We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and quiet, just what was needed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oberon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Trout Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy and quiet, just what was needed”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found this accommodation very suitable. It was clean, warm, and not too noisy despite being on the main street of Oberon (albeit away from the main shopping strip) and despite being school holidays with several families staying there also.
There was some plumbing noise a few times but it didn't bother us when we were trying to sleep. The bed and pillows were comfortable so over all we had a very restful getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrUrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The first time we stayed at the Big Trout ( unfortunate name ) was about 15 years ago and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this 3 star hotel. We have since stayed there every time we go down to the Jenolan Caves area.

Our latest trip was a week ago when we took a family member to Jenolan Caves for her first visit there. We booked a family room which had 2 seperate sleeping areas. The room was very clean and bright with a lovely view of of the grazing land behind the motel.We sat and watched the cattle grazzing for a while.

The motel is starting to show signs of age and could possibly do with a couple of upgrades here and there but it is still a very good value for money place to stay in the beautifull Oberon region and we will continue to stay there when ever we head down to that area in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were booked into the Highlands Motor Inn originally for our stay in Oberon. We drove from Sydney on a Friday night with 2 young children and arrived in Oberon at just before 9pm to find that Highlands Motor Inn was completely closed for the night. After numerous attempts to get in touch with the owners we realised we had to find somewhere to stay that night. That's when The Big Trout came to our rescue. They were just about to close but stayed open to let us in. The room was clean and comfortable and warm, the beds were comfortable and the people were lovely. The view from our 2 bedroom spa room was lovely too. The restaurant was convenient and the food was fine. And to top it all off they gave us a discount. We were very happy and will stay at The Big Trout again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scjr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This motel is clean, neat and tidy. Has a good Chinese Restaurant on the premises that is reasonably priced.

It was a cold night and the oil heater automatically came on, and stayed on all night. Good size room had a queen and single bed.

Room deoderant was a little overpowering, but we opened the window and the door and got rid of most of the "flowery" deoderant smell.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberon
1.0 mi away
Highlands Motor Inn
Highlands Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Oberon
38 reviews
24.8 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.3 mi away
Motel Titania Oberon
Motel Titania Oberon
#1 of 3 in Oberon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Jenolan Caves House
Jenolan Caves House
#1 of 1 in Jenolan Caves
1,357 reviews
24.6 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
400 reviews
24.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trout Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trout Motor Inn

Property: Big Trout Motor Inn
Address: Oberon St, Oberon, New South Wales 2787, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Oberon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Trout Motor Inn is situated in the main street of Oberon and has a 3 1/2 star rating with all 33 rooms on the ground floor. All rooms have central heating, tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, telephone and electric blankets. The motel also boasts a Licensed Restaurant with popular Chinese and Australian cuisine and room service is available on request. The rooms are light and spacious with the standard rooms consisting of a queen and single bed. Family rooms all have a queen and three singles. There are also 2 bedroom spa rooms which have two queens and one single in them.The motel caters to coach groups, with Dinner Bed and Breakfast packages, and also day tour packages with guide. Oberon is 2.5 hours from Sydney and is 1150 meters above sea level. Just 29km from Oberon, you can explore the scenic wonders of Jenolan Caves. These adjoin the World Heritage listed Kanangra Boyd National Park, with its spectacular wilderness areas and the majestic Kanangra Walls.Oberon is known for its trout fishing, mushrooming and fossicking, and most recently the magnificent Mayfield Gardens. One of the largest privately owned cool climate gardens, with 160 acres of awe inspiring beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Trout Motor Inn Oberon, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing