We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 'retreat'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Retreat
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent 'retreat'”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is an excellent Hotel...
However, different to the usual 4 star properties : You do not go to this property to expect a Spa treatment, Gourmet Restaurant or room service..
What makes it special is it's beautiful location, a calm and peaceful property with discreet, friendly and helpful staff which makes you feel at home.

A real retreat I would recommend and return to without a doubt !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeaSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
26
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2010

poorly self rated, small rooms, small bed, no bath, basic fittings, minimal tv reception on old TV.
more like 2-3 star.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belilawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
It was unfortunate that this guest did not enjoy their stay and we thank them for their valuable feedback. This guest did make a formal comment with us on departure which gave us the opportunity to improve our facilities for all. They did however only comment that our television reception was playing up which was something we have since improved as detailed below.

We will touch on that further in a moment however there are a few things that need clarification.

Firstly this guest booked their room online. When they did this they booked an en-suited room with shower and a double bed. It was clearly outlined when they booked as it is with all of our website listings.

Every room we have is en-suited with shower for our guests convenience so no sharing is ever required. All rooms also have hand made timber beds that are all double beds (some rooms also have an added single bed at a small extra charge (for the convenience of guests with children or friends traveling together) as clearly advertized.
Each bed was made to match each rooms furnishings and theme (either Einstein, Mozart, Freud or Carson) as such every bed also has a different symbol somewhere on it in different locations to match that theme.

Finally after receiving a complaint from this guest on checkout regarding our television reception, we took the opportunity to improve our facilities for all our guests by having a complete overhaul of our television system.
Initially we have had the entire guesthouse rewired for digital television. We then replaced all our old televisions with brand new LED televisions. This allowed us to both improve facilities for our guests and also helped us to increase our environmental efforts and lower our carbon footprint by significantly lowering our power consumption.
During the overhaul we also installed a new 24 hour Movie Channel System with 3 new channels that show the latest release (either just DVD release or pre DVD release) movies for the convenience and entertainment of our guests.

Along with the new games room with Xbox, Arcade machine, Pool Table, Poker table and board games and the gradual changeover to LED lighting and the installation of 10 Kilowatts of solar panels The Hideaway Retreat is continuing to provide better facilities while providing a greener alternative for our environmental conscious guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I booked the room as a secret room on lastminute.com
It is in a very nice location and me and my partner really enjoyed our weekend away.

Overall we paid $140 for the room as a secret room and it stated that it was a 4.5 star hotel. Realistically it is a 3 star hotel in a nice location. The check in lady was nice and our stay was good, but advertising as a 4.5 retreat is quite misleading.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. Close to Katoomba for all your sightseeing and Luera for it's shopping. We had a wonderful time and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Spent a long weekend here with my partner who'd never been to the Blue Mountains before. Location is good, short drive to Katoomba and Echo Point but we found Wentworth Falls had far superior walks to offer.
First impressions: slightly out of town centre but not an unfeasible walking distance. Walked to town for dinner both nights. There is no path and it is not well lit. Cars drive past at a crazy speed so would not recommend it for people with prams/mobility issues but fine for us. Outside of the place is very nice, parking out the front that seemed safe enough. Inside seemed nice and cosy but there was no one at the desk, ever, the whole weekend, not even on Sunday morning check out time. There is a note on the desk asking to call for service which arrived promptly after but there were times when i just wanted to ask them a quick question or recommendation and felt that making a call was disturbing them.
Room was a nice size but needed a good and general clean/revamp, light fittings and plastic flowers by the bed pretty dusty and the shower had some serious mould issues in the grouting and in the shower door.
Spoke to the lady on reception on exit just to let her know and said she would get on her cleaner’s case. Nice to hear but that mould was not just 1 or 2 weeks worth.
Found the bed a little short – our toes were pushing up against the bed end but the mattress was very comfortable. Didn’t find it hard at all, had a great nights sleep both nights – and it was not as high as the other reviewers were making out. Didn’t hear a peep from the other rooms which is nice. Passed on the continental breakfast option and had two fabulous breakfasts from cafes in the town. The veggie breakfast from Blue Mist café was to die for. Sadi Thai was slow for dinner but well worth the wait – probably the best Thai food we’ve ever eaten.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may_and_morb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Arrived early on Friday, no problem the room was ready. did the tourist thing & took advice on dinner for the night. Off to the Blue Mist Cafe, perfect.
Friends arrived early Saturday morning and again, no problem, we sat by the pool for a while and then did more touristy things, and more advice from Ronnie - our host - for another great meal.
Sunday it rained for a while so we bought "chips & dips" and a couple of bottles of wine and Ronnie said " sit downstairs by the fire and treat the place as your home", we did. Excellent.
We bought Sourdough bread from Katoomba and needed a bread knife.
Ronnie to the rescue.
As we left late on Monday Ronnie voiced her hope for a baby girl- she is pregnant - who she will name Charlotte.
Good luck Ronnie, you made our time away memorable, we will be back again after the birth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandadCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed at Hideaway for one night, wish we could have stayed longer.
The room was very clean and comfortable and the surroundings were just breath taking.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Whispering Pines Chalet
Whispering Pines Chalet
#4 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Retreat
Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing