We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay!”
Review of Tamar Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamar Cove Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beauty Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our out-of-date guide book led us to have low expectations. How wrong we were! This small but perfectly formed Motel and Restaurant was a great delight. Our spotless accommodation was very well appointed and roomy with a separate bedroom, living area and a well designed shower room. We decided to eat in the restaurant and were very impressed by generous portions and fresh sea food, served with skill and respect. I believe the owners have spent the last few years steadily improving and updating this place and they have a made both inside and outside very attractive. It being early spring in Tasmania, we didn't use the garden, veranda or pool but they looked lovely.
10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Worth p[aying a little extra for all the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snadgerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in October. The room was very roomy, had kitchenette and all facilities you expect in a motel. The restaurant was excellent. The kitchenette provides the opportunity to save money by eating in. Two minor criticisms. The heating was inadequate for the size of the room, and the weather was quite cool, the beds did have electric blankets. The pool filter was up against our bedroom wall and it ran all night. But overall I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan R, Owner at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Unfortunately we have been waiting for the air con/ heater in that unit to be fixed under warranty and for the interim have had to use the free standing unit. If we had known it was not adequate we could have supplied a second unit... Sorry about the pool filter , it is not supposed to be running at night.
Thanks once again. Stefan and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay and everyone we came into contact with was hospitable, relaxed, professional and friendly. The weather was awful on the afternoon we arrived but the welcome was warm and our motel room was cosy ... and our dinner in the restaurant was AMAZING. Our room had everything we needed - for an overnight stay it was exactly what we wanted, and with a heater in the room plus an electric blanket on the bed we never felt the cold despite the wild winds and pelting rain outside. Everything was clean and tidy - the room was quite compact but very well organised, and the bed was lovely and comfortable. I just have to mention the dinner again ... because it was really fantastic! - and with discount meal cards available at a number of nearby businesses (we picked one up at the Exeter Visitors' Centre), you really can't go wrong. We didn't know what to expect at this motel and we were so pleasantly surprised, we'll be recommending it to anyone touring around Tasmania.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan R, Owner at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

We are delighted to hear you comments as we do work hard to give our guests that personal service. Our restaurant is very popular for all the reasons you mentioned so I am pleased we continue to recieve that positive feedback.. Thanks again ..Stefan and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great motel that delivers much more than its star rating would suggest. Rooms are comfortable and adequate in size. Meals from the restaurant are amazing, no need to eat anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ms_Drak_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are used to 5 star hotels and when we had to stay at Beauty Point for a function we were not expecting the same comforts a larger hotels offers.Tamar Cove Motel's restaurant blew us away, the quality of food and the service was equal to any of the best we have experienced. We stayed in their deluxe room which was much larger than the others but to be honest, we looked at the other rooms and you just have to accept it is a motel so the smaller rooms would have been fine as well.

Overall, the owners and staff have got it down pat and if we needed to stay up that way again, we would but we will definitely drive back for the restaurant again and next trip will be to share a lunch there with friends and watch how impressed they will be. What a great find.

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe room if you can but if not available, just know the rooms are small Motel room types...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan R, Manager at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you for your review, We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to maintain a high level of service and to keep our business at a standard customers expect. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit. Donna, Stefan and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

While touring through the tamar valley we dropped in to a small motel, Café for a coffee, we were so taken with the views and the friendly staff we asked the accommodation prices and decided to stay. The motel rooms are good value, clean and comfortable with a kitchenette and all the usual motel style set up.
The Restaurant has to be the highlight of out Tassie tour, we had some of the best seafood, and an eye fillet steak that was done perfectly. Obviously a family run business with such personal friendly service.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The motel sits nicely above the Tamar Cove and the view from the restaurant was a delight. Unfortunately a function that went until almost midnight kept us awake and ruined our stay. The smokers gathering outside our front door, and an early morning bottle collection behind our room, topped things off. The owners were only midly apologetic. Had we known in advance we would have booked one of the many other lovely Tamar properties.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauty Point
24.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
930 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
66 reviews
23.2 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
55 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beauty Point Tourist Park
Beauty Point Tourist Park
#1 of 3 in Beauty Point
63 reviews
4.0 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamar Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamar Cove Motel

Address: 4421 West Tamar Hwy, Beauty Point, Tasmania 7270, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Beauty Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beauty Point
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamar Cove Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Tamar Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamar Cove Motel Beauty Point, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing