We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality restuarant and service”

Riverbend Restaurant
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Australian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dining in the award winning Riverbend Restaurant is a highlight of any visit with our talented chefs producing an array of culinary delights. We buy many of our ingredients from local suppliers to obtain the freshest and finest seasonal produce available. To complement your food we offer an interesting and affordable wine list of predominantly Australian wines. Some you will recognise, others may not be so familiar, but all have been carefully chosen to complement and maintain our reputation for excellence.Open to non-residents. Bookings essential.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Quality restuarant and service”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A fantastic day was shared with several members of our Probus club for this outing which included jazz band entertainment. The room was well laid out for this Christmas in July lunch which were 3 courses of an attractive and delicious meal, followed by tea or coffee. The meal was served promptly by professional wait staff who were most helpful. Drinks of wine or beer were also moderately priced and the entertainment rounded off a great day. The location is on an attractive site with a well maintained 9 hole golf course and ideal for group weekend with comfortable accommodation available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan9653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Topple, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Alan

Very pleased you and your friends enjoyed our Christmas in July Jazz lunch and for taking the time to write a review. We have been holding Sunday Jazz sessions for just over a year now and it is great to get your feedback. Hope to see you and your fellow Probus colleagues again sometime.

Kind regards

Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copacabana, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy meal on a cold winters night”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Enjoyed 2 breakfasts and a Saturday night dinner in the restaurant. Service was friendly and there when needed. Good choice of food and wine. My husband and I both shared the peppered goat cheese with oven roasted cherry tomotoes and bread. Yum. We both decided to eat the slow roasted beef cheek. Melt in the mouth. I can't remember but it was served on a bed of mash, I know it wasn't potato. Again yum. Dessert for me was a sticky fig & banana pudding with butterscotch sauce and icecream. Beautiful. Would recommend. Great food and service

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisemansmanager, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Very many thanks for your review of our Restaurant. I must admit the beef cheeks are one of my favourites so I am pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed them as well. We change our menus on a seasonal basis and it really is a great winter dish.
Kind regards
Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly service, delicious food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is going to sound like an ad but it really isn't! We (2A, 2C) ate here for 2 dinners and 2 continental breakfasts over the last 2 nights. The pancake machine was brilliant at keeping the kids entertained and well fed at breakfast and there was a wide selection of cereals, cheeses, meats and fruits - the stewed plums and the fresh figs were particularly good. Dinners both nights were great. We had a Scoopon deal for the first night's meal which was extremely generous and came with a free pre-dinner drink each and 2 courses plus a free meal each for the children. The service and food were good enough to entice us back the second night at our own (very reasonable) expense. Children's menu fairly standard (cheese and pineapple pizza, nuggets or fish and chips with a generous serving of ice cream to follow) but well cooked and presented and the kids loved everything. A highlight was the gelato trio for dessert - we particularly loved the kaffir lime and coconut. Thanks again for the fantastic super-friendly service: we really felt welcome here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisemansmanager, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you for sharing your experience with us – a wonderful ad for us! We have a great team here at the Retreat and it is really good for them to receive this feedback. Hope to see you and the family again sometime.

Kind regards

Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwite
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We ate here for the 3 nights we stayed at the resort,the food was so good that we wanted to try everything on the menu.The restaurant has a lovely ambience with linen cloths and serviettes, and friendly service.Our thanks to Barry for the champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Don't miss out on this restaurant when visiting The Hawkesbury.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisemansmanager, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear CobyD
It was a pleasure meeting you and congratulations again on your anniversary. Thanks so much for your review and your kind comments on the Rivebend Restaurant. I will pass them on to the team.
Kind regards
Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience with food to match”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Dined here mid week while staying at the resort to which the restaurant is attached. (Australis Retreat at Wiseman's Ferry)

The night we dined the restaurant was deserted, with only 2 other couples besides us, this was despite the appearance that there were a lot of guests staying at the resort.

The restaurant has a really lovely atmosphere & the waitress was most attentive. We thought the menu a bit limited but did enjoy our meals, with the quality & quantity being excellent.

We thought over $100 for 2 courses & a wine each was a bit on the pricey side & couldn't help but wonder if they had a midweek 2 course special for $30-$35 they would win back many of the resort's guests who (like us on the other 2 nights we stayed) end up dining at the Bowlo opposite or the pub up the road.

All in all though I do recommend you give it a go, I don't think you will be disappointed.

A buffet breakfast is served each morning in the restaurant, we found the variety & quality of the food on offer perfect.

For breakfast they open up a verandah off the main restaurant which has large, almost floor to ceiling glass windows that overlook the beautiful gardens & golf course......an absolutely fabulous way to start the day! (& if you look hard enough you will spot a bower bird's nest in the garden, the goings on with the males & females is comical & so entertaining. NOTE TO PARENTS: nothing X rated though, all suitable for the kids!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Country_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisemansmanager, Owner at Riverbend Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi
Many thanks for your review and I’m very pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We deliberately do not have an extensive menu but rather aim to offer a a more limited selection of high quality dishes and complement these on occasions with “Specials”. Unfortunately the bower birds have taken off but we hope they will be back for more amazing displays!
Kind regards
Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverbend Restaurant also viewed

Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
 
Wisemans Ferry, Hawkesbury Valley
St. Albans, Hawkesbury Valley
 

Been to Riverbend Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing