We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a HOSTEL than hotel... 2 Star Accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hideaway Retreat
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Overall, this was a disappointing weekend away as the advertising is misleading. This is not a four star hotel, it is a hostel or a two star hotel at most.

The rooms are functional but not of a high standard and in need of renovations. The walls between the rooms are paper thin (i.e. conversations, yawning and coughing) and the included breakfast was very poor.

This accommodation is run by a young family, which lacks experience in the hotel industry. The photos are misleading and certainly do not portray the hostel-style rooms, dining facilities and games room. The "retreat" is dated and not homely.

Room Tip: Rooms appeared to be all identical - just the view of the mountains changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our Stay could not be better. We had a lovely room overlooking the Valley and the Pool. The room was large and nice and clean. Our breakfast was was nice and we enjoyed the company of the other guests during our breakfast which was good to have a conversion with other folk rather than just eating and running. The Owners were great couple and helpfuly in every other way and we wish them all the best in their endeavours of the retreat and I would not hesitate in recommending the retreat ot my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dulie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just spent 2 nights with 2 other couples at Hideaway Retreat (HR). The accommodation was clean and comfortable with a lovely view to the mountains. HR is very secluded and quiet in a beautiful bush setting but only a 10 minute walk to the Wentworth Falls village. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating and nothing was a trouble for them. There was a very good barbeque area around the pool as well as a nice grassed area. The dining room was made available to us including use of all crockery and kitchen items. On the one afternoon it rained we made use of the games room with pool table and several board games as well as a well stocked library. A continental breakfast was also supplied which included a variety of cereals, toast and spreads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee and was more than adequate. Only a short drive to Falls Road and the starting point of several beautiful walks. A very enjoyable and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a nice room overlooking the valley and Blue Mountains. We enjoyed the complementary continental breakfast, which was most adequate. We had a lovely walk down to the bottom of the valley, just at the edge of the resort. It was called Water Nymphs Glen and the waterfall, water pool, picnic table and rainforest area was very pretty and unexpectedly tranquil.
Very friendly service- thank you!

Room Tip: Room 20 was nice, upstairs with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriptakerBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my Daughter. the rooms are clean and have views down the valley, quiet, standard rooms, TV is only movie channels, some nice touches with massage oil, shampoo, shaving accessories, heated towel rack. sure the carpet is a little stained, but all in all a nice clean comfortable place to visit. the bed if you are tall your feet will hang off (lol) you may have to request a larger bed. there is access to a walking track from the property, a swimming pool (although not heated). and lovely views. not your top of the mill places definitely somewhere in the middle. breakfast is simple with 3 choices of cereal, 3 choices of bread, some fruits, tea coffee juice. there is a hot breakfast but at $15 per head i think a little steep on top (chose not to). friendly staff. tariff a good value if taken through Wotif or a mystery hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the 1st floor as it is a little more private. i mentioned my daughter was staying a requeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks for the review and we are really glad you had a good stay.

Just a few quick notes to help future guests.

Our televisions are energy saving 22 Inch Led TV's. They pick up all digital channels as well as a special system we have installed to add 3 latest release movie channels. These channels in other properties can charge up to $15 per movie but at The Hideaway Retreat we include them free of charge for all our guests. To change between regular TV and the movie channels you just need to select the channel list button at the top of the remote and choose the channel you prefer to watch.

We also have a small sign beside our televisions to explain how the process works and remember our friendly staff are on call 24 hours a day to help if you need it.

At current all of our beds are doubles. This is clearly advertised on all our booking channels for our guests information they need to select this option on booking. We do have plans to purchase new larger bedding in the future with our constant upgrade schedule.

At $15 for our fresh cooked hot breakfast including, bacon, eggs, sausage, fresh tomato, fresh mushrooms and baked beans it is one of the cheapest in the mountains. It is completely optional though and there for people who need that extra jump to get going in the morning.

Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A hotel that has magnificent views across the valleys of the blue mountains. We found the hotel clean, staff friendly and the breakfast excellent. It is centrally located to Leura and Katoomba (10 to 15 mins) just outside of Wentworth falls. Very quiet location with no train or outside noise at all.

Rooms are clean and warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

For the price ($240 including breakfast) we expected the four star rated property to be a considerable step above other options we had in the local area. Instead, the room was extremely dated:

1. Terrible bed
2. Stained carpet
3. Bath towels tattered
4. Dated room.

The extra $50 paid for the hot breakfast wasn't worth it with the eggs microwaved and canned tomato.

We won't be back and recommend the four stars advertised for this property be reduced to two until such time they can address these fundamental problems.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

At The Hideaway Retreat, although almost all of our guests are very happy with our small, friendly, family run guesthouse, we understand that occasionally you will get someone that does not enjoy their stay. We en devour to be open and honest and helpful at all times with many of our staff on site and available 24 hours a day to help any guest who is having problems during their stay.

In saying that we have no record of complaints by John W during his stay and I have tried very hard to even find a booking by him as I would like to discuss the parts of his review that are quite simply false.

Our breakfast options are some of the most affordable in the mountains. Our continental breakfast that is included free of charge with all our accommodation packages includes 3 types of cereal, 3 types of breads with half a dozen spreads, tinned apricots & peaches, dried prunes, Yogurt, fresh cut fruit (which this past weekend included watermelon, rock-melon, honeydew, pineapple, oranges, bananas, pears, kiwi fruit & mandarins,) Apple & Orange Juice, 12 different kinds of tea, plus hot chocolate, instant coffee and ground dripolated coffee. We also keep a stock of gluten free cereal, soy & skim milk on stock in case it requested by people with special dietary requirements.

As a convenience to our guests that prefer a hot option for only an extra $15 you can add a hot breakfast. The price is clearly advertised and also told to guests on check in. Also at $15 it is one of the cheapest available in the mountains. The hot option is your choice of bacon, free range eggs, beef sausage, fresh cut pan fried tomatoes, fresh cut pan fried mushrooms and baked beans. We cook the hot breakfast to order, fresh, how you like it. You can have your eggs however you prefer, with poached as standard or fried, scrambled etc. No part of the hot breakfast is cooked in the microwave and the only part to come out of a tin is the baked beans. To say otherwise just to make the review sound worse is unfathomable.

Our beds are all wood frame double beds with innerspring mattresses and microfiber mattress toppers for extra comfort. All our booking avenues clearly advertise that they are only double beds and most sites require you to choose that option. We have current plans to upgrade some rooms periodically to king beds in the future as continue to upgrade The Hideaway Retreat.

Our carpets are starting to show their age and have a few marks and stains in trouble areas however they are shampooed regularly and vacuumed daily to make sure they are very clean. We have also obtained quotes for replacing to new carpet however as a small family run business who has been constantly updating and upgrading the property over the last few years as all of our regular guests know we are not yet in the position to afford the complete change out but it is on the cards for the future after other upgrades we feel are more important to our guests comfort.

We are not star rated at all due to the poor system and bad publicity over the last few years of the ratings system, and as with previous review responses, on some sites that require it we have listed a comparison rating. It was based on 2 things. The requirements of a guesthouse under the scheme, which are different to hotels and other kinds of properties and the facilities of other properties with self ratings in the area.

The most important thing is to talk to our staff if you need anything. They are very friendly and here to help. If you say nothing then nothing can be done to help improve your stay and leaving a jaded review after that is riddled with untruths just means your paying to do damage to a business out of spite and possibly ruining your own stay.

If you are looking for a roadside motel, or grand old hotel The Hideaway Retreat is probably not for you, but, as a small, private, family run guesthouse & bush retreat on 32 acres of virgin bushland backing onto national park we (and most of our wonderful friendly guests) feel we provide a wonderful, personal, family, friendly atmosphere to escape from the rest of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wentworth Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
Silvermere Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#8 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley of the Waters B & B
Valley of the Waters B & B
#2 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rest Easy Motel
#1 of 1 in Wentworth Falls
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing