We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dire” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Rio Riverside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Del Rio Riverside Resort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dire”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked for Easter w/e at Del Rio to come tent camping with another family. We were all looking forward to it as with 5 young kids in tow we thought they'd have a ball on all the equipment and it would be a fun w/e.
The location is beautiful & has the potential to be peaceful & relaxing. From what I could gather families go to Del Rio to allow their (often young) children to roam unsupervised around the camp whilst they sit by their tents and eat & drink all day. Not sure how much getting back to nature goes on here. Terrible bands played for 2 nights with no warning, the music blasted out at full volume despite the "rules" stating noise levels at all times should be reasonable. On asking whether the volume could be lower for the 2nd night the manager told me she couldn't do anything about it?!! The best bit was all the drunk teenagers roaming around late at night yelling obscenities, vomiting and all the rest.
If this is your idea of a fun getaway go for it. We won't be rebooking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stomper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    17
    19
    18
See reviews for
83
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed in a riverside villa as part of a friends getaway on a busy weekend. We were 4 families in 4 cabins and the place was absolutely packed for the bridge-to-bridge waterskiing event. Apart from the pool (which became feral with too many kids) the resort coped well with the crowd.
The facilities for children and teenagers (BMX track, tennis, mini-golf, golf, pool, games room, jumping pillows etc) are really wonderful and well-maintained. The staff are unbelievably helpful and friendly given the diverse requests they must receive. They were very relaxed about the use of the gold course etc.
The villa was a large caravan-park style cabin but it was clean and well furnished. Ours had a spa bath and the toilet was in a separate room which was good.
Again, given the large population, we did not notice much noise. There is an 11pm no noise rule and people seemed to respect it.
Overall the kids had a great time and the adults didn't suffer either! We will certainly be coerced into going back.

Room Tip: Go for the newer villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We are a couple of grey nomads who stayed in our caravan in one of the powered sites adjacent to a group of cabins recently. The facilities for kids are great (had 2 grandkids for a night as well), BBQs excellent, amenities good but the noise at night was totally unacceptable (we were there on a Friday and Saturday). There were a number of large noisy groups who partied on well into the early morning and a group in one of the nearby cabins who decided to move a party at 3:30am onto their front verandah, finishing at 5am. Noise managment from Del Rio staff appeared to be non-existant. For us, a definite non-return. Be careful if you value some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wisemans Ferry hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in the villas with 3 other families for a long weekend. The kids ranging from 3-10yo had an absolute ball. They can roam free on their scooters and bikes. The jumping pillow was a hit as with the golf, pool etc Accommodation was clean and good facilities for bbqs outside. Ground/kiosk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelK255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is the 3rd short school holiday visit in 2 years. It really suits families travelling together (as were our experiences) as the kid roam in a safe environment excitedly jumping from one activity to another leaving tired parents to contemplate the river, bush and cheese and wine. It is very weather dependant, there's not much to do if it rains, and it is quite isolated (unless you want to catch the ferry back to Wisemans) but that is its charm. We make sure we bring everything we need and live the simple life.
We've been lucky not to strike speed boat/ ski races, I would imagine that would be pretty tough to deal with as the serenity (!) is pretty great.
Don't expect a great deal beyond a Big 4 caravan park with cabins, lovely environment and fewer people. Pleased to see they've renamed our "deluxe cabins" as park view as they are anything but deluxe but entirely functional for a busy family with kids. We biked, golfed, put putted, bushwalked,bounced, tennised, basketballed, pedalled, swam (very chilly!) crafted in the kids club and barbequed (did I mention the wine and cheese) and were all very contented with exhausted kids.
A short 1 1/2 hour trip from the central coast makes an easy short break from the central coast.
We will return!

Room Tip: If you have small children the park view cabins or waterview cabins closest to the jumping pillow wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tetibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I as well as another couple took a three night getaway trip to this resort in the middle of September. I thought it would be easier to break down the review into separate sections
The accommodation: We stayed in a Villa which was of a reasonably good size. It was two bedrooms, but if you are coming as a family it can definitely sleep more than 4 people. The facilities in the room were in good shape, however there was only one toilet & shower for both couples and it was in an awkward area. Air conditioning was available, as well as microwave, stove etc. The TV was outdated and there were no good movies to watch from the reception, nearly everything was for kids.
Facilities: The resort had a number of facilities that people could do. It is especially great for families with kids (we had none). The place includes mini-golf, 9 hole golf, jumping castle, swimming pool, tennis court, bike hire, bmx bike jumps and a few other things.
Wildlife: The riverside cabin was nice, but the jet skies didn’t make it peaceful. We saw packs of kangaroos, some of which hopped right past our cabin. We didn’t explore any nature walks, but when I asked where we can bike ride there wasn’t any bike trails, we just rode around the resort.
Staff: The people working there seemed nice and helpful. Didn’t have any complaints so wasn’t sure how they would react to negative comments.
Other: Very close to Sydney and other centers. In the time we stayed there we went over the river in the free 24 hour ferry to the other size and chose to eat lunch from the number of available pubs in the area. It’s best to come on the Old Northern road, because the other road is gravel and very dusty and slow.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashatheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Perfect souroundings, so wounderful to stay in very beautiful area where all our needs can be meet, fishing, relaxing BBQ"S, Kids always busy ensure pack bikes. We travel often NSW to Queensland and find most places are either more for kids or for fishing and boating to have it all is such a bonus. Lovely to see some renovations taking place after returning approx same time last year a noticable positive difference, Thank you Melita Daniel and kids from Maitland NSW

Room Tip: villas private and convienent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melita2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisemans Ferry
21.4 mi away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Retreat at Wisemans
Retreat at Wisemans
#1 of 2 in Wisemans Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley
5.0 mi away
Ferndale Retreat
Ferndale Retreat
#2 of 3 in Lower Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bingle Tree Retreat
Bingle Tree Retreat
#2 of 2 in Maraylya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Rio Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Rio Riverside Resort

Property: Del Rio Riverside Resort
Address: Chaseling Rd | Webbs Creek, Wisemans Ferry, New South Wales 2775, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Wisemans Ferry
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wisemans Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Del Rio Riverside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Rio is situated on the banks of the Hawkesbury River with well appointed, self-contained cabins and lodges, along with shady camp sites for tents or vans. Here you’ll find everything you’ve been looking for. A range of activities for both day and night with a bistro to suit all tastes and budgets. With the gentle Hawkesbury River at your door and countless hectares of National Park bushland as a backdrop, Del Rio really is a landscaped playground in the heart of a natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Del Rio Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rio Riverside Resort Wisemans Ferry, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing