We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a location”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We've just spent 2 nights at Barnbougle Lost Farm. What a fabulous location. Mike participated in the Asthma foundation Tasmania's Golf Day. A links course that has fabulous views of Bass Strait. The ladies who weren't participating in the golf spent the day at the spa. We had magnificent views, beautiful food for lunch and several yummy glasses of Tasmanian Jansz sparkling wine. We relaxed on day beds with the sun streaming in while we each waited for our specific treatments. We're looking forward to coming back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KarinMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    59
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
67
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed one night here with my partner. Rooms were gorgeous - had the ocean view room and didnt regret it!
The staff were amazingly friendly, golf course is second to none. My partner played and i walked with him and was constantly taking photos of the gorgeous course and views.
Had a massage and spa in the day spa - AMAZING. Best massage ive had and the views were to DIE for!!
Tea in the restaurant was fabulous, once again stunning views, great staff and beautiful food.
Loved every part of our stay, seeing as we only live an hour away we will definately be heading back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Four fantastic days at Barnbougle Lost Farm truly a spectacular part of the world. The golf was amazing both at Lost Farm and The Dunes. The views of the course truly breathe taking from the restaurant. The food amazing the staff wonderful what an amazing experience at such a wonderful resort. Go enjoy all things Barnbougle! Before you go though, walk through the tunnel to the beach sit on the end of the walkway and take in the beautiful views. Stunning!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A fabulous start to a wonderful Saturday...drove from Launceston and arrived at 930am.

Not well signed and you could be mistaken for thinking the turn off is actually to a private property which is named Lost Farm. Perhaps signage as you approach and then again at the turn off.

VERY rough ride along the gravel road to the complex...needs to be graded as it was unbearable unless you were doing 5km/h.

The complex blended well with the natural surroundings.

The restaurant is just incredible with 180 degree views from the large floor to ceiling windows that run the entire length of the restaurant. You can watch golfers tee offfrom many holes and admire the scenic views of the ocean and Bridport.

Continental Breakfast was $16 or for $18 you could order one of the hot breakfasts to accompany the continental. BARGAIN!

Staff very friendly and was told on previous occasions staff very knowledgable about the area and history.

4 adult full breakfasts and coffees etc came to $82..very very reasonable for the atmosphere alone. After breakfast we grabbed our fishing rods and walked down to the beach from the complex for a surf fish and big walk along the beach to walk off breakfast.

Highly recommended.. Just make sure you book and perhaps take a later breakfast time to ensure you're not battling the breakfast buffet with 50 golfers before they head out to tee off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived at Lost Farm for a night. The room was a gift from a well meaning Tasmanian friend. We were to sort ourselves out for dinner. We are not golfers, however BIG foodies and love Tasmania. We made our reservation for dinner for 6.30. We arrived and the setting was beautiful - a stunning room. The view was spectacular and the service from the staff was very good -however we were horrified an hour later.
A group of 50, yes 50 golfers who had been playing their annual golf get together for the past 2 days and drinking in the bar for the past few hours arrived for their evening event.
As our mains arrived, we were 'hushed' by the group of 50 golfers who were sitting down, drinking, and then subjected to speeches and awards for the next two hours. There was no mention of the golf group tournament when we booked. The food was delicious, but the evening cost us in excess of $200 for the two of us, and to be caught up in the midst of a group of boozy blokes getting together for their annual golf boys trip and to have to 'hush' up whilst they delivered their speeches in the restaurant while we were supposed to be enjoying a romantic meal together, was beyond belief.
I complained to the head waiter, he was sympathetic, of course, but there was no further mention made of the incident.
Management should have closed the restaurant that night to host the function they held. To subject couples trying to enjoy a romantic meal when competing with 50 boozy golfers celebrating their two day tournament complete with speeches, trophies being awarded and yelling, swearing and heavy drinking was unacceptable. I would never go back for fear of a repeat scenario.
It is evident that big corporate golfing groups are common at Lost Farm, which isnt surprising considering the standard of the golf course and there are warnings of so called 'intolerance' of big boozy boys get togethers in the rooms etc, clearly this is a common scenario. However to try and combine a large money making corporate event with couples paying good money for an intimate meal is unforgiveable. Disgusted.

Room Tip: Ocean view but not at the end of the block -the view deteriorates as you head to the end of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oscar7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great place to stay and play golf. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with a nice outlook over the course and ocean.

We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal with very good service. Fantastic view over the course and Anderson Bay toward Bridport. We managed to arrive at our table to watch the sun set which added to the evening.

After 2 pleasantly punishing days of windy golf we decided a massage was needed to sooth the aches and the spa was a great choice. An hour of bliss followed by 30 minuted in the spa which overlooks the ocean is a treat. Bit of a shame you have to pay an extra $30 for the spa though.

We will definately stay here again, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and overall it was very well run. The only thing that could be improved would be to have bath robes in the rooms. It's a comforting touch which is more the norm now rather than a "luxury". Also - king beds please.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipenlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We opted for the ocean view and didn't regret it. Despite the ferocious wind on the day we arrived, the rooms are set to be protected from the prevailing wind. The rooms are tastefully masculine in decor, with big dark wooden bed and furnishings, and such a comfortable leather Chesterfield (or maybe I was just that grateful to sit down - see review of golf course).

Marvelous, hot shower with good toiletries. Bar fridge with 2 x 600ml complimentary spring water given the tap water is not recommended for drinking - yet no instructions how to get more water if needed. The bed was comfortable, however, my side reeked of the deodorant of some previous sleeper (one of those gentlemen who simply don't know when too much is much more than too much). The pillows were enormously fat - wish we'd requested different pillows.

The restaurant service was friendly and helpful (given the knowledge of our hostess was limited, she was very willing to 'go ask'). Fresh bread, lightly toasted with garlic and served with dips. Chicken with a multitude of delicious roasted veges. Freshly shucked oysters (of course), very nice. Pan fried Trevalla with hhmmmm...can't remember - I blame the wine! All very good quality, fresh, tasty, beautifully prepared. When we couldn't finish it all our request to put our chicken and bread into containers was accommodated, within only the proviso that all responsibility for the food after leaving the restaurant was ours (no problem - it was absolutely fantastic for lunch next day!!)

All in all, a very good option to stay on site if playing both courses.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and take a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
3.1 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#6 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
11.1 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Platypus Park Country Retreat
3.5 mi away
Bridport Bay Inn
Bridport Bay Inn
#8 of 8 in Bridport
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnbougle Lost Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnbougle Lost Farm

Property: Barnbougle Lost Farm
Address: Waterhouse Rd, Bridport, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnbougle Lost Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnbougle Lost Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnbougle Lost Farm Bridport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing