We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revolting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bronte Park Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bronte Park
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Myself and my family stopped off for one night at Bronte Park as a stopover between Strahan and Hobart and I can tell you it was the most disgusting place we'd been to. There were about 100 blowflies all over the place and we had to light some incense to take away the musty smell. (we stayed in the Australia cabin) the appliances were about 50 years old and the lounges were ripped and torn. I will not recommend this place to anyone and I will never come anywhere near here again

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank Ozzy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2007

Bronte Village is a former Hydro Electric Commission construction town, with central bar and dining and self-contained houses for overnight stays. We presume used around 1950-60's.

Opening our house (called "Belgium"!) on a hot afternoon suggested it was last opened when the town was shut down. Only one of the windows had a fly-screen, but we opened all to get fesh air. Then we started cooking. Blow flies from the whole of Tasmania arrived to take part.

So we closed all the windows and started decorating the aged carpets with dead flies.

Crossing the laundry to the toilet found the over-head light "blown". We were able to replace the globe with a spare, thoughtfully provided on top of the fridge!

Relaxing (!) in the lounge chairs after dinner was a back-breaking experience. The old "Government issue" suite had sagged so low, other help was needed to escape. We sat on the dining chairs!

Our double bed was good for a couple desiring close contact all night. As we needed reasonable spinal support, close contact was impossible, as the only straight parts were on the edges of the bed.

(forgot to mention, this was on Valentine's Day!)

For $180 for 2 couples for the night, this was our most expensive "cabin" accommodation in Tasmania. A discussion with the manager did however result in an $80 refund.

Give it a miss and drive a further 30 km towards Hobart to Tarraleah.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SnowyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2006

We wanted to stay near Lake St Clair and chose Bronte Park rather than Derwent Bridge because it sounded more intimate and we were attracted by the offer on the internet of a night wildlife excursion. In the event, the wildlife guide was committed elsewhere with a trout-fishing group so we missed out on that.

The hotel changed hands late in 2005, and the new owners are still finding their feet. However they were very welcoming and hospitable. The room was adequate though quite basic; it was cold though there was a convection heater installed which is fine except that it also dries out the air, so we never quite got the temperature right. Bizarrely, there is a wood-burning stove at the end of the corridor which pumps heat (and a glorious aroma) right down the corridor, but not into the bedrooms.

The food was OK, though the featured roast beef was overcooked for our taste.

In summary, I'm not sure this is a better bet than Derwent Bridge, but is quite useful in the area.
They do seem to cater for fishermen, so if this your thing, this is your place.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: A éviter tout simplement, passez votre chemin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RotaFontenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bronte Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Park Village

Address: 378 Marlborough Rd, Bronte Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bronte Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bronte Park
Price Range: $84 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bronte Park Village 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronte Park Lodge has heated ensuite budget motel rooms. Bars, dining room & guest lounge all have open fireplaces. Pool tables, Dinner served 7 nights and lunch from Thursday to Sunday. Village store: Diesel/petrol and basic supplies Local attractions: Natural beauty for hiking, best fly fishing (trout) in local lakes, The Wall, Power Museum. Good stop over point between Strahan/Queenstown/Devonport and Hobart/Launceston. Located in The Central Highlands of Tasmania - approx 2hrs from either Hobart or Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bronte Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Park Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing