We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven for the Weary Traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tenterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at The Henry Parkes with a group of friends recently and found the accommodation and dining to be a cut above the usual country motel. The de-luxe spa room which has been recently refurbished is light, spacious and comfortable with attractive decor. The room is generous enough in size to afford a basic kitchenette area with with microwave and sitting area. The bathroom has laundry facilities discretely tucked away out of sight but a definite plus for travellers.
Our other friends stayed at the cottage which accommodates a large group comfortably and is a trip back to yesteryear with its more traditional furnishings and style.
The dining room has a comfortable ambience and tempting menu and the food was delicious. Altogether a haven for the weary traveller.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Aussiescots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have previously reviewed this motel in October 2011 and found it an excellent place to stay. I again stayed at this property in August 2012, this time in the spa room which, although $170 a night, was excellent. The block in which the spa room is located is newer than the one nearer the highway and therefore has more up to date decor. The spa room is provided with a small kitchen area, including sink and microwave, as well as a washing machine and clothes dryer. This would be ideal for someone staying in Tenterfield for a lengthy period. The spa room is at the rear of the property - away from any truck noise. The reverse cycle airconditioning, although a little noisy, heated the large room - much appreciated on a cold New England night.

The restaurant is open seven nights a week - not so common for regional motel restaurants which are often closed on a Sunday night. I had a well-cooked chicken main course and there was a comprehensive range of desserts available. Breakfast included fresh fruit, not out of a tin, which is common at many motels, including 3.5 star rating properties. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would again recommend this property for anyone visiting or passing through Tenterfield.

Room Tip: The spa room is in a small block at the rear of the property - away from the truck noise on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzjohnBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Spent long weekend in June with 5 other couples in the newly refurbished king rooms. They are very roomy as is the bathroom. Thick white towels and a shower in spa bath. Only complaint is hot water ran out after filling bath each time and toilet paper very ordinary. Dinner in restaurant absolutely beautiful. Good facilities for self catering too. Would definitely stay again but only the newer rooms away from highway.

Room Tip: Newer rooms up the back much bigger quieter and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraftonNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed overnight in Tenterfield and found the motel to be clean, comfortable and well-equipped apart from not having any drinking glasses in the room. The room was quiet although alongside the highway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This motel is on the highway like most are in the pretty tablelands town of Tenterfield but we didn't find highway noise a problem.
The rooms are good sized, clean, well furnished and, above all, comfortable. The layout and furnishings - lounge, dining setting, fridge, desk, etc. - mean the room is great for an overnight stay and would be fine for an extended stay should you wish to take in all Tenterfield and its surrounds has to offer.
The bathrooms are big, clean and well set out.
A bonus for us was the bar and restaurant at this motel. We enjoyed drinks and a great meal here which was appreciated rather than having to walk further afield.
The hosts were friendly and all up I'd thoroughly recommend the Henry Parkes Motel at Tenterfield.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed at this motel a few months ago. Lovely owners who are obviously proud of their motel and are pleasant. OK so the motel is old and will definately need a re-fit soon to get it up to current motel standards. A few bits of advice to the lovely owners:- 1. Check your cleaning staff to ensure they are doing their job correctly. Whilst my room APPEARED to be clean by looking at it, when I walked from the bedroom into the shower with damp feet and got into the shower I was stunned to see really dark brown dirt coming off my feet in the wet shower (looked like I had been walking barefoot in a cow paddock) so the carpet was actually FILTHY. 2. Upon checking out the young girl tried to hit me up for drinks that she said I had consumed from the mini bar (mini bar? there was no mini bar) and I had to stand my ground. The same girl (not the owners but appeared to be a casual) also tried to say I had not paid for the room (It was booked and paid for by the company I was working for prior to arrival). Check out my other Trip advisor reviews, I am usually generous as I appreciate how hard it is to run a motel etc and please take these as constructive comments. (I did not get time to personally tell the owners at the time. I do wish them all the best.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep try to get a room away from the main road which passes right outside the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenthere088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Have been doing a lap of Oz again and stayed here for the first time. Ordered room service and the wife and myself had the best meal we have had in the nearly three months of motels and restaurants on the road. Apparently owners have just employed a new chef and what a chef. Could of eaten my eye fillet with spoons because it just fell apart and no cutting was required, it came with my choice of a baked spud with sour cream and bacon chips (other option is chips if you don't want the spud) and salad (or vegies). The baked potato took me back in time to Darwin's famous spud man in the early nineties it was that good. Had to hold myself back a bit saying how nice the meal was and how long it has been since we have tasted food so good so many times to the wife in case she took it personally.
Owners nice and friendly, rooms were very clean with fresh paint and not too old. Bathroom clean and refurbished with good constant hot water and a decent shower head. Rooms have split aircons that are newish,quiet and clean.
They are currently refurbishing the spa rooms to as new. Easy parking outside your room and all are ground level. Only reason sleep quality marked as average because mattress was a bit hard for my broken back.
Would certainly go back and stay longer to go through the menu. Hard to find good food on the road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenterfield hotels
0.3 mi away
The Commercial Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jumbuck Motor Inn
Jumbuck Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Tenterfield
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motor Inn
Settlers Motor Inn
#6 of 8 in Tenterfield
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tenterfield Tavern
Tenterfield Tavern
#7 of 8 in Tenterfield
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peter Allen Motor Inn
Peter Allen Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tenterfield
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Golfers Inn
The Golfers Inn
#5 of 8 in Tenterfield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield

Address: 144 Rouse St, Tenterfield, New South Wales 2372, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tenterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tenterfield
Price Range: $94 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Henry Parkes. Stay at this charming Tenterfield motel which sits astride the Great Dividing Range and is close to national parks, vineyards, lakes, waterfalls, picturesque scenery including famous Bald Rock and one of the most picturesque golf courses in the state. Discover the beautiful heritage of this Australian town and enjoy local activities. Best Western The Henry Parkes offers air conditioned spacious rooms equipped with all the comforts of home including reverse cycle air conditioning, TV, mini bar, high speed Internet access, in-room movies and minibar. Deluxe rooms include spa bath, kitchenette and laundry facilities. All rooms are Non-smoking. Handicap accessible room is also available. Hotel facilities include large lounge bar, on-site restaurant "Henry's on Rouse", warm weather alfresco dining under the stars and a conference room for meetings and events. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tenterfield, make a reservation at this Tenterfield motel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tenterfield
Tenterfield Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing