We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apple Blossom Cottage was absolutely beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Pines Chalet
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apple Blossom Cottage was absolutely beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

This gorgeous cottage is surrounded by apple blossoms and beautiful gardens. Our hosts Maria and Bill were lovely and very happy to tell us about some of the magnificent bush walking tracks that surround the area. The location was great and we could walk to the lookouts and tracks of Wentworth Falls . I found the cottage very clean and comfortable for the whole family. I would definitely stay here again as we all had a beautiful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

I booked a cottage from Bill and Maria over the Easter long weekend costing me $1800 for 5 days--reading the reviews and rating i expected a certain level of service from them.However the toilet in the ensuite became blocked on day 3 and I was told nothing could be done until after the long weekend which did not help us!!!We were told that we should be glad that there was one functional toilet !!!The mattresses in all the three bedrooms were sagging and uncomfortable--The TV had a set top box and had terrible reception!!! I have stayed at many B&B over the years and this is the first time I have encountered such poor service ESP at such exorbitant costs!!!At the end of our stay I was given a voucher for 10 percent off for our next visit which I dont think I will use!!!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Usha50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhisperingPines2010, Owner at Whispering Pines Chalet, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
We have delayed answering this review on our AppleBlossom Cottage to give the reviewers an opportunity to retract it before we laid bare the real facts. As they have failed to retract we have no option but to defend ourselves with the truth about their stay at AppleBlossom. The review appeared on Tripadvisor only after we refused their demands for cash.

The guest states in the review that she was travelling as a couple. This is a lie. They booked AppleBlossom Cottage for 5 nights over the Easter/Anzac Day Long Weekend. The cottage is a 3 bedroom, 2 full bathroom house and they booked it for themselves & family group including 2 grown up daughters. All 3 queen beds had been used when cleaned after their stay. She then states that the costs were exorbitant and her clear implication is that the cottage was poor value for 2 people. She knew when she booked that the pricing was for up to 6 people. We maintain that $60 per head per night over Easter for a fully made up holiday cottage is excellent value. This price included all insurances, linen, sheets, towels, tea towels, etc & basic food items, tea, coffee, sugar etc.
The guest compares AppleBlossom Cottage with a B&B for the delivery of service. This is scurrilous. AppleBlossom is not a B&B and she knew she was booking a self-catering holiday house and not a B&B.
The well established service criteria for this and other professionally run holiday cottages in the Blue Mountains is:
1) Cottage fully made up and presented tidy and immaculately clean;
2) Host to provide information and instructions on check-in;
3) Host to be available to respond to issues and reasonable requests to the best of their ability; and
4) On departure, the cottage must be fully cleaned and properly prepared for the next guest.
This we did at every level. The guest’s dissatisfaction is not a result of poor service – it was due to circumstances that were beyond our control and our ability to fix. The guest knows to what lengths we went to try to fix the problems but she maliciously fails to mention this on Tripadvisor.

The guest cites a blocked toilet as being evidence of poor service. The toilet was in perfect working order when we presented the cottage. It became blocked 3 days into her stay.
We immediately investigated the blocked toilet to assess and to determine that there was no unsightliness. The ensuite bathroom was otherwise fully operational with no odours, spillage or other offensiveness. Next morning we attempted to clear the blockage for over an hour while the guests were out of the house to shield them from the nastiness of this operation. We again left the ensuite clean and tidy and the out-of-order toilet without any unpleasantness. It being a public holiday, we determined that conducting a full repair with an emergency plumber would potentially cause major inconvenience and disruption to the guests. They had only 2 nights to go on their stay and there was another good working toilet in the main bathroom. The ensuite was left totally clean and fully operational other than for the recently blocked toilet.

The guest did not raise the matter of sagging mattresses while she was here. If it was an issue, she should have done so then. The beds each have a sturdy timber slat base and the only way they could sag is if the timber slats had moved. This could easily have been investigated and rectified had she brought it to our attention at the time.

The guest states that the TV reception was terrible. Her clear implication is that all TV reception at AppleBlossom is terrible. This is untrue as anyone familiar with digital TV will know – reception is either perfect or there is no reception at all. During her time at the cottage the ABC channels did not have enough signal strength to be picked up. There were, and still are, 13 perfectly working digital TV stations at the cottage. The guest was unfamiliar with the workings of a STB and digital TV so we reprogrammed the STB with the same result. We replaced the STB with a brand new one the next morning with the same result. The guest was made aware that this problem was because of the low signal strength from the ABC network. We informed her at the time that this was common for other houses in the immediate vicinity due to their position in relation to the ABC towers in Sydney 100kms away. The guest’s implication that this was due to any fault of ours is ridiculous.

Attributing the statement “We were told that we should be glad that there was one functional toilet !!!” to us is also a lie. The guest’s clear implication is that we did not handle the issues she raised with due responsibility. She is attempting to defame us. We investigated both problems with diligence and made consistent attempts to fix each of them. We believe that others would judge this as responsible attention to their issues. As the guest was leaving, in keeping with standard industry practice, we freely offered her a 10% credit for the inconvenience she might have suffered. The woman expressed some dissatisfaction about the TV and the toilet and accepted the credit.

The guest did not, at check-out time or at any time during her stay, raise any issue or make any criticisms other than for the TV and the toilet. The beds were not mentioned.
The TV reception for the ABC network continues to be periodically unreliable here as it does in other nearby locations. The beds are Ikea “Ekberg” with a medium mattress.
The cottage continues to be immaculately clean and well presented on arrival, and it is up to the guest to maintain a level of cleanliness and tidiness that they are comfortable with. The plumber fixed the toilet before the arrival of new guests.

We maintain our pricing represents excellent value for a professionally run establishment that has all the proper registrations and insurances.
The guest’s posting on TripAdvisor was preceded with a threat of complaining and a demand for cash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here given the glowing recommendations on Trip Advisor. It's like we stayed in a completely different place. The house is in a beautiful setting and the only time we saw the owner was when we arrived and he showed us to our room and the DIY breakfast. (We booked 2 days earlier which wasn't time enough to provide Gluten Free bread and perhaps some museli). The room was very spartan and took a while to heat up. The sheets and doona cover smelt musty, which we found very unpleasant. Unfortunately we'd already paid as we would have preferred to take our chances and stay elsewhere as the room smelt so musty. We did have a lovely lunch in nearby Wentworth Falls and a great walk to the Falls very close to the house. We left as soon as we could the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SteveHorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhisperingPines2010, Owner at Whispering Pines Chalet, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
We regret it has taken us a month to reply to this review but we have been overseas (our first holiday since starting this business 20 years ago) and wanted to answer it to the fullest with our email record in front of us. As this reviewer states we have always had excellent reviews and the top B&B spot in Wentworth Falls on Tripadvisor prior to their review & were in complete shock when we received a notification from Tripadvisor that we had a negative review. We had had no indication whatsoever that there was a problem with this customer’s stay with us.
1.“the only time we saw the owner was when we arrived”. This is true, they made no attempt whatsoever to see us & tell us they had a problem with their suite. Bill showed them to the Studio on check-in and told them that he would be in the office if required. Bill was in the office until 8.30 that night and from 8.00 am the next morning, but they did not make any attempt to see or contact us. We live at Whispering Pines, we are available 24 hours a day. If we do go out together our mobile phone number is in every room & is also on the guests’ entrance door. Naturally, we do not approach a guest’s suite or interact with them in any way unless they want us to do so. Our policy has & always will be that our guests are here to spend time quiet, uninterrupted time with each other & our presence must be as unintrusive as possible. We regret that we did not realise these guests wanted us to be part of their overnight stay experience. When shown their warm, spotless, sunny, tidy suite Bill showed them our information booklet & answered all the usual questions – dinner, walks, etc.
2.“DIY breakfast. (We booked 2 days earlier which wasn't time enough to provide Gluten Free bread and perhaps some museli “(sic). Prior to these guests arriving we had had email correspondence about breakfast. I informed the guest that we provided a self cater breakfast of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, eggs & bread for toast. At no stage was I requested to supply items suitable to a gluten free diet. Our breakfast is self cater (or DIY of you prefer) as each suite has a kitchenette (again we are set up for guests to enjoy their privacy) & there are many, many B&Bs in the mountains that do a cooked breakfast in a public dining area. We make it clear on all our public information that our breakfast is self cater & the reviews on Tripadvisor also reflect this policy. We do not know why these guests decided to stay with us if they preferred to have breakfast prepared for them.
3. “The room was Spartan & hard to heat up”. The Studio was warm on arrival. The heating was turned on at 8.00am that morning in preparation for our check-in time of 3pm. The Studio is not Spartan. To be sure it does not have frills or teddy bears but our usual clients prefer quiet elegance.
4.“The sheets and doona cover smelt musty, which we found very unpleasant”. The Studio had been made up with fresh linen & doona cover the day before. Our doona covers are dried on the clothes line & all other linen is hired from a professional laundry. There is no possibility that they were musty.
5.“We left as soon as we could the next morning.” This is also correct. 99% of our guests have the good manners to return the key of their room to reception rather than simply drive off. We were both in reception that morning. We actually thought for a time that they had gone to breakfast somewhere & would return. They did not fill out the guest survey form or leave a note. Check-out was the time to air any problems these guests had had to give us a chance to rectify matters.
Perhaps, these guests are unaware of the damage they have done our business. We have gone from being rated one of the top B&Bs on Tripadvisor to one of the lowest. The first we knew that there was any issue between us was the unfair review these guests chose to put on Tripadvisor. Tripadvisor policy precludes this review from being removed as they publish both good & bad. We cannot have it removed but we ask that future guests take into account this response & our previous wonderful reviews when making a choice of where to stay in the Blue Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was one of the highlights of our three week stay in Australia. Quiet, comfortable and close to everything in the Blue Mountains. We arrived in time to take a sunset walk in the park next door. Breathtaking views awaited us. Glorious bush walks followed in the next few days as we indulged our passion for bird watching. Thanks to Maria and Bill who made us feel like family. If ever we have the opportunity to return, this is the place we plan to come to!
Sincerely,
Ian and Frances
Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inkyfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

There is simply no where else I'd rather stay and spend my weekend- quiet, private, beautifully kept- and a short walk to one of the most beautiful bushwalks I have ever encountered. The surroundings are exquisite, Bill and Maria are charming and the rooms are everything you need for a perfect mountains stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusandTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Some how this feels like a home away from home, but with many more luxuries. From the moment you arrive, the fresh loaf of baked bread provided by Bill & Maria sets you up for the simple magnificance that Chalet Fontanelle provides. The ambiance is perfect, old fashioned & modern all rolled up in one place. Not to mention the beautiful views, the privacy, how quiet & secluded it is and how realxing the whole experience is. We will never go anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bribane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

A wonderful and elegant place to stay,in a stunning location,the Charles Darwin Suite is all one would expect with a fabulous bathroom complete with fireplace. The Chalet is located away from the touristy attractions,but close enough to everthing. It is only a few steps to the amazing valley and cliff walks and the waterfall.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brissiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Chalet

Property: Whispering Pines Chalet
Address: 178 - 186 Falls Rd, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whispering Pines Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner 2008 & 2009 Blue Mountains Award for Excellence, Silver Award 2008 Tourism NSW. Luxury chalet apartments for couples at the head of the majestic Wentworth Falls. Whispering Pines Chalet, on 4 acres, adjoins the World Heritage National Park & has direct access to some of the best walking trails in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Whispering Pines Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Chalet Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing