We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were slightly disappointed in the room. It was spacious and tidy but the bathroom was cramped and in serious need of updating. The rooms are facing the beach but with the busy road in front of the hotel traffic noise can be an issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. The bathroom is next on our list to have an upgrade. We have completed the upgrade to the living/sleeping area with new double glazed windows, a newly added balcony, painting, air conditioning (greatly appreciated this year with our beautiful weather), new furniture and beds. When completed I am sure you will be delighted. We hope to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had fantastic accommodation, clean and tidy. The management were friendly, helpful and accommodating in every way. We had a 2 x Bedroom Family Room. The indoor heated swimming pool was a bonus for our two children who spent a lot of time in there as did we enjoying the views of the Ocean. Would love to stay in Burnie again in the same accommodation only this time we'd stay longer!!

Room Tip: All rooms but ours was out the back behind the Office and it was just soooo quiet. If you want a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon as you can take advantage of this summer's wonderful weather. However, if you cannot get back till winter, the pool is still heated to 28C. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Creek, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our family of four stayed two nights in a two bedroom motel unit. We had everything we needed including full kitchen, spacious loungeroom and views to the ocean. The unit was spotlessly clean, and the heated pool looked inviting (although we were too busy exploring the local area to use it). This motel was the final accommodation of our 12 day Tasmanian holiday and as it was the cheapest, we were very pleasantly surprised to find it was large, comfortable and in a great location.

Room Tip: Unit 9 (upstairs) is spacious and sunny with some views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The unit that you stayed in always receives kind reviews. Our cleaners, who have been with us for over 16 years, are always delighted to have reviews of the cleanliness of the rooms. They certainly help us make the Burnie Ocean View an attractive destination. Maybe the next trip you can take a dip in the pool?? Hope the mainland fires did not cause you concern when you got home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived after trip over on the Spirit around 7.30pm, and checkin was efficient, our room was one of the on onsite cabins, Inside there is a flat screen tv, and full kitchen including hot plates and oven, crockery etc, with a table and chairs and bench seat. Comfortable bed with nice linen. We walked across the road on dusk and watched the penguins returning from the sea to their chicks, wonderful experience. We had a good nights sleep and would have no hesitation in recommending this motel as a good option in Burnie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The penguin parade is fabulous at the moment, it must be the fantastic weather bringing them out. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here in November on our 14 day family campervan trek around Tasmania. We had been travelling all day from strahan stopping off in various places and decided to spend the night in burnie We werent sure what to expect when we turned into the driveway, we thought we had turned into the wrong place as the narrow driveway is surrounded by motel units but when directed by the owners who were very courteous and helpfulto drive to the back of the property we were pleasantly surprised to find there are about 50 or so powered sites also a camping area
a clean and well appointed campers kitchen. The amenities block and laundry were very clean , the showers were nice and hot and were a good pressure. Our powered site facilities were easy to access ie; power fresh water and grey water drain. Being at the back of the property it was very peaceful and quiet so no road noise as mentioned in previous reviews. That night we went across the road to the beach which is 1 minute away as the owners had told us about the penguins that nest there coming back from feeding out at sea to feed their young so we waited until dark and sure enough saw at least 15 - 20 penguins waddling up the beach to their burrows, the kids loved it. To sum up , a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I think that this may be the first review that we have had of the Caravan Park. As you say, most people are unaware that we have a Caravan park at the rear of the motel. I am sure that we miss a few campers because of this, but we are pleased to say that your response is typical of the comments that we receive and most guests are delighted with the facilities. We hope that we see you again at Burnie Holiday Caravan Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We headed to Burnie from the ferry on xmas morning. I had phoned the previous day to see what time we could check into the room - i was told any time and that they were used to folk arriving early.

We had paid for a room looking over the ocean and the view did not disappoint. Of course there was some road noise, but you get that from roads ;-0

The rooms were quite nice - new bathrooms and a very comfortable king sized bed, large TV with DVD player etc. If i was to pick a small fault it would be the kitchen - the cupboards could do with a refresh, but to be fair, the appliances were new, so i suspect it is a 'work in progress' -- of course a dishwasher would have been nice, but that is really picky of me.

We stayed three nights and i would hesitate to stay again. The hosts were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front over looking the beach - there are only 5 (i think) the rest are set fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. The views from the SeaView units are quite spectacular and this time of the year with the sun shining on the water makes it just that more special. I have had previous guests comment that they have paid 3 times as much in mainland motels with sea views that pale in comparison to our coastal view. I hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in lovely Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

the bed felt like the sheets had never been changed, halfway through my shower the water pressure dropped and was like a water spray bottle. the rooms didnt feel secure. when we arrived it was like we were an inconvenience. the location was a little bit out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray I, Owner at Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have 5 different classes of accommodation from our backpackers rooms to our "top-end" SeaView units overlooking Bass Strait. As you did not specify which type of accommodation which you stayed in I can only answer in general. Let me assure you that ALL beds have fresh linen for each new guest arrival. Unfortunatley you did not complain to reception, which inhibits us complaining to our Laundry provider should there have been a linen supply problem. (and the way they charge, I would have complained loudly on your behalf!!)
Again, with the water supply, not knowing where you stayed inhibits an intelligent response. However with over 30 hot water services in use daily, every now and then one does not perform, to its full capacity. For this I can only apoligise. Not sure what your comments meant regarding security, but let me assure you that a locksmith went through during the winter and replaced several locks that he found were in need of replacing.
Yes, we are out of town 3.5km, however our guests often prefer the quiet , the beach and the rural atmosphere of the farms behind and to the side of us and are woken with the beautiful sound of the birds and not the train which wake many guests in other motels located close to the Burnie Port and centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
2.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
2.6 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
7.6 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park

Property: Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Address: 253 Bass Highway, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Caravan Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets there are 7 options to choose from. Self contained sea view motel rooms, self contained park view motel rooms, family cabins, dormitory back packer accommodation, on site caravans, powered caravan sites and unpowered tent sites. We are located 3km west of the centre of Burnie directly across the road from Cooee beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnie Ocean View Motel And Holiday Caravan Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing