We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hidden get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quail's Covey Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hartville B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a unique B&B that is nestled next to the Quail Hollow state park. Charlie is a host that God has given the gift of hospitality. She is a fine chef and her food was amazing. My wife and I really enjoyed speaking with Charlie and learing how this wonderful B&B was birthed. The craftmanship of the home was uniquely done by John and he is very creative with construction. My wife and I were in need of get away/birthday celebration. We will keep this place in mind for future get away stays of rest and relaxtion. Thank you John and Charlie! We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Dogwood suite is great for couples looking to relaxe spend some quality time together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

In the telling of the story of the birth of Jesus, the innkeeper is sometimes incorrectly portrayed as a villain. The person who stuck them in the stable. In actuality, Mary and Joseph arrive in crisis, no reservation, at the worst time of the year because of the census. The innkeeper had no star to guide them like the wise men did. No angel sang to them about the child telling them to take special care of this guest. The innkeeper just helped, using their God-given skills of hospitality to care for weary travelers. Charlotte, we cannot express how grateful we are that you took in two mourners, without reservation, at the busiest time of the year. You have nurtured us inside and out. The fact that we had such better accommodations than Jesus just adds to the wonder of all you have provided to us. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I traveled through Ohio last summer during the intense heat wave, but that did not interfere in any way with the relaxing, hospitable environment of the Quail's Covey B&B. You will be extremely well fed and are a stone's throw from a beautiful state park; it is adjacent to the family's property. Kent State, shopping, and scenic areas are all nearby. I loved it there and wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The master suite with large bath is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethH578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow! We were delighted with our stay. We've only been to a couple of bed and breakfasts in our seven years, so we don't have a lot to compare, but we have absolutely no complaints except that our stay wasn't long enough!!!
We stayed in the Dogwood suite and loved it! Charlie welcomed us in, treated us to some of her home-made pepper jelly and cream cheese with crackers and some fresh iced tea. This may sound small to you, but I have celiac disease (a gluten allergy, so I can't have regular baked goods, anything with flour, etc.), and the crackers she had for me tasted like a real cracker!!!
We stepped out for dinner, but next year we'll most likely ask her for dinner-she is an excellent cook and the portions are very generous (we had to doggybag our breakfast)!!!
When we came back, we were able to meet John and enjoyed a quick visit with the both of them before disappearing back up in our suite. The room is huge, clean, fresh and comfortable. The Jacuzzi is lovely and large with a skylight right above-if it wasn't cloudy out, we could have relaxed under the stars.
Hot, delicious apple dumplings and ice cream (one regular and one gluten free for me) waited outside our door along with a coffee and tea.
Fresh squeezed juice, and fresh out of the oven scones (again, one regular and one gluten free) came as incentive to wake up and get out of such a comfy bed. We enjoyed this and some more tea and coffee while we watched the swans on the pond, the deer, and the covey of quail out on the front lawn. Breakfast was a continuation of scrumptious and hugely generous servings and God's beauty-we ate outside watching the hummingbirds take their breakfast, and listened to the birds out towards the State Park.
The privacy and upkeep of Quail's Covey is like a 5 star hotel. The hospitality and friendliness of John and Charlie makes you feel at ease, as if you were home-but living the life of luxury!!!
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: we couldn't have been happier than we were with the Dogwood Suite-we didn't hear a thing, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This review is for men who want to surprise their wife with a beautiful, charming and warm Bed and Breakfast. If you want to wrap yourselves in comfort, peacefulness, beauty and yummy food, Quail's Covey is the place to visit! The hostess, Charlie and her husband, John, will greet you and treat you like royalty! They have the special gift of hospitality. The king bed in the Dogwood Suite was extremely comfortable. There is an alcove off the master suite that leads to an outside private balcony where you can enjoy that first cup of coffee or tea and enjoy the sounds of nature. You will find fresh coffee/tea sitting outside your door in the morning. The bathroom is spacious with two sinks, jacuzzi tub and separate shower. There is no better breakfast to be found than what Charlie will serve you in their Sun Room. My husband and I have been to Quail's 3 times and you can believe what all the reviewers have already said. We have stayed at many upscale hotels, some along the Pacific Ocean; none can hold a candle to this B & B. Even though this review was written with men in mind, Quail's Covey is for everyone...not just couples! It does provide a romantic place for a week-end getaway!

Room Tip: The Dogwood Suite is the largest and best room but the other two bedrooms are also beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenK518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

One year ago my wife and I were married on the Monterey Coast. As our
anniversary came close we were looking forward to what we would do or where
we would go. Since we are are not youngsters we have experienced many places
that offered "plush and pampering" services. While doing my research on the
internet I found Quail's Covey Bed and Breakfast. From our excited approach
to our sad departure we assumed the status of royalty. Never before have we
been so well cared for, so well fed, so well treated as we were at your
beautiful facility. We thank you for all of the beauty both inside and
outside, you are fantastic people and are Masters at what you do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A hidden gem tucked away among the surviving farms and expanding suburban developments in northeastern Ohio, Quail's Covey is well worth seeking and is so much more difficult to leave (or to erase from happy memories) than it is to find. The physical facilities are topmost quality--designed as a home for a large family and later transformed into a B&B. The setting enables casual walkers, hikers, mountain bikers, and other exercise enthusiasts to balance their intake of extraordinarily delicious and healthful foods with calorie-burning since it adjoins a very large natural reserve that has extensive trails. The inn-keepers are far more like the inspiring grandparents you believe you should have had than hoteliers. Although we would much prefer to keep this wonderful place a secret, the truth ought to come out. It is without a doubt the best place for retreat, renewal, or to serve as a base-camp for local exploring that you could imagine. The food is superb, the folks friendly but respectful of your privacy, the beds super clean and firmly comfortable, and the setting serenely quiet. In visits to four continents, we have never found any place better than this one. It tops any top-ten list we can imagine!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bokononer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quail's Covey Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail's Covey Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3631 Swamp St NE, Hartville, OH 44632-9364
Location: United States > Ohio > Hartville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hartville
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the country, down a tree lined lane, Quail's Covey is waiting for you. The Tudor style house sits at the edge of Quail Hollow State Park where you can enjoy hiking & biking. Quail's Covey has its own bass filled lake, numerous gardens, a waterfall, and a Koi pond. The spacious suites/bedrooms with their woodland themes have Jacuzzi tubs and private decks. Enjoy Charlotte's homemade apple dumplings and her scrumptious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quail's Covey Bed & Breakfast Hartville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing