We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accommodation. Great location with a touch of Fawlty towers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rest Easy Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rest Easy Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wentworth Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap accommodation. Great location with a touch of Fawlty towers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Shopper docket value! $ 796 for two, for 7 nights including 5 nights of dinners and breakfasts. Location perfect for sightseeing. Noisy highway, as with most places on the main road. Not a Hotel, but a Motel, but great facilities for a motel. Don't expect fancy. As soon as you walk in you feel like you have gone back in time.... To Fawlty towers!! Same vintage and staff! A lovely Sybill to greet you- very welcoming and informative. The building is old and a little run down, feels like a boarding house/bed and breakfast, with shared large lounge games room and dining room (not restaurant). Reception only open business hours. Meals served at allocated times only in the dining room. Felt really weird sitting there with everyone the first night. Soon got used to it, and made friends! The meals took us back 40 years, is my grandmother out there making them??? Pleasant and very filling if you think of a home cooked meal, not restaurant quality. 3 courses though, so won't complain! Breakfasts are yummy - best sausages ever! Nice selection. To top it off, 'Manuel' came out of the kitchen saying, "Cie cie"... Looking very much like Manuel anyway! Turns out he is Italian not Spanish. Fitted the picture though! All the guests seemed to agree with the likeness to Fawlty towers and we had quite a ball! Bottom line, cheap accommodation, old building, old fashioned meals - but excellent value!! We even had electric blankets on the beds, and all the linen was clean and rooms tidy - and there was a small view of the mountains with a balcony. For a Motel they are giving you a great deal and fantastic experience! Want something classy? Go up the road and pay $100 more!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stocksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have joined trip advisor today to warn fellow travellers that intend to stay at the Rest Easy motel, before they make the same mistake that we made.

A few weeks ago we took advantage of a so called half price deal offered by wotif.com to spend two nights at the Rest Easy Motel as we wanted to spend a couple of days as a couple, enjoying the wonderful Blue Mountains without having to break the bank.

We paid $100 a night including breakfast for a Saturday / Sunday night stay, which sounded like a fair price especially including breakfast. We did our due diligence and checked their website (Which was vague in its description of its facilities, dining and room descriptions) and we thought that at that price it seemed like a decent deal.

WE WERE SO WRONG.

On arrival we were immediately alarmed with the lack of maintenance of the building and the surrounding grounds but even more concerned with its direct frontage onto the very busy Great Western Highway.

Check in was better than expected largely due to a very friendly and helpful female front desk staff member.

It is a shame that this is where the "CHARM" disappeared. We were allocated a ground floor highway facing room that had not been redecorated for at least a decade. Although clean, it was cold, uninviting and ancient.

No television remote, some channels could not be received on the ancient television set, unreliable shower and a door that does not automatically lock when closed. Safety is a major issue here with old fashioned key door locks and no deadlocks or chains on the door.

The common areas of the hotel were even more dated with ripped carpet mats in the hallways and dated wall coverings and fittings. Our room was extremely noisy from both the trucks passing by our window and the rowdy guests in the hallways & other rooms. Obviously no noise insulation was used in the 1950's.

Please remember that this place charges $89.00 per person per night, that equates to $178 per couple per night for your romantic getaway, so we were hoping that our breakfast was worth at least $74.00 each as this is only a $50 night hotel at best.

Not surprisingly, we were extremely disappointed. We were greeted in the morning but a hurried Greek man that was obviously the cook (NOTE: NOT CHEF) that could not speak english who pointed to a table.

We found our way the buffet and to say it was the worst breakfast buffet ever would be an understatement. Greasy eggs, the cheapest nastiest sausages ever cut into thirds, pretend bacon, canned baked beans and poorly cooked tomatoes swam in fat in a luke warm warmer that was occasionally topped up by our non english speaking cook. Coffee is no brand instant variety that is obtained from a tub, there is no skim milk available if you are health conscious and no waiter / waitress service.

They charge $18 for this crap if it is not included in your package. Even if they charged $5, this mess is not worth any money and should be avoided at all costs.

Their web site boasts " the lounge is warmed by a large slow combustion wood heater, and our games room is part of the recreation lounge area and provides for family entertainment.

What they don't say is that these dingy, run down areas will not allow you to bring in your own drinks in unless you pay a cover charge of $15 per wine bottle and $5.00 per beer if you do not buy your drinks from their horrible bar.

There are NO OTHR FACILITIES IN THIS HOTEL. To hold there guests to ransom to spend even more money at their hotel is shameful and is mostly why only one person (with no drinks in hand) spend the night in the lounge on a Saturday night watching the rugby league finals. A pitiful turn out but reflective of the this hotels policy, upkeep and service to their guests.

We are not saying not to stay at this motel, but be warned that the prices are not reflective of what you will receive. This is a 2 star motel with NO facilities, noisy rooms and really bad food. If they were charging $50 per room and you only needed a place just to sleep in a night it might be fine, but this is no romantic getaway.

There is nothing appealing about this hotel and there are so many other great options in this beautiful part of the world. I hope this review helps other travellers that receive so called great deals from Wotsif.com and other resellers.

Room Tip: Sleep somewhere more decent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank aussiejohn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I dont know about these other reviews but i found the place very suitable for the price.I suppose if you want 5 star motel you go somewhere else and pay triple the amount and that will cut into your spending money.I found the beds clean and confortable and the heating was sufficient.The staff were great and helpfull and the cook was one you would love to meet.Next time i go i hope he is still there.........Best Wishes From EDDIE

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Central_Coast255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
779 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have only submitted one negative review and this is it. This is an awful hotel. We booked the pllace only because we couldn't get a single night's accom. elsewhere in the region.

We knew we'd made a mistake as soon as we drove into the carpark.

The building is like an old converted hospital but even less welcoming. And the reception is straight out of a Hitchcock movie... you are even asked to 'sign the register'. There's a stale smell which permeates throughout the place - and I think it comes from the very unwelcoming restaurant, which we didn't dare try. Nor did anyone else by the way!

In fairness I must say the rooms are reasonably presented but dark and extremely noisy - not surprising given they are adjacent to and above the Western Highway - and I can confirm that the trucks run all night.

Reception is only manned until early evening which means we couldn't do anything about the group of revellers who arrived at about 1.00am and partied on until after 3.00am seemingly outside our door, but in fact in the 'guests lounge' up the hallway. By the way, we received zero sympathy when we mentioned this on check out!

This is a truly an awful place which I note is for sale and planned demolishment. That says it all.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Regretted booking this when we entered the motel. The girl at the reception was nice enough but walking through those hallways reminded me of an institutional building, like a hospital or so. The room itself was sort of ok, the bed was a very large king, but there was nothing warm or friendly about the decor and there weren't even pictures on the cold mint coloured walls. The evenings and nights get very cold in the Blue Mountains but the tiny electric radiator didn't warm the room at all as the ceilings were so high. In any case it certainly didn't reach the chilling old-fashioned bathroom. There were long black hairs on the bathroom floor which really made me gag! They got between my toes when I stepped out of the shower! Yuck yuck yuck! Why can't the floor be vacumed? There is roadwork going on outside and they should update this place as well. We didn't bother having breakfast or dinner because the times were not to our liking. Breakfast is until 9.00 at the last! Dinnertime was also only geared towards the elderly.
I cannot recommend this to anyone, not even for one night. Found the price -(140 A$) per night, no breakfast - very steep.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitWolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We found that we could book a room online with a company ( www.Wotif.com) and decided to book a room for two days. When we arrived we found the weather was terrible. It was pouring with rain and the fog was so thick you could not see anything. As a result we decided to call it quits after one day and asked for a refund on the second day. They were not at all helpful. They charged us for the two days.

Under the circumstances we felt unfairly treated. This would never happen in a US hotel. You can show up, but if for any reason you decide not to stay after the first night and you give them notice they will not charge you for extra days unless there is an explicit minimum stay.

The motel is dated and a bit noisy but ok for a night. I just would not book more than one night in advance in case you have a similar experience to us.

One good thing though...We had an outstanding meal at Silks Bistro in Luera. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semme001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

we went to blue mountain on the weekend of labor day public holiday and most of the accommodation in katoomba area was fully booked.
wentworth falls area is not too far from katoomba and leura..so we decided to stay here.

location:
if you are coming from sydney, hotel is on the right hand side, you can see the big sign from the road, however at night, quite hard to find.

customer service:
the lady on the reception area was very welcoming, nice and friendly.

room:
room was quite spacious, it has all the basic amenities like tv, kettle, cups, tea bags, soap, towels. there is no central heating, however they provide oil based heater and electric blanket which was nice.
room and the bathroom was clean, although a bit dated.
unfortunately, the wall was thin, we can hear all the conversation on the room next door.

all in all...its not bad for one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelnkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#8 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpine Motor Inn
4.3 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest Easy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Easy Motel

Property: Rest Easy Motel
Address: Old Bathurst Road, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wentworth Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rest Easy Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rest Easy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Easy Motel Blue Mountains/Wentworth Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing