We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pomona Spa Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon in spring 2010 and we were amazed by the quality of the cottages and value for money.

Very scenic and quiet location however there weren't too many things to do if that's what you like in a holiday. We prefer more relaxing holidays and this location was perfect for that. Also, not too far from Launceston which is great.

Room Tip: Cottages are all very quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband & I found Pomona Spa Cottages back in 2003 (approx) and have stayed there just about every year since. It's our home away from home (although much nicer than our place!!) All three cottages are beautiful, luxurious, well appointed & comfortable and the views are superb. It is such a quiet, relaxing place and Paula & Bruce are excellent but non-intrusive hosts. We cannot wait to get back there again next year when we'll be having a longer stay (5 nights - woo hoo!!)

I recently stayed one night with three girlfriends in the two bedroom Apollo Cottage. They had never been to Pomona before and are all planning on returning with their families in the future.

PS: For those looking for somwehere nice to eat, head about 1.5km down the road (toward Beaconsfield) to Tamar Cove Motel & Restaurant. Excellent food, open for lunch & dinner (or just coffee if you want).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Pomona Spa Cottages were absolutely gorgeous. In a beautiful location and the view of Beauty Point from the lounge and bedroom was spectacular. The breakfast provisions were lovely and definitely very generous (cheese, fruit, eggs, cereal, biscuits, home-made delicious bread, pluger coffee, juice, etc). Every convenience was thought of at the cottage (BBQ tools, wine opener, etc) and the wood heater was lovely on the cool nights. Soaking in the double spa, enjoying a bottle of wine from one of the local wineries, was definitely the most memorable moment :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xLauzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is one of those hidden treaures, the apartment itself must be about 8 squares I would think. It has a huge kitchen/dining/lounge, seperate bedroom with spa ensuite. It also has a fairly large deck with own bbq and THE most fantastic views over the river.
The kitchen is very well equiped, there are plenty of books and board games, a music system and tv.
The breakfast/afternoon tea provisions are scrummy - homebaked bread etc!
I can't wait to revisit this place with my husband again!

Room Tip: for around $180 per night per double I think this is a really reasonable rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisterRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed 4 days and did not want to leave. You must stay here if you want peace and quiet. The attention to detail is awsome. We did not want for anything except potato masher. A very special place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holi1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at Pomona on 4 and 5 May 2011 as part of a select trip back to Tassie.
Found Pomona via the Web and what a great find.
Greeted by owner Bruce and shown Artemis Cottage.
A single bedroom cottage, very quiet and private looking out across the Upper Tamara River at Beauty Point.
Furnishings were very well appointed, cottage was immaculate, comfy and warm, we got lost in the king size bed!!! It's easy to see the owners have pride in their cottages.
The spa was very entertaining, a great soak, easy to fall asleep in this spa.
Relaxing to say is an understatment - awakening to the sun rising over the hills on the far side of the river was very easy to take.
Refreshments and breakfast condiments were superb - eggs, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, fresh juice - all well looked forward to.
We only had one problem - we had to leave!!! We will be back.
Too good not to be there - a fantastic experience in a corner of Tassie we loved.
Chris and Les

Room Tip: Go there and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank granite53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The cottages are fabulous. They are spacious, clean and well designed. Created to look over the harbour they are private and are a relaxing getaway. The cottage has a fireflace, balcony, spa bath and kitchen. While they don't have an oven or clothes dryer, the microwave was a convection oven and the owners were happy to let us use the dryer at the homestead. The balcony is a winner and we would stay there again. PS can we buy the whole lot when we retire!

Room Tip: Just do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauty Point
3.8 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jensens Bed and Breakfast
Jensens Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beauty Point Tourist Park
Beauty Point Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Beauty Point
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomona Spa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomona Spa Cottages

Property: Pomona Spa Cottages
Address: 79 Flinders St., Beauty Point, Tasmania 7270, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Beauty Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Beauty Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pomona Spa Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 4 ½ star cottages and views. Relax and enjoy breakfast on your private rotunda overlooking beautiful mystic river views. Tranquil, luxurious and spacious. Cosy wood heaters, double corner spas, king beds, self contained, BBQs. Explore the Tamar Valley’s scenic wine and restaurant route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pomona Spa Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomona Spa Cottages Beauty Point, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing