We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food”

Riverbend Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Australian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining in the award winning Riverbend Restaurant is a highlight of any visit with our talented chefs producing an array of culinary delights. We buy many of our ingredients from local suppliers to obtain the freshest and finest seasonal produce available. To complement your food we offer an interesting and affordable wine list of predominantly Australian wines. Some you will recognise, others may not be so familiar, but all have been carefully chosen to complement and maintain our reputation for excellence.Open to non-residents. Bookings essential.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a meal in the restaurant whilst staying in the hotel for a weekend. The food was good quality and came in sizable portions. The lamb was a touch overdone for my taste, but still good. The duck fat potatoes were excellent.

Thank JVFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your review and pleased to read you enjoyed dining with us. It is always difficult to cook the lamb rack to suit everyone’s taste – we cook it medium rare (with a hint of pink) – so I’m sorry you felt yours was slightly overdone. As you say the duck fat potatoes are great – if a trifle decadent!!

Kind regards

Barry Topple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Riverbend Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

A quiet weekend away from the daily grind with the wife found us in the Australis resort. Have just dined in the riverbend restaurant and what a gem it is.
The staff were welcoming and friendly,but it is the food experience that is the standout. The spring lamb rack is to die for perfectly served medium rare as ordered and with the most amazing jus. Accompanying broccolini and eggplant were fresh and cooked to perfection. Finished with a sparkling and palate cleansing sorbet combo. The eye fillet ordered as well done by the wife was still melt in your mouth tender and again the sides were super. The espresso cheesecake is a standout also.
I consider ourselves to be seasoned diners and regularly dine at some of Sydneys best eateries but I am so glad to have found this place. Pleased to provide highest recommendation.
Congratulations to the chef and all the service staff..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hi
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind comments. It is always good for our team to receive such positive feedback which I have passed on to them. Do hope we will see you again sometime.
Kind regards
Barry Topple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were told the restaurant was booked for a wedding on the first night of our stay but that we could eat on the second night. However, 2/3 of the restaurant was taken over by yet another loud wedding (clash of their music and our piped stuff) so individual diners were crammed into a dark corner with no view of the lovely gardens. The kitchen must have been concentrating on the wedding party as our meal was very ordinary. The entree of cured trout would have tasted better had it not been stuck to the plate with an overpowering commercial mayonnaise. My quail entree was very overcooked and had the texture of cotton wool. Being so close to Sydney, we expected the standard of food to be higher and from other reviews it seems that we chose a bad night. The waitress bungled our wine order and presented us with overflowing glasses of stale wine instead of the bottle we had ordered. This mistake was sorted out by a waiter with a casual "Sorry about the mixup". We were also given the wrong menu to start with, having waited a good 15 minutes to get one in the first place.
After our stay, the manager apologized for all the things that had gone wrong with our dining experiences (incl breakfast) so we hope future guests benefit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin-Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi
As I explained to you in our correspondence after your stay, I am extremely sorry about your concerns arising from your stay. We were indeed very busy on the night you dined but that is no excuse for the service received. Appropriate staff training has occurred to address the issued you raised. As you have indicated to me, you hope to be back sometime in the future when I sincerely hope we can make up for your disappointment.
Kind regards
Barry Topple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our accommodation package included a free 2 course dinner and the four of us decided to pay a $7 surcharge each to partake of their “eye fillet beef”.

Probably one of the few restaurants I’ve eaten in (recently) where the steaks were “melt in your mouth tender” and were cooked exactly as ordered and not according the whim of the chef.

They weren’t over-cooked or charred on the outside, the medium-rare was exactly medium-rare and the medium were exactly medium. We each enjoyed a perfectly cooked eye fillet over 2 inches thick.

We all agreed, definitely up there with some of the best we’ve eaten in a long time. Well done to the chef!

A most enjoyable meal, with great service from our young female waiter.

PS. We found the wine list had plenty to select from. We chose a Hunter red that matched our meal perfectly and was exactly to our liking … in fact we chose it a couple of times :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi
Very pleased to read you enjoyed dining with us and particularly your comments about the eye fillet which I will pass on to the chef. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards
Barry Topple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nothing to dislike. Menu great prices very reasonable food delicious, staff obliging and friendly. Loved the fresh vegies that accompanied the meals and delicious and different desserts.
Pork meal divine also bitter chocolate cake and coconut pudding with pineapple an old fashioned dessert but delicious.

Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi Lorraine
Many thanks for you very kind comments on your dining experience with us. It is always encouraging for our staff to receive this positive feedback and I will certainly pass it on to them. Hopefully we will see you again in the Riverbend Restaurant.
Kind regards
Barry Topple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbend Restaurant also viewed

Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
 
Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Riverbend Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing