We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, lovely environment & atmosphere, excellent service and very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nineteen23

Nineteen23
Reserve with
Nineteen23 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $49
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Those visiting Nineteen23 can expect a regularly changing, seasonally-driven array of dishes (including vegetarian and gluten free options) that showcase produce from across the Blue Mountains and NSW Central Tablelands.Chef Max McKinnon has been Soux Chef for the past three years, and is formerly of Tetsuya's, Darleys ans solitary. Degustation menus also available. Nineteen23's marble topped tables, grand fire place and art deco chandeliers bring diners into the period ambience. Once there, they can enjoy the view to the Blue Mountains World Heritage Park and the Sydney CBD through huge picture windows and framed glass doors. Open for dinner Thursday through Sunday and for lunch on Saturday and Sunday. Private rooms available for group bookings.
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, lovely environment & atmosphere, excellent service and very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I eat at Nineteen23 as often as I can. It is a lovely option in the upper mountains. I'm a fan of the degustation approach in the first place, and with these beautiful flavours and progressions from one experience to another, I'm in heaven. Unlike some degustation menus, this is not trying too hard to be novel; it is a lovely mix of traditional and contemporary. Service is friendly and quietly sophisticated and part of what I enjoy. Finally, I am not sure how they can do it for the price - it's very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    43
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Balanced and Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

A foodie girlfriend from Melbourne accompanied me on a chilly spring Sunday evening to Silvermere's restaurant. While lacking somewhat in ambience (placement perhaps of a central long table with a large floral arrangement/ bowl of fruit etc., to break the room of tables), what followed with the food offered was spectacular!
7 courses of perfectly balanced flavours, our picks being the baby beet root with Jannei goat's curd and a sublime confit pork belly, and finishing with the most delicious tongue tingling wattle seed pavlova with passionfruit ice cream. I can't wait to return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janni821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic location and even better food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Booked for my partner and I at Dimmi 24hrs in advance for dinner. The location was at a scenic mountain top lodge with a beautiful garden and veggie patch! The service was smooth, not rushed but not too long to wait in between courses and the degustation was amazing for its price and location! We both highly reccomend it for couples but also great for families and friends. The portions were perfectly sized leaving us both satisfied.

They provide seasonal food so the menu is never the same and always fresh. After experiencing the restaurant we would definitely consider lodging there one day.

7 course degustation for $65 per person

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had the seven course degustation menu for $65 per person, the only other choice on the menu was 5 course menu at $50.

The service was great, the food was above average, but not spectacular, and all the portions were very, very small. May have been worth it to get the accompanying wines, but we were somewhat tired and sleepy after a very long day.

The whole experience took almost three hours, just so you can plan accordingly.

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant but underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The setting is a old estate house with a pleasant ambience. Service staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant serves a degustation menu only without allowing for choice. Overall we had an enjoyable evening with dishes that were perfectly palatable and well presented. However, we felt that dishes lacked in the level of flavour, style and surprise that an expensive degustation meal should offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nineteen23 also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Nineteen23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing