We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend? Not long enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Retreat
New South Wales
1 review
“Long weekend? Not long enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

I needed to escape over the long weekend and a friend of mine had recommended The Hideaway to me as a place to stay and have a good time in the blue mountains. I did have a small amount of trouble finding the hotel (I guess there is a reason it's a "Hideaway") but after a quick phone call to the friendly and helpful staff I was back on track to having a great long weekend. During my stay other reasons why it's called the Hideaway Retreat became apparent, from the apparent seclusion to the breathtaking views. As a quiet weekend away I was only expecting to spend some time on my own catching up with a good book, but what I experienced was much, much better. Upon arrival I found the conference room turned into board-game central! After checking in I was invited to sit in and watch a game that was in progress and to my surprise and delight offered a seat at the next game. Needless to say I accepted and whiled away the night into the small hours having loads of fun in awesome company. Much more than I expected from my weekend escape!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
26
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

I attended an absolutely amazing and beautiful wedding at the Hideway Retreat! The bride and groom had exclusively hired the venue for the weekend, allowing their guests to stay in the quirky boutique hotel. Each room has it's own charming decor, and an amazing view to the mountains and valley below. It was wonderful to kick back, relax, go wild and not worry about how we were all getting home that night. That made us all feel better about visiting the bar and dancing the night away to the killer swing band in the marquee set up by the pool. In the morning we woke up to a fantastic BBQ breakfast by the pool – such a treat! The searing February heat also had many of the guests taking advantage of the pool. I couldn't imagine a better way to celebrate tying the knot!! The staff were friendly, helpful, accommodating, knowledgeable about the local area and helped make this weekend truly memorable for the happy couple. The beautiful views, tranquility, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable rooms and a long list of things to do in the nearby mountain towns make the Hideaway the perfect place to escape to.. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My partner and I held our wedding reception at the Hideaway Retreat in December 2008. It's a fantastic place for wedding parties, particularly as we were able to hire the whole hotel and have our family and friends stay overnight without any other guests there. The staff were very friendly - knew what they were doing, helped coordinate stuff from local businesses and overall helped to make our reception a relaxed and organised affair. The place itself is really beautiful too - great views which made lovely backdrops for some of our wedding photos, awesome pool (we had the reception dinner out in the courtyard next to it) and comfortable rooms with interesting decor (and yummy chocolates!). There are some nice bushwalks to do around the place too including one that starts at the hotel and leads to a pretty waterfall nearby. It's also really close to the Wentworth Falls village which meant our guests could wander off to get coffee etc when they wanted.
Overall, our reception went really well and all our friends and family loved the hotel. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monotreme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

We used the Hideaway Retreat for an Offsite meeting over 2 days, our group of 18 jumped at the idea to escape from the corporate demands of Sydney as we all wanted to stay somewhere that had a chilled out and relaxed feel to it. On arrival we were greeted with freshly baked scones (which were still warm), jam and cream and tea and coffee. We'd hired the the retreat exclusively so that we had run of the place. All rooms were onsuite, and on ground level and on level 1. The decor of the rooms was fairly standard but still had a fresh and country styled touch to it. The rooms faced the swimming pool and had panaramic and never ending views of the greenery of the Blue Mountains. We had a mixture of great food for lunches and dinner and also morning and afternoon tea. Day 1 lunch was a bbq, and in the evening we had a buffet styled meal which allowed us all to try a bit of everything, it was a quality buffet and everything was served fresh. Prior to our arrival we'd requested the types of food we wanted on the menu and had also ordered our beverages alcohol and non alcoholic to be delivered so that on arrival our drinks were cold. I'd recommend the Hideaway retreat to Corporate groups wanting an escape, families or couples wanting a peaceful break or a romantic get away from the city. There's also a walking track off the section which unfortunately none of us got to test out but the options of bush walks out that way are endless. This secret little place is a beautiful place to be in. It's views are stunning and there's the options of so much to do or so little to do, totally up to you.

  • Liked — The bush
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aus_trippersydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

This is a boutique style hotel attempting to offer a ‘value added treat’; and to a certain extent it achieves it. With very much a musical and theological theme throughout this place oozes a relaxed and isolated feel. The bedroom I stayed in was very comfortable and relaxing (although a better TV would have been appreciated). The accommodation is designed in a semi-circular fashion with all rooms on two levels facing towards the beautiful valley behind it. In the centre is an adequate swimming pool (which wasn’t in use during my stay) and neat, tidy outside lounge areas within the garden surrounding it. Although not a problem for me, it did strike me that my ground floor room could be ruined by noise and a lack of privacy if the weather was scorching and the rest of the rooms were taken up with families and their delightful kiddies. So if you’re san enfant I would advise going for an upstairs room. Breakfast is a simple continental style affair in a surprisingly scruffy room which contrasted the rest of the building. Not unpleasant though. The owners clearly take a hands off approach with virtually no sign of staff unless summoned by dialling 101 on the phone (interesting and spooky!). There was very little hotel type information in the room which further enhanced the homely feel so be prepared to keep dialling good old 101 to find out breakfast, checkout times etc. Perhaps you never need to check out. It’s up to you. It’s not a hotel. It’s your place. It’s nice. Its 15 minutes to the town (which doesn’t have very much happening in it). A night here is good but long enough. Unless you really want to zombie out that is.

  • Liked — Free wifi & large, comfortable eroom
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast and no bar in the evening
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleJeanPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Like many of the people staying at this hotel, I booked to stay here with my girlfriend through a secret deal, and once again found that I saved less than $20. Still, that was a saving and it was a nice hotel.

Read the other reviews and you will get most of what you need to know about this hotel. There are a few things to add. Firstly the bed in our room was rather high off the ground. So far in fact that my girlfriend had trouble getting onto it. The room was fairly sparse I guess you could say. That I think added to the 'clean' feel of the place.

The hotel does not have a restaurant. This is not a great problem except when there are not many places in town and you have special dietary requirements.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrylFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Decided to book a "secret hotel" on lastminute.com.
This hotel was wonderfully beautiful. The first hotel or even accomodation I came accross in Australia that had proper heating vents that actaully worked! (which is lucky, we went when it was freezing and raining) Hotel is peaceful and quiet.. Helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast, although the breakfast room seemed a bit on the small side, but suitable for the number of guests i suppose this hotel would accomodate.
An all round loevly place to stay... only wish i could have gone in the summer and tested out the pool!

  • Liked — Beautiful
  • Disliked — Weather!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
6.5 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
3.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Retreat
Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing