We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, delicious above average food”

Riverbend Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Australian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining in the award winning Riverbend Restaurant is a highlight of any visit with our talented chefs producing an array of culinary delights. We buy many of our ingredients from local suppliers to obtain the freshest and finest seasonal produce available. To complement your food we offer an interesting and affordable wine list of predominantly Australian wines. Some you will recognise, others may not be so familiar, but all have been carefully chosen to complement and maintain our reputation for excellence.Open to non-residents. Bookings essential.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious above average food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Fresh ingredients carefully prepared. We had Osso bucco , and lamb rack with walnut, rocket and pear salad. Fantastic!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Gail

Very pleased you enjoyed dining with us and have passed on your comments to the team in the kitchen. I agree about the lamb rack – it’s one of my favourites.

Kind regards

Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We called in without a booking and were rewarded with excellent food, professional and friendly service and a delighful setting. Singaporean chilli prawns were delicious with an innovative twist and the beef was excellent. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Rocky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Hi Rocky
Very pleased to read you enjoyed dining with us and thanks for writing such a positive review. Do hope we will see you again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a meal in the restaurant whilst staying in the hotel for a weekend. The food was good quality and came in sizable portions. The lamb was a touch overdone for my taste, but still good. The duck fat potatoes were excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JVFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi

Many thanks for your review and pleased to read you enjoyed dining with us. It is always difficult to cook the lamb rack to suit everyone’s taste – we cook it medium rare (with a hint of pink) – so I’m sorry you felt yours was slightly overdone. As you say the duck fat potatoes are great – if a trifle decadent!!

Kind regards

Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

A quiet weekend away from the daily grind with the wife found us in the Australis resort. Have just dined in the riverbend restaurant and what a gem it is.
The staff were welcoming and friendly,but it is the food experience that is the standout. The spring lamb rack is to die for perfectly served medium rare as ordered and with the most amazing jus. Accompanying broccolini and eggplant were fresh and cooked to perfection. Finished with a sparkling and palate cleansing sorbet combo. The eye fillet ordered as well done by the wife was still melt in your mouth tender and again the sides were super. The espresso cheesecake is a standout also.
I consider ourselves to be seasoned diners and regularly dine at some of Sydneys best eateries but I am so glad to have found this place. Pleased to provide highest recommendation.
Congratulations to the chef and all the service staff..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hi
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind comments. It is always good for our team to receive such positive feedback which I have passed on to them. Do hope we will see you again sometime.
Kind regards
Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were told the restaurant was booked for a wedding on the first night of our stay but that we could eat on the second night. However, 2/3 of the restaurant was taken over by yet another loud wedding (clash of their music and our piped stuff) so individual diners were crammed into a dark corner with no view of the lovely gardens. The kitchen must have been concentrating on the wedding party as our meal was very ordinary. The entree of cured trout would have tasted better had it not been stuck to the plate with an overpowering commercial mayonnaise. My quail entree was very overcooked and had the texture of cotton wool. Being so close to Sydney, we expected the standard of food to be higher and from other reviews it seems that we chose a bad night. The waitress bungled our wine order and presented us with overflowing glasses of stale wine instead of the bottle we had ordered. This mistake was sorted out by a waiter with a casual "Sorry about the mixup". We were also given the wrong menu to start with, having waited a good 15 minutes to get one in the first place.
After our stay, the manager apologized for all the things that had gone wrong with our dining experiences (incl breakfast) so we hope future guests benefit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin-Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi
As I explained to you in our correspondence after your stay, I am extremely sorry about your concerns arising from your stay. We were indeed very busy on the night you dined but that is no excuse for the service received. Appropriate staff training has occurred to address the issued you raised. As you have indicated to me, you hope to be back sometime in the future when I sincerely hope we can make up for your disappointment.
Kind regards
Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbend Restaurant also viewed

Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
 
Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
St. Albans, Hawkesbury Valley
 

Been to Riverbend Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing