We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy, noisy road spoilt our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The property lies about 3 km west of Burnie town centre on the very busy coast road to Wynyard and Stanley. One of the motel blocks - the one we stayed in, unfortunately - sits right at the front of the property, about 10 metres from the extremely busy and noisy road. The nearest shops and attractions are several km away.
The property is a mix of two small motel blocks, chalets and caravan parking. The motel blocks look several decades old and dated. The property has free off-road parking, and each motel unit has its own front door to the outside.
Our ground floor motel unit was one large and spacious room, with a large double bed, 2 bunk beds, a lounge area with new leather sofa and chairs, a dining table and chairs and a kitchen area. There was a separate ensuite shower room and washroom. The room had full width, floor-to-ceiling double-glazed French doors to the front, looking out onto the busy main coast road and then the ocean. It looked as though the room had been recently part refurbished (lounge, dining and sleeping areas), but the kitchen area and ensuite shower room looked tired and dated. However the standard of cleanliness in the room was very good.
There was no WIFI Internet in the room, but it was equipped with a flat-screen TV.
The check-in process on arrival was rather slow as the site office was busy with other guests and phone-calls, but the lady on duty was very friendly and efficient once I got to the front of the queue!
We did not take any meals on site during our stay, so I can't comment on that aspect.
After passing a heavily disturbed and largely sleepless night at the Burnie Ocean View Motel, we could not recommend it to other guests - the road noise is simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: If staying in the motel accommodation, avoid motel block facing noisy main road at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Sorry to hear that the traffic noise was unacceptable to you. We always endeavour to move guests to the rear rooms, if practical, should this occur. Here, road noise is never a problem, however, this may have not been possible in February.We have several corporate guests who always demand the SeaView units, which you stayed in, as a matter of choice. The motel was built in late 1960's. In November 2010 we rendered the front motel block to modernise it and at the same time added the double glazed french doors onto the front patio. Perhaps you missed the Wi-Fi and Internet Kiosk, as we have had Wi-Fi service for the motel since July 2009, which services the 4 acre site.. Our cleaners, 2 of which have been with the motel for over 16 years, will very much appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of the room. Our recent (June 2012) AAA report also confirms your remarks on the high standard of the cleanliness of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 105 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

I booked with reluctance as earlier reviews said it was hopeless. Contrary to that, I must say that the accommodation was in TIP TOP condition. All fittings were new and clean. Very spacious. Electric blankets. All utensils for cooking. We stayed in the Deluxe 2 Bedroom Cabin. I will upload a few pictures soon. All staff were so helpful. WiFi is available on a fee.

Room Tip: This room has no view but in quiet environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darrelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
2.3 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Murchison Lodge Motor Inn
7.6 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
2.6 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
2.5 mi away
Seabrook Hotel
Seabrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Somerset
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park

Address: 253 Bass Highway, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Burnie
Price Range: $72 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Caravan Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all tastes and budgets there are 7 options to choose from. Self contained sea view motel rooms, self contained park view motel rooms, family cabins, dormitory back packer accommodation, on site caravans, powered caravan sites and unpowered tent sites. We are located 3km west of the centre of Burnie directly across the road from Cooee beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnie Ocean View Motel And Holiday Caravan Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing