We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monique's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wentworth Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monique's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wentworth Falls
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed at Monique's a dozen times over the past 10 years. It is only on my last visit that I noticed a Trip Advisor sticker on the cottage door. I decided to look up the reviews when I got home.

The negative reviews written early last year were probably fair, but seem no longer relevant. The exterior seems to have been repainted and the garden and grounds smartened up. I'm pretty sure interior paintwork has been refreshed where it was needed and I noticed a new pedestal basin and toilet seat and some light fittings. (I know the place pretty well.) The place still has the old-fashioned feel of the 50's that I like, but it is clean and welcoming. One room sometimes has 'china-glazed' linen, which is good in summer but feels cold in winter until the bed is warmed. I'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Good space for rooms, living area, kitchen. But the house needs a big makeover to uncover its beauty. Spring cleaning is needed, garden is required and furnishings should be overhauled. Host Ian was very nice though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minxSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Ian the host was very friendly, polite, helpful and approachable. The accommodation itself is somewhat dated and the rooms need a VERY good clean - far too many cobwebs and spiders in the room as well as many in the bathroom. Whilst we appreciate that you get spiders in Australia, there were far too many of them. There is also flaking paintwork in the bedroom. The bedding felt damp on arrival, but was just cold - perhaps Ian could have turned the heated blanket on to warm them up? This B&B has great potential if given a bit of TLC. The location is great but we would not return as we feel it is somewhat overpriced for the condition of the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KES76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We happened upon this hidden gem of a B&B and were warmly welcomed by our host Ian Williamson. He showed us the unique back trails to the tourist attractions, thereby avoiding the crowds. The B&B itself is so unique, a lovely English cottage, comfy, cozy with a wonderful collection of jazz music. A must for all travellers.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allspice502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

I've had good luck in B&Bs in different parts of the world and Moniques is one of the nicest I've found. My wife and I went for our honeymoon after spending 5 days in Sydney we were ready for some R&R. Mr. Ian the proprieter asked up front what kind of food we wanted for breakfast -- bacon? wheat or white? What kind of milk? He even had real coffee and 2 kinds of French presses.

We were greeted with an excellent red wine (again our choice) and a fire in the fireplace/stove. Linens were clean and fresh and the separate living room was comfy and warm. Wentworth falls is the "quiet" part of the Blue Mountains but Moniques is only minutes from the train station and less from hiking trails. Mr. Ian took us sightseeing after loading our bags in his car on our way out of town.

Heavy sigh. It was a great place and very quiet. Very comfortable without too much cutesy stuff in the mix. It is also fun to not care about 'missing' breakfast at a b&b when you have the freedom to make it whenever you want. Moniques was very cool.

  • Liked — Great location with customized food and drink to match our desires
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sambapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monique's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monique's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Monique's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31 Falls Rd, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wentworth Falls
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Monique's Bed And Breakfast Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing