We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place, but thousands do...”
Review of Conservation Hut

Conservation Hut
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
abitsmith
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place, but thousands do...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Con Hut has a really good menu and not bad coffee, but it does get very, very crowded on sunny, good bushwalking days, which can push the waiting times up. The staff is always willing, but not always very experienced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank abitsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    114
    65
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have been to the Hut several times over the last 10 years or so and left happy on those occasions but this last was a dissapointment and from other reviews i sense something of a theme arising. We ordered two Devonshire teas (at 2pm no less) and they had already started to run out so we had 1.5 teas as only 3 scones left. A full Devonshire tea was $15.50 so expected to be of high standard but the cream was squirted from a can and the jam wasn't great quality either. Not over impressed. Coffee wasn't made great either although I am familiar with the brand and know it can be signifantly better - perhaps some barrister skills need updating? We were there at a moderately busy time on a public holiday but staff seemed flustered although we didn't have to wait long, given no cooking of our order required. However running out of food shouldn't be an excuse at these prices and knowing it would be a busy day. Other items on menu also seemed a bit over priced. Would probably go back as worth it for the view, but would be selective on what I order. I think it's time for the Hut to review it's offering as perhaps not as good as it was when I first started
Visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warriewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful View but Poor Refreshments”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This cafe is magnificently sited. However, we were very disappointed with our afternoon tea. The most expensive mocha and 'hot' chocolate we have ever had that would have been worth it if they had been good. However, both were lukewarm and very average taste. We shall not return unfortunately.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith NSW
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great View - Average Food and Service”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The prices certainly match the view but the food and service were very disappointing. It is very busy and there are great bush walking tracks around and people call in to replenish after their walk - or like we did just call in to take in the view. Parking can be difficult and if you dont score a spot in the parking lot there can be quite a walk.
It was just on lunch time when we arrived - busy but not flat out. After being seated we had to ask for the menu and were not shown the blackboard menu. Water was not brought to the table (some tables had bottles) and our coffee was served a good fifteen minutes before the food. I had devonshire tea (which was on the lunch menu) and was informed they had run out of scones and there was only one left. To add insult to injury the cream was the froth out of the spray can. Not what you expect for the prices you pay. My husband had a club sandwich. It was stacked so high that it had to be dismantled to be eaten. What is it with restaurants that think bigger must be better!!! I had been previously for morning tea and enjoyed it but wont be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
173 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good home made food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The food here is good and I understand most of it is made on the premesis. On a cool day you often get the bonus of a real log fire and you can bring your own bottle if you wish and pay a corkage charge. The menu is varied and its a nice informal place to eat, this is not a resturant in the usual sense of the word, but you can make advanced reservations and on summer days and weekends this is often advised.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plymouthtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conservation Hut also viewed

Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Conservation Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing