We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at Bridport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Platypus Park Country Retreat
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our family recently stayed at Platypus Park. The place the property is located is very convenient as while it is quiet and peaceful on a bush setting it is only five minutes to the heart of Bridport with all its amenities and attractions. It was very safe for children and they enjoyed the wildlife, chooks and games room. Our negative comments is there is a need for more emphasis on cleaning the rooms more thoroughly and some general maintenance ie leaking tap and spa would not work but overall a nice holiday destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Platypus Park Country Retreat. We take all feedback very seriously and appreciate the effort you have made. The outdoor spa is not working because it has recently burnt out a relay switch. We understand this could be annoying to some and appologise for the inconvenience. These electrical parts are not readily available in our small country town and are very costly. We will refer your comment about cleaning to the housekeeping staff. Thank you again for your review and glad your children enkoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 61 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

It's of the utmost peacefulness and natural tranquility. After a hectic travelling schedule this was the perfect place for our group to unwind and relax on the last night. It was such a cosy and homely atmosphere with everything that we could possibly need that we decided to purchase all of our food in town and have a cook up on the decking in the twilight. (The large barbecue made this easy.)

The surroundings are beautiful and there's even a spa to laze in whilst the sun sets beyond.
The owner Gina is extremely helpful, accommodating and flexible.

Loved it!

Room Tip: Need a vehicle to stay here as its quite a walk from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. We loved meeting you all and so pleased you were able to enjoy and appreciate all our amenities. look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We recently stayed in the Piper unit. Huge lounge, well equiped kitchen with everything you need. Fantastic wrap aroung verandah. Also a really good games room and laundry facilities. Really quiet and peaceful place to stay, made you feel like there was no-one else around. Host Gina was very friendly and had good local knowledge and nothing was a problem for her. Very approachable. Resident cats, Gorgeous and Tabby, were regular visitors as were the chooks, who kindly kept us in REAL eggs. Would DEFINITELY recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We appreciate the time and effort you have taken to review our property thank you. So please you found it a great place to spend some of your holiday time. Take care till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here twice recently and on both occasions was impressed with this accommodation. The units are well set out and neatly decorated. A large play area in the garden, units with spacious rooms, friendly host, a quick 3 min Car or 10 min bike ride to the beaches. There was a really up to date washing machine to share with the neighbouoring unit and a toaster, fridge and basic cutlery and eating utensils in the room. You can eat in or out on your balcony looking over the pretty garden and rural landscape. On our second stay my partner took his fly rod for a look on the three stocked lakes and the adjacent river which has a path through native bushland. Enchanting. We stayed in the wheelchair accessible unit on our last stay which is so well set up. The ethos of the place is sustainable with all the attendant vegie gardens, chooks, photo voltaics on the roof etc. It is really good value at $110 per night, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our two ensuite rooms. We also have 5 fully self contained units with full facilities....look forward to having you stay with us again to try out one of those too! We are Eco certified and pleased you noticed all our environmentally friendly "ethos". Thank s again for taking the time to review our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed here a couple of years ago (had to put "August 2011" but I think it was August 2009) and had a wonderful time.
My host, Gina was a delight and patient with me when I couldn't get the fire started in the wood burner.
I was in Bridport to play golf at Barnbougle and must confess I would have slept in my car if necessary but Platypus was perfect and my room was very quiet and comfortable.
I had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

So pleased you found us a perfect place to stay while playing golf at Barnbougle Dunes. Thank you for your considered review, hope you can revisit us sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Was just beautiful....thoroughly enjoyed.....try it out

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KincumberKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for staying at Platypus Park Country Retreat and taking the time to review your stay.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience on the rural property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We arrived just after check in and were escorted to our room. The place was nice but a lot closer to a main road that we expected. All we heard were cars and trucks driving passed. There were a lot of notes left in the room that were supposed to be helpful but my partner and I found them slightly abrupt. There were tea and coffee facilities however there were no teaspoons a petty problem but annoying nonetheless. We went to the main office to ask how to get to the river/damn to try our hand at spotting a platypus and all we were told was "go through the gate and follow your nose" not exactly helpful when you don't know the place. What my partner and I found ourselves doing was walking through knee high grass for ages with no real idea of where we were going as there was poor/no signage. We found this extremely disappointing and ended up going back to our room and staying there. The gardens were extremely pretty and both the room and bathroom were clean. We were also provided with a secure parking space for our car. Not a bad place but definitely not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EspressoTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Local57, Owner at Platypus Park Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review Platypus Park Country Retreat, we take all feedback seriously and just wish you had let US know of your concerns.

We are please you found the accommodation clean and comfortable for your stay. The property website does show via google maps an exact location, to roads and beaches.

The gate to access the farm part of the property is very visible from the accommodation, "follow your nose" is not language we would use here though, and I am surprised that the 5 min walk to the river was not an easy task for you. The fishing dams are visible from the accommodation and very easily accessible, less than 100 metre wander.

We would be more inclined to say " go out through the gate just through the garden and walk down to the dams, cross over the dams and go through the gate on the right...where you will see a sign ""River Walk and an arrow"" continue along the edge of the dam and through another couple of small gates and you will be heading down to the river just 5-10 minutes walk"

We are sorry you did not appreciate the "natural environment" experience during your walk. As an ECo certified property it is preferred not to disturb the landscape by constructing pathways around the farm, nor is it practical.

Our "notes" are meant to be helpful and informative and we will have them reassessed for relevance. However we will point out that many guests do try to self cater in our "ensuite rooms" which are not designed for total self catering. We do have accommodation with full kitchen facilities specifically for those wishing to cook meals whilst enjoying the rural environment. NO teaspoons! yes that is a problem some guests just don't realise they are meant to stay at the accommodation...these are continually disappearing!

Platypus Park Country Retreat is a rural property on 40 acres on the edge of a small coastal town. It is Tourism Australia accredited and Eco certified and has been operating for almost 18 years by the same friendly owners, 5th generation Tasmanian's, who are committed to providing exceptional value for money accommodation and service.

Your feedback is always welcome...it helps to enable us to improve our product for all to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
1.1 mi away
Bridport Bay Inn
Bridport Bay Inn
#8 of 8 in Bridport
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#5 of 8 in Bridport
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Barnbougle Lost Farm
#1 of 8 in Bridport
173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridport Beach Cottages
Bridport Beach Cottages
#6 of 8 in Bridport
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platypus Park Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platypus Park Country Retreat

Address: Platypus Park 20 Ada St, Bridport, Tasmania 7262, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Platypus Park Country Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly self-contained accommodation, situated on a small rural property on the edge of the seaside town, Bridport, north east Tasmania. Offering peace and quiet, personal service, free touring information to guests. Families are welcome, ideal too for romantic short breaks, or group bookings. Games room and trout fishing dams are a bonus when staying with families. Generous breakfast hampers are available, produce from the organic garden is available for purchase, including free range eggs. Stay a while and enjoy the rural tranquility, play by the seaside, have a round of golf at Barnbougle Dunes or visit vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Platypus Park Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platypus Park Country Retreat Bridport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing