We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed here for a corporate golfing midweek get together. Odd numbered rooms have view of the golf course, even numbered rooms have view of the ocean and golf course. Our room was 146 and had 2 queen size beds - 1 in a separate alcove with its own TV. The bathroom was very modern, beds comfortable. I believe this end of the complex was the most recent addition (our room was almost the last in the complex and further from centre). The rooms run from the main golf building. Up a walkway you find the restaurant which has spectacular views of the coastline and really good meals, at good value. Staff are all really helpful and friendly. There are no phones in the room, so if you want to contact someone, you have to walk to their room or use your mobile, except we found mobile reception was a little patchy in parts. If you're a golfer you will be in heaven here (no carts though). If you're not a golfer, it is still worth a couple of nights, and the restaurant location is just outstanding. It is about an hour and 20mins from Launceston airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Guest Relations Manager at Barnbougle Lost Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Barnbougle Lost Farm and we hope that you managed to include some play in your corporate trip!

Indeed all the facilities are very new and pleased to hear that you enjoyed some fine Tassie food, wine and hospitality.

Kindest

Liz Sattler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Barnbougle Lost Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 165 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went to meet another couple for 3 days at Lost Farm- I play golf, my wife does not, but we both enjoyed our stay immensely and equally.
This is an ubelievable resort. Rooms were spotless, spacious, well appointed and there was no noise. The bed was really comfortable and our room looked out over the first tee.
My wife indulged in the spa facilities while I played golf- Barnbougle Dunes and Lost Farm. Lost Farm is my choice with the 14th being the signature hole for me.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food, service and view were excellent and very reasonably priced. When booking I asked and they emailed me the menu and wine list which was great. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
At Lost Farm, which is the newer of the two venues everything is nearly new and the accomodation, office, pro-shop, restaurant and spa facilities are all connected by covered walkways. (unlike the Dunes).
We did not get to walk along the beach but it is highly recommended if the weather is right.
I played in perfect conditions and although there were a lot of golfers on the courses they moved well. To enjoy these two courses make sure you play off the appropriate tee box for your level of skill. These are courses that could eat you!
All in all, one of the best times we have had and would highly recommend it whether you are a golfer or not.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneywanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Firstly, we didn't go for the golf!
We wanted a nice spot for a wedding anniversary weekend. This was it.
Well appointed, spectacular location and views, excellent restaurant. Very quiet at night courtesy of double glazing and the fact that golfers go to bed early so they can be up at dawn!
Restaurant meal and service couldn't be faulted - and the views from the restaurant are probably one of the best anywhere in Tasmania.

Our only complaint was that the resort is still be worked on and for an expensive weekend, you shouldn't have to put up with builders debris outside your balcony and revegetation still not completed around the buildings. But we had a good time! We drove into Barnbougle dunes for a look, but we think Lost Farm is a much nicer location.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This property on the north coast of Tasmania is a golfers dream. Comprises of two championship and challenging courses, end to end along the beachfront....we stayed at Lost Farm, the second and older course with it's own accommodation facility is called The Dunes. The golf perfect, and played in perfect conditions over the Melbourne Cup weekend. The rooms also fresh, clean,spacious and very comfortable.The F&B, under promise, over deliver. The young staff on both nights performed above their duty in terms of service and professionalism, with the kitchen crew serving up a 5 star meal. Job well done ! Tip: Form a group, and if you can afford it, take the Vortex Charter Flight from Moorabbin and land on the '19th'. Oh, and there's the spa but book weeks in advance to secure a slot. We simply had a great time and thoroughly recommend the experience.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the golf and F&B when staying at Barnbougle, the course view or the sea view are in...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Spent the weekend at Lost Farm for a special occasion. Accommodation. Nicely appointed rooms with the most comfy bed I have ever slept in. Bathroom spacious and modern with an excellent hairdryer, not some small uderpowered one. Don't be put off by the colour of the water in the taps, only stained like tea. Drinking water supplied in room and pro shop. Rooms very quiet and beautiful view over the ocean. Rooms basic but comfy, but I suppose you aren't there to spend the whlole time in the room. Restaurant has gorgeous views, excellent service and menu. Our food was delicious and couldn't be faulted, centred around Tasmanian produce and local food. Good choice of local wines. If you aren't a golfer there is the spa to utilise. We had an early morming walk along the beautiful beach We were the only ones on the beach and with the waves crashing, beautiful sunshine and spray from the ocean made for a wonderful start to the day. The town of Bridport is a short drive away and easily reached for supplies or somewhere else to explore.
All in all a special weekend for us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerRose63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My partner and I spent a memorable long weekend at the Barnbougle Lost Farm. We were blessed with fantastic, warm winter sunshine for the whole trip which really enchanced our enjoyment being away in such a remote location.
Having experienced both Barnbougle Dunes and Lost Farm, we can tell you that accommodation is better at Lost Farm and there are more for the ladies to do here. A pilates class, a spa session, a walk on the beach or a wine tasting excursion will have the non-golfing ladies back with their mad golfing partners. Don't forget to enquiry about their best kept secret, fishing! It's a great way to experience the beautiful beach of Brass Strait and the great sunset after golf. We caught 2 big Australian Salmon on the beach in less than half an hour! Apparently, fly fishing was also great in the river near by during summer.
Both restaurants are very good and reasonably priced. The wine Cellar at Lost Farm was great and the real log fire at Barnbougle was heart warming. All the staff are professionals and friendly. Book yourself a professional caddy for an informative & helpful round.
We preferred the course at Barnbougle purely because of a few personal favourite holes. Both courses provide challenging layouts with magnifcient views. A must try golf experience in Australia.

Room Tip: Take your bathers and camera!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquatechint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Barnbougle/Lost Farm well and truly lived up to expectations.Both golf courses are truly magnificent and wonderful to play even at my golfing level (HC 26).It was a great experience all round, the accommodation is basic but very comfortable, with great views to Anderson Bay.
The food was competitively priced and was above expectations, the breakfasts were overly generous for women!
I have no doubt we will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porepunkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bridport hotels
3.5 mi away
Platypus Park Country Retreat
3.1 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#6 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bridport Bay Inn
Bridport Bay Inn
#8 of 8 in Bridport
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Barnbougle Lost Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnbougle Lost Farm

Address: Waterhouse Rd, Bridport, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnbougle Lost Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Barnbougle Lost Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnbougle Lost Farm Bridport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing