We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing nirvana no matter what the weather.”
Review of Barnbougle Dunes

Barnbougle Dunes
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Vic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Golfing nirvana no matter what the weather.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had a 2 day visit to Barnbougle Dunes/Lost Farm. The weather was pretty bad. Windy with rain both days but it adds to the experience of playing this course. The staff are warm and friendly. It seems like they know they have a very special place and that people in most cases have travelled a long way to play there and are very accommodating.

The courses themselves are superb. They are always in super condition (I've played there 3 times) and quite challenging. Your experience will be enhanced if you play off the tees appropriate to your handicap. Don't play the hero off the black tees if you're not that good.

We stayed on course at Barnbougle Dunes. The cabins are well appointed and convenient. You are best to hire a car from Launceston Airport. The course is an easy 75-90 minuted drive from the aiport. Having a car also allows you to commute between the 2 courses easily (they are probably 7kms apart clubhouse to clubhouse). We haven't eaten at Barnbougle Dunes but have eaten in the sports bar at Lost Farm. They do great pizzas.

Lost Farm is more dramatic/visually spectacular given there are several holes that run through big sand dunes. Barnbougle Dunes is a more strategic test but no less brilliant. In short, if you love golf these 2 courses are a must do. And if you go once you're likely to want to go again and again and again and..........

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    35
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven found”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The best golf,the best food,the best staff.Will be returning next year with a lot more golfing friends

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pingcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only go if you are a golfer.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Looked at us as if we were a problem. Similar poor menu as Lost Farm. Again left with eating. Not worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jackyandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A sensational experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

After hearing about both the Dunes and Lost Farm courses we had been looking forward to playing them for a long time. The wait was worth it. Starting off at the dunes, where we also stayed, the staff were immensely helpful and the impact of the environment immediate.

With great anticipation we started our game and were immediately gob smacked by the course condition, beauty, interesting layout and challenge of the greens. Men up to playing off the back tees, partic if good weather - do it. A caution for women. Red tees are not just the normal women's tees.

We had heard you can lose lots of balls and sure that is possible - but it is fair. If you look at the contours carefully and play to sensible spots, you will make it a lot easier on yourself. Important to do the same with approaches to the greens as leave it in the wrong spot and doing well to 2 putt. Enjoy the walk from the 4tg to 5th.

My wife and I thought this was up there with any other golfing experience we have ever had - and had 2 more games to look forward to.

The second game at the Dunes was a little windier and weather quickly changed on a number of occasions but the love affair continued. We had friends join us and it was great to see their wonderment and joy in being on course.

The next day played at Lost Farm and while similar is different. If you think the greens on the Dunes are big, check these suckers out. The biggest greens I have seen anywhere. Fairways generally a little wider. Some consider a bit easier but a great challenge and still have to look at each shot carefully.

Accommodation at dunes was okay but no self catering facilities so you need to be prepared if doing own breakfast etc. one bedroom is open and basically doubles as lounge area.

Food at restaurant good generally and service excellent. Duck was disappointing.

Staff in both pro shops excellent - thank you Eric, Leah and Dale. Most people are there for a special experience and to the prat who played behind us at barnbougle - everyone who was aware of your whinging suggests you go get a life. If not prepared to wait a bit as everyone had to, in that wonderful environment, take up a solo activity as you don't deserve to be in such a special place.

Make sure you check out the view from lost farm restaurant.


Richard Sattler should be made a living treasure in enabling so many people, particularly golfers, to enjoy a world class facility. Thanks to him and other investors and developers. Well done to Doak, Clayton and any involved in course design. You should be very proud.

If you love golf and special places - you have to do this. A truly wonderful experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jrr270455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband is a keen golfer (and a very good one I'm proud to say!) and he has raved about both the Barnbougle Golf Courses for a while. So I finally went along this time. Wow! I love the Barnbougle Dunes - it's simply spectacular. Every hole had its own attraction and I took photos of every single one of them. It's a very challenging golf course but it was worth it. The views were amazing especially over the dunes and overlooking towards the sea. The course is world-class, very well maintained and the people looking after it are very proud of it.
Definitely worth visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnbougle Dunes also viewed

 

Been to Barnbougle Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing