We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candle and Merangue”
Review of Nineteen23

Nineteen23
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $52
Cuisines: Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Those visiting Nineteen23 can expect a regularly changing, seasonally-driven array of dishes (including vegetarian and gluten free options) that showcase produce from across the Blue Mountains and NSW Central Tablelands.Chef Max McKinnon has been Soux Chef for the past three years, and is formerly of Tetsuya's, Darleys ans solitary. Degustation menus also available. Nineteen23's marble topped tables, grand fire place and art deco chandeliers bring diners into the period ambience. Once there, they can enjoy the view to the Blue Mountains World Heritage Park and the Sydney CBD through huge picture windows and framed glass doors. Open for dinner Thursday through Sunday and for lunch on Saturday and Sunday. Private rooms available for group bookings.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Candle and Merangue”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Delightful restaurant with magnificent views offering a relaxed, quiet and elegant setting.
Sunday luncheon and we opted for the seven course degustation.
Servings are shared and although we didn't get to choose, the courses we had particularly lusted after somehow magically arrived. We loved the soup, the scallops, the beef cheeks, however the hit of the day was the beetroot salad.
Staff explained each course and were attentive noticing that we were celebrating a birthday and dessert arrived unexpectedly with candle atop. A lovely touch.
The Wash rind cheese apple jelly with house-made lavosh was especially delicious and a great ending to the meal. We took coffee on on the verandah, soaked up the winter sunshine and looked back across the mountains to Sydney. Bookings are timed so if you are travelling from Sydney allow extra time to manage the slow traffic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dicey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    44
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great value degustation”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner. Went for 5 course option ($55 or $80 with matching wine). Although we liked everything we were served, we found having menu options strange - sometimes we would have preferred the option we didn't receive (and so were a little disappointed).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dinner for two at Nineteen23”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had heard about Nineteen23 and decided to go there for
dinner on 21st June. It was a most enjoyable experience - in a beautiful location with friendly prompt service. The menu is fabulous with a seven course dinner available. The chef prepared a special menu for me due to my dietary requirements. The service and value are excellent. Would definitely go there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adelonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in an old house”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We visited Nineteen23 as a couple while visiting the Blue Mountains and like fine dining experiences. We were really excited about the menu and were impressed to read that the head chef had previously worked at the Emirates Wolgan Valley and the chef de partie had previously worked at Tetsuyas in Sydney.

We had a little trouble finding the car park in the dark and may have parked in someone's driveway but eventually found the entrance to a beautiful old house that has been set up as the restaurant.

We opted for the 5 course menu as opposed to the 7 course menu. Something a little different that we really liked was that for some courses the chef would decide which meal you would be having from two choices. We found that ours had been picked expertly and flowed well from each other. We also liked being able to share those courses to divide out the food when we were getting quite full.

Amazing food and a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_A_C_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Different Experience”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food was fabulous, as was the ambience. It was different in that you were given different choices on the menu, but the choice was determined by the chef so there really was no choice apart from how many courses you wanted - 5 or 7 for a set price.
All plates were beautifully presented but only came as a sharing plate. Not sure how a single diner would get on?
Also, the restaurant was very over heated the night we were there -so take layers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdport2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nineteen23 also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Nineteen23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing