We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hideaway Retreat
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wow... after arriving via the 'back way' we were very pleasantly surprised by this hidden treasure! What an amazing spot... we live in the central west and rarely stay in the mountains as we can usually get home in a reasonable time, but decided to make one last stay after a few days away and what a great finish to our break it was!
What a shame we only booked for one night... could have easily stayed for a few days! Maybe next time!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thanks so much! Next time you are travelling through to the city please give us a call if your looking for somewhere to rest on the way. Or even just for a cuppa, happy to find any excuse to sit down for tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days in July, and we had a great time there. Great location, close to Katoomba but also far enough to relax and chill from everything. Excellent continental breakfast with very good homemade bread! Rooms are beautiful with cable tv and good movie selection. Beds are very confy with electric blanket. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thanks for the review. The bread is a fantastic start to the day isn't it. We are now running sporatic sourdough classes when people ask sometimes so next time we can even show you how to get started with it at home yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hide away retreat June the 20th for our anniversary, the hotel was nice and clean, Damien and Ronny were very helpful, we had a great time, would definitely be back again, thank you for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yassalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just spent 2 nights over the longweekend here. Great spot tucked away in Wentworth Falls with an amazing view. Good heating in rooms along with great movie channels and wi fi. Rooms have basic furniture which is slightly old but adequate
Love the quirky bits of art everywhere. Gave the place a unique touch. Owners are warm and friendly and very accomadating. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyss1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First time buying such a groupon before. We were really happy with our stay there. Friendly welcome, beautiful view. We want to come back again!

We appreciated all that the retreat had to offer. Especially the games room on a rainy Sunday evening. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tara_Sydney_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Friendly welcome. The room was sparse but quite comfortable. I didn't care too much for the lime green walls. Mostly clean apart from the grout in the shower and the colony of little insects living there. The basin leaked at the bottom, but both basin and toilet were nice and clean. A peaceful night's sleep but the fridge (which is ancient) was quite noisy. The breakfast (included in the cost of the room) was of decent quality. We had the cooked breakfast on one of the days. This was quite nice, although I'm not too sure about the mushroom bread. Our 5 year old son loved the games room, which has a pool table in it, and an assortment of board games, mostly in poor condition with missing pieces. Ok value for money, but I think that next time we'll plan ahead and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieWonderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the retreat after booking online and finding what we thought would be a good value stay in a 4 star property. The property is self rated on wotif.com and has a number of photos that paint the retreat in a very complimentary light. Unfortunately the 4 stars and pics didn't measure up to the reality and for the price tag of $200 per night we were quite disappointed. Although the people running the show are friendly and nice enough, they appear to lack the expertise in hospitality to understand the need to pay attention to the finer details and consequently the overall feel is that of being a bit rundown, tired and in need of a little TLC. The room was basically clean apart from mould in the shower recess but nonetheless was ok. The building structure is more like that of a house and so noise travels from room to room and the floors creak and groan under foot, which must have been annoying for those on the ground floor.
With more of a hostel feel than that of a guest house or hotel, this property is better to suited to those looking for a chat in front of the fireplace with an interesting or eccentric stranger, than a couple on a romantic semi-luxurious weekend getaway.
3 stars at best but could be so much more with the right approach to the little details that matter to some of us.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the end keeps you away from most of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffro907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rest Easy Motel
#1 of 1 in Wentworth Falls
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#8 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing