We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Home, Lovely People”
Review of Glen Osborne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Osborne House
Ranked #2 of 7 Burnie B&B and Inns
Wynyard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Home, Lovely People”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have stayed here often and find the hosts friendly and helpful. Glen Osborne is a gorgeous well appointed stately home with lovely gardens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at the Glen Osborne Guest House at Burnie for one night and were surprised to find that we were the only guests for the night. This is a beautiful heritage listed building with lovely traditional Victorian style rooms. They were very spacious with ensuites and we were even welcomed with some slices of Tasmanian fruit cake to have with our coffee. Breakfast is downstairs in a beautifully appointed room. A full breakfast was available, though we had a continental as we had been out to dinner the night before. Dell was very welcoming and made sure that everything was too our liking. It sits up on the hill away from the central town but the upstairs deck had lovely views through to the water.

Room Tip: We had the Rose room, which I think was the north east corner, but from the glimpses of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnalSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in Tasmania are we were plesently surprised by this grand manor, Our hosts were so welcoming. The decor was stunning always something to catch our eye, we stayed in a spa room on the top fllor with a beautiful balcony and such a beautiful room, We loved our stay there and will be returning.
When we arrived we were welcomed by our host , she gave us a tour of her beautiful home showed us the table we were having breakfast at the next day and asked what time we would like it. And the little added personal touches added by our hosts made it feel very homely.
The bed was so comfortable with soft sheets we slept very soundly.
The only problem we did have is that we were not staying long enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at this very elegant B & B. The cleanliness of the whole house was impressive, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Our room was large, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The large gardens, although not perfectly tendered were pleasant to walk through. The elegance of a by-gone era would be the best description of this property - exactly as depicted on the web site.
The owners were particularly helpful to us when our car broke down on our first day in Tasmania.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dotcomdotau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night whilst we were in Burnie. However, we wish that we had been able to stay longer! The house is perfect and the owners were more than helpful with all aspects of our stay. The decor is magnificent and really fits the era that the home was built in, and the gardens are beautifully kept. The bed was comfortable and room was very spacious and clean. We also really enjoyed the home cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soph83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnie
0.9 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Burnie
Comfort Hotel Burnie
#5 of 6 in Burnie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jones on Wilson
Jones on Wilson
#1 of 7 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beachfront Voyager Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
The Menai Motel & Function Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Osborne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Osborne House

Property: Glen Osborne House
Address: 9 Aileen Crescent, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Osborne House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Osborne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Osborne House Burnie, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing