We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”
Review of Windsor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

A good place to stay with family and friends. Very friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms. Tasty food in the restaurant..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    7
    9
    36
See reviews for
15
20
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Rang up to book into the Windsor Terrace and was told that we would have to stay at the Windsor Motel across the road, but both motels belonged to the same owners. We were told we could have side-by-side rooms as there were no interconnecting rooms and that was fine.

We travelled from the Mid North Coast of NSW to Windsor for a family occasion and decided to stay for a night - staying overnight here was a big mistake on our part. On arrival, we were greeted by a foreign man (Pakistan-origin) who we barely understood due to the thick accent. We found it most horrifying that this man was checking us in/on reception was in full display with a dirty shirt on - it looked like he had dribbled soup or something down the length of his shirt and we found it most unprofessional of him not to be clean and tidy in the hospitality industry.

We were given our keys and discovered they weren't next door to each other as we pre-arranged (number 5 and 12) - nor was there any assistance to have a room next to each other - it was a "take it or leave it" deal. I had also booked a family room that would hold four people and instead was given a room with a double bed and one single, while our second room was meant to have a double bed and a single bed in it - which only had a double bed in it.

While we were checking in, another customer came to reception (an middle-aged gent) who made a complaint about dirty cutlery and crockery that was already meant to have been taken care of, but wasn't. When asked by the house maid, she insisted that it was already clean - we didn't find out what the outcome of that was...

We were charged $90 for the room with the double bed and $110 for the room with the double bed and single bed. On inspection of our rooms we found the rooms in very poor sub-standard, sanitary condition. It wasn't the fact that the motel room was older-styled, it was the fact that it was dirty (such as dried fluid stains on the toilet seat), mattresses were springy, lumpy and very saggy (so much so, every time you moved a spring stuck up into your body), knobs were removed from heating so we couldn't adjust the temperature and when it was turned on it was cold and being Windsor in August it was freezing with inadequate bed covers - there was only one, thin double blanket as an extra with one, thin blanket and bedspread on beds. The towels were hard, stiff and stained - they looked used and weren't white but a greyish, horrible colour and didn't wish to risk using the shower, as it too looked rather grimy too.

And to top it all off, there was a patron in another room (who we didn't know) that continuously started up and revved their Ford vehicle every half an hour or so throughout the late hours of the night, with his girlfriend/wife screaming at him about the car - so we weren't very happy about that either (especially the next morning when the hosts of the motel attempted to blame our car for the ruckus - even though we have a newer model Ford and no males in our party)

Overall I'm glad it was for only one night, but even that was one night too many. We are an average Australian family, who don't mind older-style accommodation but at the very least we expect cleanliness and this place is simply feral. Save your money and try a motel in Vineyard or even Richmond instead - we will be.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xaniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

aussiland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

The service was disgraceful!!!!!!
The guy seemed to have no idea what the hell he was doing and spent that long to book us in it wasn't funny. Make sure you take your esky and a snack while you book in!!

The rooms were dirty, small, and so run down I couldn't believe what I had just paid to stay there...... obviously because there is not a lot of accomodation in Windsor they can get away with it.

PLEASE PAY THE EXTRA $$$ AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE....... otherwise you will regret it.... YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

FILTHY FILTHY FILTHY FILTHY

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyrilAussiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Although the room did the job we did have a problem with the hot water running out, the place was at capacity so obviously couldn't keep up. The fridge didn't work either, no iron, a bit of rubbish in one of the drawers but apart from that staff seemed ok, rooms were tidied every day and the rooms were secure. Close to the river & in town which is handy. Somewhat over priced, ideal for couple & child.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyCabone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Had to walk accross the road to get to the office, staff rude, then told that the price I was told over the phone was wrong and they tried to charge $15.00 more p/n. We stated that the call was recorded (Which it was) and that DOFT would be called if they try to charge more. We stayed for 2 days and moved on.
The room was not the best, the staff rude, Office not onsite.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh_trip_ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We booked into the Windsor Motel over the phone. We gave no check-in time because we were not asked for one. When we got there they had given our booked room away as the check-in time in their book said 'None' but the guy working the desk thought it said 'Noon' so gave our room away when we didn't get there until 6pm, we were very angry, he was very rude and our friends who did stay there were afraid of bed bugs (and would have liked to have a gun handy) when the saw the room for $85!! Rip off. The rooms were also quite noisy. The check-in time for this motel is 1230hrs when booking online with wotif, this is a little earlier than normal but still it is no excuse.

Not only was the man at check-in rude to us, he was also rude to the 2 people in the queue in front of us. He was quite happy to tell them to go away if they did not wish to pay the amount he wanted to charge!

We were not able to get a room as the place was booked out. I believe this is not because it is a good place to stay it is because there is very little accommodation available in Windsor. We ended up staying at The Sebel, well worth the extra money it cost, i'd go there next time.

  • Liked — it is close to dining-out area of Windsor
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
12.8 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsor Terrace Motel
Windsor Terrace Motel
#2 of 3 in Windsor
92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hawkesbury Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alexander the Great Motel
1.9 mi away
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
#1 of 1 in Clarendon
61 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Motel

Property: Windsor Motel
Address: 54 George Street, Windsor, New South Wales 2756, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel with a reasonable tariff and a 3 Star very close to the historic town, just a stroll for shopping and visit for historic places, close to Richmond, Riverstone, Pitt Town, Blacktown, Castle Hill, Londonderry, Kurrjong, Wilberforce, Cattai, Maroota, Oakville, Box Hill, Dural, Castle Hill, Baulkam Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windsor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Motel Hawkesbury Valley, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing