We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well looked after”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Retreat
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well looked after”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just stayed last Saturday and booked a room for 3, my wife and I and mother in law. There is a lovely lobby area with an open fire which we enjoyed sitting by. The room was good, very clean and modern with comfortable beds, nice outlook from the French doors that open on to the pool area, gardens and view. All in all a cosy room. The staff went out of their way to help our quiries as we had a few questions about the blue mountains. After coming back to the hotel from eating out we arrived to the lobby and found that the staff had left a bottle of port and some glasses in front of the fire with a note asking us to help ourself, I thought this was a very nice touch. For breakfast we opted for the continental which was included in the price, for a small hotel it offers an excellent selection. Overall loved the place and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the review guys!

Its really great to see a bunch of people sitting around the fireplace getting to know each other for the first time. Its something that warms our hearts as it really makes the guesthouse/retreat atmosphere that we are trying to achieve wonderful.

Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
26
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Overall, this was a disappointing weekend away as the advertising is misleading. This is not a four star hotel, it is a hostel or a two star hotel at most.

The rooms are functional but not of a high standard and in need of renovations. The walls between the rooms are paper thin (i.e. conversations, yawning and coughing) and the included breakfast was very poor.

This accommodation is run by a young family, which lacks experience in the hotel industry. The photos are misleading and certainly do not portray the hostel-style rooms, dining facilities and games room. The "retreat" is dated and not homely.

Room Tip: Rooms appeared to be all identical - just the view of the mountains changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our Stay could not be better. We had a lovely room overlooking the Valley and the Pool. The room was large and nice and clean. Our breakfast was was nice and we enjoyed the company of the other guests during our breakfast which was good to have a conversion with other folk rather than just eating and running. The Owners were great couple and helpfuly in every other way and we wish them all the best in their endeavours of the retreat and I would not hesitate in recommending the retreat ot my friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just spent 2 nights with 2 other couples at Hideaway Retreat (HR). The accommodation was clean and comfortable with a lovely view to the mountains. HR is very secluded and quiet in a beautiful bush setting but only a 10 minute walk to the Wentworth Falls village. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating and nothing was a trouble for them. There was a very good barbeque area around the pool as well as a nice grassed area. The dining room was made available to us including use of all crockery and kitchen items. On the one afternoon it rained we made use of the games room with pool table and several board games as well as a well stocked library. A continental breakfast was also supplied which included a variety of cereals, toast and spreads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee and was more than adequate. Only a short drive to Falls Road and the starting point of several beautiful walks. A very enjoyable and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, NSW.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a nice room overlooking the valley and Blue Mountains. We enjoyed the complementary continental breakfast, which was most adequate. We had a lovely walk down to the bottom of the valley, just at the edge of the resort. It was called Water Nymphs Glen and the waterfall, water pool, picnic table and rainforest area was very pretty and unexpectedly tranquil.
Very friendly service- thank you!

Room Tip: Room 20 was nice, upstairs with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriptakerBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my Daughter. the rooms are clean and have views down the valley, quiet, standard rooms, TV is only movie channels, some nice touches with massage oil, shampoo, shaving accessories, heated towel rack. sure the carpet is a little stained, but all in all a nice clean comfortable place to visit. the bed if you are tall your feet will hang off (lol) you may have to request a larger bed. there is access to a walking track from the property, a swimming pool (although not heated). and lovely views. not your top of the mill places definitely somewhere in the middle. breakfast is simple with 3 choices of cereal, 3 choices of bread, some fruits, tea coffee juice. there is a hot breakfast but at $15 per head i think a little steep on top (chose not to). friendly staff. tariff a good value if taken through Wotif or a mystery hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the 1st floor as it is a little more private. i mentioned my daughter was staying a requeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for the review and we are really glad you had a good stay.

Just a few quick notes to help future guests.

Our televisions are energy saving 22 Inch Led TV's. They pick up all digital channels as well as a special system we have installed to add 3 latest release movie channels. These channels in other properties can charge up to $15 per movie but at The Hideaway Retreat we include them free of charge for all our guests. To change between regular TV and the movie channels you just need to select the channel list button at the top of the remote and choose the channel you prefer to watch.

We also have a small sign beside our televisions to explain how the process works and remember our friendly staff are on call 24 hours a day to help if you need it.

At current all of our beds are doubles. This is clearly advertised on all our booking channels for our guests information they need to select this option on booking. We do have plans to purchase new larger bedding in the future with our constant upgrade schedule.

At $15 for our fresh cooked hot breakfast including, bacon, eggs, sausage, fresh tomato, fresh mushrooms and baked beans it is one of the cheapest in the mountains. It is completely optional though and there for people who need that extra jump to get going in the morning.

Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A hotel that has magnificent views across the valleys of the blue mountains. We found the hotel clean, staff friendly and the breakfast excellent. It is centrally located to Leura and Katoomba (10 to 15 mins) just outside of Wentworth falls. Very quiet location with no train or outside noise at all.

Rooms are clean and warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whispering Pines Chalet
Whispering Pines Chalet
#4 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Retreat
Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing