We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”
Review of Tamar Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamar Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beauty Point
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay and everyone we came into contact with was hospitable, relaxed, professional and friendly. The weather was awful on the afternoon we arrived but the welcome was warm and our motel room was cosy ... and our dinner in the restaurant was AMAZING. Our room had everything we needed - for an overnight stay it was exactly what we wanted, and with a heater in the room plus an electric blanket on the bed we never felt the cold despite the wild winds and pelting rain outside. Everything was clean and tidy - the room was quite compact but very well organised, and the bed was lovely and comfortable. I just have to mention the dinner again ... because it was really fantastic! - and with discount meal cards available at a number of nearby businesses (we picked one up at the Exeter Visitors' Centre), you really can't go wrong. We didn't know what to expect at this motel and we were so pleasantly surprised, we'll be recommending it to anyone touring around Tasmania.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan R, Owner at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are delighted to hear you comments as we do work hard to give our guests that personal service. Our restaurant is very popular for all the reasons you mentioned so I am pleased we continue to recieve that positive feedback.. Thanks again ..Stefan and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great motel that delivers much more than its star rating would suggest. Rooms are comfortable and adequate in size. Meals from the restaurant are amazing, no need to eat anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms_Drak_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are used to 5 star hotels and when we had to stay at Beauty Point for a function we were not expecting the same comforts a larger hotels offers.Tamar Cove Motel's restaurant blew us away, the quality of food and the service was equal to any of the best we have experienced. We stayed in their deluxe room which was much larger than the others but to be honest, we looked at the other rooms and you just have to accept it is a motel so the smaller rooms would have been fine as well.

Overall, the owners and staff have got it down pat and if we needed to stay up that way again, we would but we will definitely drive back for the restaurant again and next trip will be to share a lunch there with friends and watch how impressed they will be. What a great find.

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe room if you can but if not available, just know the rooms are small Motel room types...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan R, Manager at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to maintain a high level of service and to keep our business at a standard customers expect. Thanks again, and we look forward to your next visit. Donna, Stefan and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

While touring through the tamar valley we dropped in to a small motel, Café for a coffee, we were so taken with the views and the friendly staff we asked the accommodation prices and decided to stay. The motel rooms are good value, clean and comfortable with a kitchenette and all the usual motel style set up.
The Restaurant has to be the highlight of out Tassie tour, we had some of the best seafood, and an eye fillet steak that was done perfectly. Obviously a family run business with such personal friendly service.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The motel sits nicely above the Tamar Cove and the view from the restaurant was a delight. Unfortunately a function that went until almost midnight kept us awake and ruined our stay. The smokers gathering outside our front door, and an early morning bottle collection behind our room, topped things off. The owners were only midly apologetic. Had we known in advance we would have booked one of the many other lovely Tamar properties.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed three nights during Christmas. Found the room fine with a small kitchenette (no hot plates though), flatscreen tv and wifi (pay as u go). No none sense.

We used the BBQ to cook dinner but the pool was closed because the owners were not on site during the holidays.

The motel does seem a bit far from launcheston but is relatively close to many of the wineries. With one night in Launceston two nights is enough at Tamar Cove to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan R, Owner at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Given the corespondents we had over several e-mails leading up to your stay with us, We find your comments rather misleading. Yes, the restaurant was closed for Christmas eve and Christmas day as you were well aware. may I add this was the first time we closed over that period for several years. We are open seven day a week and available 24 hrs. We did ensure you had all our contact numbers and asked you to call us if you had any problems. The pool was open and should you have called us we would certainly have advised you of this. The room that was booked with us was a motel double suit and therefore does not have cooking facilities, however , for anyone who needs hotplates and kitchen facilities we can organised a self contained unit for you! Despite your dissapointment ,we trust you enjoyed your complimentary internet and bottle of wine we left you for Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had a family room. Despite only being two of us the 2 rooms would have slept 5. It was clean and comfortable, and the restaurant was very good. Plenty of parking and a friendly atmosphere.A typical motel, but one of the better motels we stayed in while in Tasmania.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauty Point
23.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
546 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
52 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
546 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beauty Point Tourist Park
Beauty Point Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Beauty Point
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jensens Bed and Breakfast
Jensens Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamar Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamar Cove Motel

Property: Tamar Cove Motel
Address: 4421 West Tamar Hwy, Beauty Point, Tasmania 7270, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Beauty Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beauty Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamar Cove Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamar Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamar Cove Motel Beauty Point, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing