We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to the baked goods”
Review of Mountain High Pies

Mountain High Pies
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Stick to the baked goods”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A prawn and scallop pie with lime/chilli sauce? Yeah, don't mind if I do. And that's a good example of the big range of baked goods available at Mountain High Pies. They have options that I would never have thought of. But I would stick to their baked goods. When offered vegetables with the pie, I said yes and regretted it almost instantly. (If mashed potato, mashed pumpkin and mushy peas are good for you then say yes.) Ordinarily I like all those vegetables but, though the pumpkin wasn't too bad, they lacked flavour. The coffee is ok but there is better around. Nevertheless the staff are friendly and Mountain High Pies is well located on the highway. Stop there if you feel like a snack but I suggest only buying the excellent things they bake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aus_PM_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best pies on the hill”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wow you would not think a cafe can just rely on great pies but this place covers all bases. Good food, good quick service, clean facilities, parking and quick.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DamienSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stop for lunch or take a pie for supper!!! Great food!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My second stop at this shop and again, I was blown away by the flavors and quality of the pies. Tried a different flavor this time (chunky steak) and the meat was done to perfection....tender and not stringy. Their gravy is rich with flavor. The tea was the best I have had in a restaurant as it came piping hot in an infuser teapot and stayed hot throughout our meal. By the number of tradies and locals that came in each time, I can see we aren't the only ones who love it. Will recommend this place over and over!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“my kinda pie!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to Mountain View pie shop for the 3rd time just to make sure the food was really as good as it was on times 1 and 2 lol.
If only we lived closer .. pies from here would be on the menu frequently .
I had my usual steak and kidney pie with oh so creamy mashed potatoes and the best gravy ever.
Had a pot of tea and I got 3 1/2 cups of perfect, HOT tea from this little pot !
Then . to top it all off , I had the best hot custard tart i've ever tasted .. unbelievable !
I am not one to be generous with my reviews but this place deserved every accolade I can think of .
Cant wait for my next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabrian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great selection of pies. Great service. Nice place to stop for a snack or main meal. Enjoy the cool air of the mountains. But you can sit inside where it is nice and cosy and eat some truly yummy pies and drink great coffee.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain High Pies also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Mountain High Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing