We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality. A great rustic place to stay. Can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bronte Park Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bronte Park
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hospitality. A great rustic place to stay. Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

My partner and I recently spent two amazing days staying in the Chalet at the Bronte Park Village. This quaint former Hydro village was steeped in history and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, even though it snowed and rained most of the time we were there. To touch on concerns of past reviewers, the photos may be a little misleading but it is a bit naïve to expect sterile, immaculate rooms in this environment. This is the rugged central highlands after all. I guarantee there are no accommodation places in the same area that have the character this place has.
The rooms were basic, but very tidy and well maintained. We had all the necessities and if there was anything else we needed the hosts were more than happy to sort it out. We didn’t spend much time in the room anyway as the bar was magnificent! It had two wood fires, pool tables, children’s room and a dart board. They seemed to only serve meals at dinner time and the hosts were very honest about what was best on the menu (in regards to what was fresh and frozen). On our last night there we had the most amazing homemade lasagne and a perfectly cooked steak.
The locals were friendly and eager to give us advice where to go fishing. There is a shop across the road where you can get hot food and almost anything in the way of supplies. It is also near all the major lakes and tourist attractions in the area.
If you’re just passing through it may be hard to appreciate the place’s rustic charm, but as a weekend getaway nothing can beat the fantastic hospitality and cosy atmosphere of the Bronte Park Village. We plan to visit this place again for an extended stay and also hopefully catch more fish.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty basic so spend more time in the bar in front of the log fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    20
    10
    33
See reviews for
22
45
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Not a place to stay for the money and i can see why we were the only one of two couples actually stupid enough to be actually staying there ( the village was basically deserted on Easter )
On arrival after a long day on the road, head to the reception to be fronted by what I can only describe as a lady that should not be in hospitality.
On arrival to the reception I clearly asked if there was the ingredients to make coffee supplied in the cabins, the reply was yes..which related to no i am full of poop, as there was no coffee or milk in the cabin..1st lie from this woman as i was to find. Spent the night with out a coffee and ended up having to buy coffee and milk from the local store the next morning..500 grams of coffee and some milk = nearly $20 :O This was the first of many lies and disappointments. AS we arrived at the cabin its self (England) the fire was lit (ty) but it was still freezing inside the cabin, i thought ok i will load the fire up wood that we were told was supplied also (which was a few logs, enough to last a few hours) and i would close all internal doors to the living room only to find that there was are internal doors missing and this was not possible. The result of this was that we sat huddled in doonas for the night till we went to bed. In the morning at what seemed like - zero degrees i scouted the cabin area for wood only to find we were literally surrounded by rubbish ( old empty beer and alcohol bottes and cans everywhere out side the cabin itself but not a log to be found) I decided well this place is defiantly not worth the money, we will retract the second night an move on to greener pasters. I approach the reception lady again stating that we do not wish to stay a second night, my intention to not to be rude simply pay up what is owed. My personal thoughts but not mentioned to her, move on to a better place (not a local rubbish dump, were you are lied to) The lady in question then decided to start being rude, I did not think this was necessary at all as I was not impressed all ready. She told me that she had refused other bookings as we had booked for two nights..( the village was deserted = lies) I then paid what was ment to be a stay of $ 140..I paid with $150 in cash, She took the money asking were are you guys going to now.. I replied lake St Clair.. I was then refused any change or a tax recept and told she will ring a head to lake St Clair lodge and warn them a head not to give us accommodation ?? From what this woman is rotten inside and out , as well as running some kind of cash in her pocket scam. I do hope the people that actually own this village wise up to this as she is not the owner. Just a very rude and incompetent employee as far as I could tell ?

Room Tip: Do not do it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConcernedCustomerOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bronte Park hotels

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I had one of the bigger chalet rooms and I felt very comfortable there. The new management which took it over 4 months ago and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My chalet room was renovates completely including the bathroom and was charming. The rate was reasonable. There was a great atmosphere and nice people at this place which I enjoyed. So this was a place I would go again for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stopped here for 1 night on the way from Hobart to Strahan. We stayed in a 3-bedroom cottage called England, 260$ /night (!!!), the most expensive and the most disgusting acc in Tassie ! The pictures on their website are very misleading since the cottage is smelly with old furnitures, at least 50 year old ! Couldn't sleep at all since the mattress is sooooo old and we couldn't keep our back straight. The couches and other furnitures are even worse than the hard rubbish we throw out of our house every year. Never come back this place again !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quynh_c04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST LAKES
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

most expensive night we had in tassie.Could not open outside door no key had to come in through hotel and kitchen booked was only toaster & kettle in a small motel room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZZWestLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

After travelling from Launceston to Swansea, Port Arthur, Richmond and Hobart staying in 4-5 star accom. we found Bronte Park an amazing place to stay for our last two nights in Tassie. The chalet type hotel was very relaxing with a huge open fire, great beer and a couple of pool tables. Although the cabin we stayed in was basic, it was clean and felt very homely, and we loved the fireplace as it was VERY cold and snowing. We caught some brown trout at Bradys Lake and the chef cooked them for us that night for dinner.......free of charge.
I will definitely return here for a fishing holiday in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodybruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

So bad it was funny. Maybe a good place to stay on a lads fishing trip away but otherwise very average. Could only pay in cash which we only found out about once we arrived. Hasn't been updated in 50 years by the look of the place. Bogans everywhere car surfing and on quad bikes.

Small store over the road is OK....at least was able to give cash out.

Only stay here if you run out of gas and don't have a tent.

  • Liked — leaving...and the axe outside
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank canberrakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronte Park
0.6 mi away
Highland Cabins and Cottages at Bronte Park
13.4 mi away
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
#1 of 1 in Derwent Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
13.9 mi away
Lake St Clair Lodge
Lake St Clair Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Tarraleah Lodge
Tarraleah Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tarraleah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
15.0 mi away
Pumphouse Point
Pumphouse Point
#1 of 1 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
20.7 mi away
Blue Lake Lodge
Blue Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Miena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Park Village

Property: Bronte Park Village
Address: 378 Marlborough Rd, Bronte Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bronte Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bronte Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bronte Park Village 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronte Park Lodge has heated ensuite budget motel rooms. Bars, dining room & guest lounge all have open fireplaces. Pool tables, Dinner served 7 nights and lunch from Thursday to Sunday. Village store: Diesel/petrol and basic supplies Local attractions: Natural beauty for hiking, best fly fishing (trout) in local lakes, The Wall, Power Museum. Good stop over point between Strahan/Queenstown/Devonport and Hobart/Launceston. Located in The Central Highlands of Tasmania - approx 2hrs from either Hobart or Launceston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bronte Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronte Park Village Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing