We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Retreat
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We tried our luck at Mystery Accomodation and scored with the Hideaway Retreat at Wentworth Falls. The photos dont do it justice... we were beyond impressed with the comfortable rooms, the guest amenities, the generous breakfasts, the absolute tranquility of the setting, the unbelieveable views and most importantly, the gorgeous bush walk down the canyon to the most picturesque waterfall and pool I have ever seen... Breathtaking.
A delight.
We will return
Wade Hudson

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms on the eastern wing were sundrenched in the afternoons, perfect for winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiquidMassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

what a beautiful hotel in such tranquil and scenic settings.
we had the most wonderful and relaxing time.
the rooms are modern and inviting and hospitality exceptional.
we would recomend the hidaway retreat highly!
we will definitely be and the sooner the better and for a longer stay!
5 star in my opinion :-))

Room Tip: downstairs rooms allow the feeling of more space as you have direct access to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights (anniversary) and we loved it, the staff were amazing and extremely helpful. The location and the views were amazing and close enough to town (Katoomba). I too am not sure about the 4 1/2 some website had, in my opinion it wasn't. Had expected a little better, still all in all it was a great break and I can't complain about anything. A yummy continental breakfast was included in the price. We will be back maybe during summer to take advantage of that beautiful pool!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Recently the Hideaway catered for a large (70+) multiple day conference. While not all the participants could be housed at the Hideaway alone (some had to stay in town), the catering and service from the staff was fantastic.

The rooms were as expected, a little dated but serviceable. Bathroom was clean but a little tired. Lovely location and a great walk down to the waterfall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astrophysicist_wanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night only. We loved the location and the views. But 4 stars or 4 1/2 some website had, it wasn't. Very plain rooms and decor. Had expected so much more. It was very clean though. Had a very good continental breakfast included in the price. I think too that this retreat is more suited for summer. With the nice pool outside and the beautiful bushy surroundings. We might come back then.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerstinJWoongarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked with my partner and enjoyed all the seconds. Friendly environment, quick room service, high-speed wireless internet and in a quite location. Watching valley from room at night was a great fun. Only thing is they need to add more breakfast choices. Everything else is above the average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onder k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

You can't beat the location and great service at this place, but agree with other comments - the Hideaway Retreat could benefit from some TLC, particularly investing in new carpets. Our room had carpet stains in many places and one or two of the towels were also marked. Beautiful, quiet location though and a great base for the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
954 reviews
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
4.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
422 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range: $503 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing