We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for bushwalking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whispering Pines Chalet
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We recently spent 4 nights at Chalet Fontanelle and had a wonderful time. We were upgraded to the Gordon Childe suite which, as others have stated, is extremely spacious and comfortable. The bedroom has lots of windows and a comfortable sitting area at one end. There is also another private room with a table, DVD/TV and sitting area and windows on 3 sides. One is spoilt for choice when deciding whether to relax inside or in the beautiful gardens. The suite also has a small kitchen area with a fridge and microwave plus all the bits and pieces one needs for breakfasts and tea and coffee (lovely crockery). The bed is comfortable and the shower has relatively good water pressure which helps one revive after walking. One can do a number of walks (of varying levels of difficulty) direct from Chalet Fontanelle or it is a short drive to lots of other walks in the Leura/Katoomba area. Wentworth Falls has some nice restaurants and cafes (we enjoyed dinner at Seven and pastries and coffee at both the Schwarz bakery and Il Postino's) as do nearby Leura and Katoomba (where we found Darleys to be the highlight of our trip foodwise).

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greenfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 62 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2008

Stayed at this lovely B&B recently for one night only. The owner Maria was very friendly and helpful and kindly ugraded us to the Gordon Childe Suite on our arrival. The suite was very spacious with two living areas, spacious bathroom, and well equipped kitchen area. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the lovely brass bed gave us a wonderful night's sleep. Maria baked delicious bread for our breakfast (and even told me the flour she used so I could bake the same bread when I got home) which we enjoyed with a good selection of jams & honey, together with the yoghurts, cereals etc. We were able to enjoy the breakfast within our own suite overlooking the secluded gardens and watching the rozelles at the bird feeder.
The Chalet Fontanelle is located in a lovely quiet area with extensive gardens and is perfectly placed to join the National Pass walk at Wentworth Falls. We thoroughly enjoyed our walk and only wish we had stayed a few nights so that we could enjoy all that was on offer in the area.
Maria was happy to recommend local restaurants in Leura and even booked the restaurant for us while we were on our walk.
Will definitely stay at Chalet Fontanelle on our next trip to the Blue Mountains.
D&G

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DandGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We have just spent one of the most magical nights of our three week stay in Australia at Whispering Pines run by the delightful hosts Bill and Maria. The beautiful 1898 house has been gloriously restored and we stayed in the stunning Charles Darwin Suite which consists of a very spacious sitting room, complete with open gas fire, flat screen television and DVD player with a selection of DVDs and CDs, very large bedroom with sleigh bed and a fantastic en-suite bathroom with underfloor heating, spa bath etc.

Outside is one's own private balcony with views towards the Blue Mountains and then, the piece de resistance, is a wonderful music room cum observatory complete with telescope reached by a further set of stairs.

The whole property is wonderfully in keeping with its Victorian origins, obviously lovingly converted, with the added comfort of all 'mod cons'. The location is amazing - right at the edge of the National Park trails - and a wonderful place to explore the Blue Mountains from. We were on a guided tour which dropped us off and then arranged to pick us up on the corresponding tour the next day. This was such a brilliant move as the walks were absolutely spectacular and should not be missed - do not just go to the area for a day! We were even lucky enough to come across two lyre birds whilst walking round the Wentworth Falls area.

Add to this Maria's fantastic home-made bread to start the day and it really was was of our most perfect nights, definitely on a par with our other favourite, Longitude 131 at Uluru. I cannot add enough praise for this really special place - as you can probably guess.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SurreyLadyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletFontanelle, Owner at Whispering Pines Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2008

Thank you so much for the lovely review of the accommodation - and the bread! Since your visit we have been awarded a Silver Award for Excellence in the Tourism NSW Awards 2008. If the judges has tasted my bread we may have carried off the gold!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

One of the best hotels we have stayed at. Lovely location, huge suite of rooms, historical charm, and friendly hoteliers. Easily the equal of local, European or North American historical hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LikesCleanH0tels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I stumbled across the Chalet Fontanelle via another travel website in my search for accomadation to get me away from Sydney which was locked down because of the APEC summit What luck!!

The chalet is located in picturesque Wentworth Falls in the Blue Mountains 1 hour west of Sydney.

The Blue Mountains itself is a holiday retreat for tourists to Sydney as well as Sydney locals trying to get away from it all.

The Chalet is a B&B with only 3 rooms so there are never more than 6 guests staying at one time which lends the Chalet the feeling of peace and seclusion.

The house itself is a beautifully restored old mansion. To say that the rooms are spacious is an understatement. I stayed in 2 differant rooms over two consecutive nights and was struck by the sense of grandness and space in each.

The gardens surrounding the house have been created by the owners and are in the formal english style, many of the trees were in blossom when i was there and even though it was cold and raining were still delightful to walk around.

The set up of the house is not classical B&B rather it is set up as 3 virtually self contained apartments with basic kitchennette and breakfast facilities in each room.

Marie (the owner) bakes bread for you each day and a selection of jams and spreads are provided as well as coffee and tea making facilities. This means that you can breakfast at your leisure in your room which I loved.

The location of the Chalet is perfect overlooking the Jamison valley and right next to the national park. A 5 minute stroll sees you at Princes rock with a view of the valley and Wentwork falls.

The location is fantastic and the suburb is quiet (compared to Leura or Katoomba) which means you can walk around the roads and mix with the locals and admire their beautiful houses and gardens. Make sure you head down the back lanes which are even quieter and tree adorned.

Accomodation.

Night 1 was spent in the Gordon Childe suite.

A 75 square meter suite comprising of bedroom, adjoining sitting room, large bathroom, kitchenette and seperate lounge room. The room takes up over 1 third of the top floor of the house (with the Charles Darwin room taking theother two thirds).

The suite is very well appointed and retains very much the classical federation look of late 1800's Sydney homes. The decor is relaxed and country styled without the usual "cutesy" country styling that much accomodation in the area is known for. The kitchenette is well appointed as is the living area with LCD TV and DVD player (an especially nice touch is the selection of CD's and DVD's which are in the top cupboard in the kitchenette).

Both living rooms look over the manicured gardens and the always on central heating means the room is always cosy despite the size and numberof windows throughout the suite.

Night 2 was spent in the Charles Darwin suite (ive included some of the picture we took as well)

The premier room at the Chalet this suite is HUGE. At 140 square meters it is larger than most Sydney apartments. The main room contains kitchen facilities a large comfy lounge and a gas fire.

The bedroom which is through double bifold doors is sitting room and bedroom combined and contains another gas fire and a king size bed.

Doors lead out to your own private wrap around balcony with views over the magnificant Jamison valley. The tight staircase on the balcony leads up to your very own studio equiped as an astronomy with a large telescope and a view over the valley .

Back inside the bathroom has underfloor heating making the tiles toasty no matter the time day or night. The bathroom itself is large and beautifully appointed with a small fireplace next to the corner spa bath, heated towel rack, seperate toliet, shower and large wood vanity.

I cannot recommend the Chalet highly enough. The owners are welcoming and helpful (thankyou for providing us with the history of the house Marie) the property beautiful, the location magnificant, the rooms spacious and beautifully appointed and the rates suprisingly competitive considering what you would get for the equivalent money 5km's up the road at one of the 5 star resorts.

I only have 2 regrets
1. That I did not stay longer
2. That when news of the Chalet gets out (as it inevitably will) it will become harder for me to get a room there

David & Amanda

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank djcandalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Chalet Fontanelle is a wonderfully peaceful retreat for walkers looking for a base from which to explore the Blue Mountains or for those who simply want to relax and enjoy the scenery. The property is a very upmarket B&B comprising of 3 suites set within extensive gardens. Perfectly located for the many paths through the national park.

We stayed for 5 nights in the Charles Darwin Suite, which contained a large living area, separate bedroom and spacious bathroom with heated floor, jacuzzi and shower. In addition there was a large private balcony accessible from both the living room and bedroom. Our suite was comfortably furnished and included TV, DVD player, fridge, kettle and hair dryer. Guests are provided with a comprehensive selection of information on local attractions and menus for local restaurants.

A simple breakfast of orange juice, fresh baked bread, cereal and yogurt was provided in the room. For evening meals the town of Wentworth Falls (approx 20 minute walk) has a small number of reasonable restaurants and a bar providing pub grub. A short taxi ride (A$20) to Leura or Katoomba provides a wider selection of restaurants and shops.

The hosts were welcoming and helpful, making a number of good recommendations for walking routes as well as booking restaurants and taxis.

Driving is the most convenient method of getting to the Chalet, being about 90 minutes from Sydney. Alternatively there is a train station in Wentworth Falls.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CR1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

While visiting some friends in Sydney, we spent one night at Whispering Pines. We took the train to Katoomba which is very crowded with people jumping on & off the tour buses simply to photograph the 3 Sisters and leave. Fortunately this meant that my wife and I had to share the Federal Pass trail to Leura with only 5 other people. It was a little rainy but the views of the waterfalls and mountains are outstanding. Leura was much less crowded than Katoomba and offered a nice bakery and a few nice arts and crafts type stores. From Leura we caught the train to the Wentworth Falls train station where Maria, one of the hosts, picked us up and drove us to Whispering Pines where she showed us to our spacious room. Though the furniture is a bit outdated (though perfectly comfortable) and there is no TV, our room on the second floor had a shared balcony overlooking the nicely manicured grounds and the hot shower in the recently renovated bathroom more than made up for the furntiure. Maria and Bill made us a reservation at The Grand View Hotel and arranged for a taxi to get us there. The food at the Grand View was basic and one of only 2 or 3 options for dinner in Wentworth Falls. The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with 2 other couples in the dining room overlooking the grounds where we were able to see a flock of beautiful red and purple parrots. We then sought Bill and Maria's advice on hiking the National Pass. The trail starts about 100 feet from the driveway to Whispering Pines, so we were able to get onto the trail well ahead of the day trippers. Maria supplied us with a number of must sees and suggestions for the our walk. Note that the trail involves a number of steps and low spaces, but the views are spectacular, particularly if you make the circuit all the way to the Valley of the Waters.
all in all, Whispering Pines was a lovely b&b with terrific, friendly hosts. My wife and I immediatly recommended it to our friends in Sydney and to anyone else who is travelling to Wentworth/Leura area.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhkexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletFontanelle, Owner at Whispering Pines Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2007

We have recently completely refurbished & updated Whispering PInes & renamed it the CHALET FONTANELLE. Instead of a traditional B&B we now offer world class luxury executive suite accommodation. All suites are very private & have TVs, DVDs etc. Please refer to our website or 'The Chalet Fontanelle' on tripadvisor for up to date information & description.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
954 reviews
7.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
3.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.6 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Chalet

Address: 178 - 186 Falls Rd, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range: $149 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whispering Pines Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner 2008 & 2009 Blue Mountains Award for Excellence, Silver Award 2008 Tourism NSW. Luxury chalet apartments for couples at the head of the majestic Wentworth Falls. Whispering Pines Chalet, on 4 acres, adjoins the World Heritage National Park & has direct access to some of the best walking trails in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whispering Pines Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Chalet Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing