We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and rewarding”
Review of Willow Tree Cafe

Willow Tree Cafe
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Tenterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxing and rewarding”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friend and I found a sunny spot on the rear verandah on this crisp autumn day in the middle of the week - very pleasant. The servings of soup were generous and flavoursome. The service was pleasant and prompt. Other patrons relaxed at tables, sipping coffee and reading newspapers. We would visit again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    55
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

After walking down the main street deciced to visit the Willow Tree Cafe. We arrived at 2pm and was told the kitchen had closed. This was annoying after driving all day. Asked for 2 coffees which took 25 minutes to serve. Found staff distracted and not friendly. Left thinking we would visit somewhere different on our return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Bright and friendly”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Easy to find this small cafe on the main street of Tenterfield if you are passing through. The holiday menu on offer included toasted and fresh sandiches, pancakes, salads and a selection of tempting home made cakes - a good range from snacks to light meals. Very busy when we dropped in for lunch but the meals were served quite quickly.

Tables are available on the street as well as inside and on the rear deck. Staff were friendly and the coffee was decent. The decor was simple but fresh and appealing. Definitely a place to stop if you are travelling this way.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“friendly good coffee”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Friendly staff, outdoor area great for breakfast - but not in winter!
yummy muffins

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff - just turn down the music !”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have visited the Willow Tree cafe several times while travelling through Tenterfield. The food is always well cooked and presented and the service good. This cafe serves gluten free food - something that cannot be said for some restaurants in country towns. Although I am not a coeliac I have friends who are and they appreciate a restaurant that advertises GF food. The back deck is a great place for lunch on a lovely, sunny day. The only little quibble I had during my last visit was the volume of the music - made it a bit hard if someone wanted to converse. I mentioned this to the chef and she implied that the younger staff like their music. This is a trait of the hospitatlity industry - the background music is for the satff - but what about the customers?

But, other than that it is always a good place to stop off while on the road.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzjohnBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Tenterfield, New South Wales
Tenterfield, New South Wales
 
Tenterfield, New South Wales
 

Been to Willow Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing