there as did we enjoying the views of the Ocean. Would love to stay in Burnie again in the same accommodation only this time we'd stay longer!!

Room Tip: All rooms but ours was out the back behind the Office and it was just soooo quiet. If you want a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon as you can take advantage of this summer's wonderful weather. However, if you cannot get back till winter, the pool is still heated to 28C. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Creek, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our family of four stayed two nights in a two bedroom motel unit. We had everything we needed including full kitchen, spacious loungeroom and views to the ocean. The unit was spotlessly clean, and the heated pool looked inviting (although we were too busy exploring the local area to use it). This motel was the final accommodation of our 12 day Tasmanian holiday and as it was the cheapest, we were very pleasantly surprised to find it was large, comfortable and in a great location.

Room Tip: Unit 9 (upstairs) is spacious and sunny with some views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The unit that you stayed in always receives kind reviews. Our cleaners, who have been with us for over 16 years, are always delighted to have reviews of the cleanliness of the rooms. They certainly help us make the Burnie Ocean View an attractive destination. Maybe the next trip you can take a dip in the pool?? Hope the mainland fires did not cause you concern when you got home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived after trip over on the Spirit around 7.30pm, and checkin was efficient, our room was one of the on onsite cabins, Inside there is a flat screen tv, and full kitchen including hot plates and oven, crockery etc, with a table and chairs and bench seat. Comfortable bed with nice linen. We walked across the road on dusk and watched the penguins returning from the sea to their chicks, wonderful experience. We had a good nights sleep and would have no hesitation in recommending this motel as a good option in Burnie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The penguin parade is fabulous at the moment, it must be the fantastic weather bringing them out. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
2.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
141 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
2.6 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
7.6 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park

Property: Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Address: 253 Bass Highway, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Caravan Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets there are 7 options to choose from. Self contained sea view motel rooms, self contained park view motel rooms, family cabins, dormitory back packer accommodation, on site caravans, powered caravan sites and unpowered tent sites. We are located 3km west of the centre of Burnie directly across the road from Cooee beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnie Ocean View Motel And Holiday Caravan Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing