We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Secluded & Romantic, but overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, Secluded & Romantic, but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Falls Mountain Retreat.
We had two sunny balconies with the most beautiful tranquil outlook.
Our favorite part of the accommodation was the romantic fire place & the spa bath.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Anyone visiting the Blue Mountains has to do the walk out to Empress Falls.

However in saying all that, the accommodation was overpriced for what we got. The standard rate for the (1BR Spa Fire Apt ) room was $440, and I think its worth $350 at best. I'm glad we didn't pay the full rate.

Also I would suggest not booking anything on the ground level, as it appeared that the views were obstructed by large privacy walls around their courtyards.

If you can get it for the right price, its worth staying there !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    51
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
106
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Guys, this is a LOVELY place, in an equally lovely location but VERY poor value for money. We paid $390 for one night, couldn't check in until 3pm, it is out of season, was almost empty and provided us with 2 single beds pushed together!

This is an apartment so I didn't expect food or anything else, but I did expect a king size bed, a duvet, more than 4 channels that were tuned in on the TV and more than 19hrs in the accommodation.

Don't get me wrong it was clean and neat and almost new, it was a few short yards from the edge of the large escarpment and walking routes. If only it was not so overly expensive this place would be awesome. But I'm sorry, this isn't somewhere we'll be frequenting ever again.

Room Tip: Bed is REALLY uncomfortable. Take good duvet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHoweBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Amazing location, very close to the path that leads to Wentworth Falls (which is an amazing experience and the hike down National Path is highly recommended). My fiance and I stayed for two nights at Falls Mountain Retreat in January, 2011. The receptionist was very helpful and gave us some great ideas on what to do during our stay. Our apartment/hotel room (it has a kitchen area with a sink and microwave) was absolutely beautiful and HUGE. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub that easily sat two people. Our balcony looked out into the forest preserve, which was beautiful and gave us a lot of privacy.

When we wanted to cook in our room, we asked the receptionist if she had anything we could use. She gave us a brand new electric skillet to borrow for our stay.

If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Sydney, I'd highly recommend Falls Mountain. The next time we visit Australia, we are going to make it a point to go back to the Blue Mountains, and Falls Mountain will be where we'll stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsBlueMountains, General Manager at Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
Hi BrandonChicago,

Thank you for such a positive review! It was terrific to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We have a magic location here and it certainly sounds like you made the most of it exploring around the falls.

Thanks also for your kind comments about our Reception service. We have a small but dedicated team who are really focussed on helping our guests get the most out of their visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Falls Mountain Retreat next time you are in the beautiful Blue Mountains.

Kind regards,
Aaron Crockett
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

On the positive side the accommodation was well positioned, quiet and spacious. The reception staff were helpful and rooms appeared clean. However I considered it was very overpriced considering you have to pay extra for servicing, the TV's deserve a place in a museum (I put mine like this in a skip 5 years ago!), there are no satellite channels, there is a DVD but no facility to rent or borrow films in the complex. Some of the furniture and carpets are tired and the bathroom design could be hazardous (having to climb into a deep spa bath for a shower and no shower curtain so bathroom gets soaked every time you use the shower). I found the bed had a damp feel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsBlueMountains, Manager at Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
dave_jacqueline thanks for your feedback. It was great to read that you enjoyed our property’s unique location and found your apartment spacious, clean and quiet. These are just a few of the qualities that we pride ourselves on.

I’m sorry that our televisions were not to your liking. As you’ve noticed in your travels the 2006 era CRT television is still alive and well; quoting from your review of the Singapore Shangri-La Hotel back in October 2010: “no flat screen or Ipod plug in but who goes to a place like this to watch TV?”

To date we have found that the majority of our guests felt exactly the same way, much preferring to indulge in the two person hydrotherapy spa bath, relax by the fire or explore the world heritage listed wilderness on our doorstep.

Having said this, big screen addicts will be pleased to know that we anticipate upgrading to the more energy efficient and environmentally friendly LED/LCD model televisions in early 2011. These days we find that most guests bring their own video media but we do have a modest library of DVDs available from Reception, and a larger commercial hire operation is only 8 minutes away in Katoomba.

When you arrived on the 2nd December New South Wales had just recorded it’s highest Spring rainfall since records began in our country. This has continued into Summer with disastrous flooding in several states of Australia. During the 3 days of your stay alone we recorded rainfall of 80mm (over 3 inches in the imperial measure). While we cannot control the weather we believe we have its impact indoors controlled as well as is possible. The 1 Bedroom Suite you stayed in has dual reverse cycle airconditioners which allow for heating, cooling and dehumidifying.

A couple of our older guests have commented on their concern with the over bath shower configuration, but with bath mats, steps and grab rails already in place we are not sure what more we can realistically do. An option for those who find bathroom wet areas hazardous would be our groundfloor Studio with disabled facilities – this has a separate shower seat with extensive grab rails and is perfect for less mobile guests.

Our property was purpose built brand new and opened in November 2006. In 2007 we won the accommodation industry award for excellence as the Best New Accommodation Development. Since opening we have comfortably retained our independently assessed 4½ star rating every year – a process that includes a detailed assessment of all furnishings and fixtures. We have thoroughly checked your accommodation and would respectfully disagree with your comments concerning the furniture and carpet.

We believe that our property offers great value when fairly compared to other properties in the Blue Mountains region. Presumably you researched the local options, compared our offering and made your decision to stay with us accordingly. We always keep a close eye on our rates to ensure we remain competitive and are always happy to negotiate on price in the unlikely event that you can find a better quote for similar product offering locally.

Thanks again for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to respond to your concerns. Please accept our best wishes for the New Year – may your travels be safe, numerous and enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Aaron Crockett – Host & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We arrived at Falls Retreat on the 2nd August 2010. There was no fuss or hassles at the reception and were handed our key and some information sheets and the reverse cycle air conditioning remote.
When we got to our room the fire was on, the electric blanket was on and it looked just as the photos online. The room was very spacious, maybe a bit too big for just my husband and I, but the kitchenette was tiny!
We found the bed to be comfortable and the pillows were the best I've used in accommodation (I'm picky!).
They could definitely do with upgrading the TV.
We paid extra for a forest (bush) view loft and it was a lovely outlook.
There appeared to be only a few other guests during our time which was perfect - we avoid B&Bs and hotels so we don't have too much noise/interaction with others.
The spa is wonderful and also had views out to the National Park.
We enjoyed our 2 night stay, and would stay there again. Location was lovely and central (we mainly stayed within Katoomba and Leura) and quiet.
I do have to agree with the others that the $50 cleaning charge is a bit ridiculous considering the price, I'm assuming someone gets paid to make the beds and clean the bathroom!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Enticed by some slick advertising, we booked for three nights. Our first impressions were positive - friendly staff, great location.

However, many aspects of this accommodation lack finesse & look better in photographs than in real life. Booked a loft studio apt - unit 2, which unfortunately was right next to reception & lacked privacy. Woken on first morning by banging glass doors, which serve as side entrances to each loft and are fitted with a rodded transparent curtain. Gas fireplace and high ceilings are the main drawpoints. Reverse cycle air con & twin jacuzzi also a nice touch. Bathroom plaster & some tiles cracked. TV a bit small & dodgy looking. The balconies on either side were a good idea in theory, but in practice they also overlooked the car park (again, not disclosed on website promising "garden or forest views"). Trees visible beyond car park. I agree with other reviews re lack of welcome basket & silly cleaning charges, but we are not messy people so this did not impact on us greatly. However, EXTREMELY disappointed with the bed. What was promised as a "king size bed" was actually two incredibly uncomfortable single beds pushed together. Both mattresses actually felt like the base of an ensemble rather than a proper mattress - they were hard and hurt our backs, leaving us badly rested and cranky in the morning! Felt deceived by this. Will try more traditional B&B next time.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Young16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

At $330 per night, we expected more from this place. The flats are decently furnished in a modern(ish) style, but the uncomfortably small and square sofas / chairs and the old-fashioned TVs (not flat panel) felt very dated. This I wouldn't have minded if the price reflected, but after reading the promises on the website of 'bold, luxurious and ultra modern' accommodation , we felt let down. On the positive side, the places were spotlessly clean, towels and robes were provided and the spa bath and fireplaces were in good working order. However, with other similarly-priced accommodation in the Blue Mountains offering welcome baskets, wine, chocolates etc, having a few scant teabags, coffee sachets and teeny plastic pots of UHT milk felt stingy. There was no servicing (except at extra cost) and we were repeatedly reminded to 'wash, dry and put away in the cupboards' every teacup and spoon we had used during our stay. All washing up was to be done by us, on penalty of a $50 charge if not. Again, at $330 a night, this didn't feel like sophisticated luxury.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
7.3 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains

Property: Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
Address: The Avenue (Off Falls Road) | Blue Mountains, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wentworth Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Mountain Retreat is a contemporary hideaway located in the heart of the Blue Mountains. Nestled amongst acres of peaceful & secluded gardens on the edge of the National Park in Wentworth Falls - just minutes stroll to famous walking trails, cool waterfalls & breathtaking views. Every one of the modern self contained apartments features a romantic real-flame fireplace, deep 2 person hydrotherapy spa bath, reverse cycle air-conditioning & contemporary soft furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains Hotel Wentworth Falls
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing