We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good for a night”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a while ago for my birthday and we got a huge room with spa. The room seemed too big with the small amount of furniture in it. The tv is really old and small. The spa was really nice but bathroom like the bedroom was to big in terms of the utilities being too small. The bed was provided with a heated blanket which was good. Carpet and furniture are really old. Breakfast was served fresh and was good. Didnt really explore the rest of the place but this place reminded me of a sort of dorm in a way as everyone is really chilled in the living rooms and tea rooms.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marnz_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    13
    11
    20
See reviews for
31
63
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the Victoria & Albert Guesthouse over the June long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The building is warm and inviting and oozes old-world charm.
There are imperfections that go with any old building in need of a bit of TLC, but the warmth and charm of the building and the owners, for us, outweighed any imperfections.

We found the staff more than accommodating, going to some length to help us out with small details. The biggest surprise was the restaurant. Three of us voted the Scotch fillet as one of the best we have had. Thus we ate there again on Sunday night and this time enjoyed pre dinner drinks around the fire playing chess and backgammon before enjoying our second meal. Not quite as good as the first but still, very enjoyable.

Look hard enough and you will find fault but when you get 2 nights for a family of 5 on the long weekend for just $440 AND you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, you have to say that the V&A represents excellent value, especially for families and groups.

A charming guesthouse in my favourite corner of the Blue Mountains.

PS: The walk down to Sunset rock to watch the last rays of the sun disappear behind the escarpment was a favorite moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allens_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This guest house is a beautiful old homestead with lots of character, but not run down. Our room was spacious, cosy and clean, with a heater and electric blanket. The ensuite was massive, also very clean and all in working order, the shower was nice and hot and the hot water didn't take long to come through.

All the staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was a little bit slow coming from the kitchen, but definitely worth the wait - the food here is just exquisite! They also do a free hot breakfast on weekends as well as the continental breakfast.

I recommend paying the little bit extra for a room with an ensuite as I had a peak at the shared bathrooms and showers and they were a bit dark and cramped and not as nice as our big, spacious ensuite.

We will definitely be back here again, this guesthouse is very reasonably priced, great value for money and in a nice quiet location but still only a 20 minute drive from the main tourist attractions and Katoomba.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying a little extra for the rooms with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_merrett91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Unexpectedly we found ourselves in Mount Victoria on a Saturday night with no bed for the night! The guest house luckily had a small room still available with a cooked breakfast all for $70 , unbelievable . The room was quaint with an ensuite and we were cosy as possums.
A wonderful night and breakfast bonus.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

1st place we stopped - Advertised DEVONSHIRE TEA on the blackboard outside and also displayed inside

Thought a nice devonshire tea sounds great . ok UP THE STAIRS no one around place looked dead go in yeah advertised devonshire tea OK

Out of nowhere this very grey looking female appeared scared the life outta me very apologetic said she should have taken the sign down no devonshire tea today - she said try the Imperial Hotel up the road see my review for the Imperial Hotel ( dont bother their chef cant do more than 1 thing at a time according to the barman ) PS dont go up the mountains during the week if u expect to get any service

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mount Victoria hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was my second stay at this friendly and character filled property. Our en-suite room was spacious and very clean, the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was included in our rate and on the Saturday morning we had hot breakfast of poached eggs, tomato and mushrooms at no extra charge (apparently the weekend special offer). It took some time for the hot water to reach the spout in the shower and basin, but the hot did arrive and stayed. All in all, we had a very nice stay. I am planning to return in spring.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECat1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I have stayed more than a couple of times at The Victoria & Albert. We are always greeted very warmly and are very well looked after by Roman & Katie. The accommodation is charming, clean and comfortable. The food is good. And when Roman is not too busy, he will entertain us with his brilliant guitar playing.

Being from Central NSW, we like the convenience of using the metropolitan railway in to Sydney, which is only a 2 minute walk away. We are able to leave our car safely parked and travel hassle-free. On occasions, we have needed to make a very early start. Nothing being too much trouble for Roman, he will be up to ensure we can have some breakfast before we leave. He will also make sandwiches for us to take on the train - and I can honestly say I've never eaten more delicious sandwiches in my life!

My only critical review would be to say that, although this grand old building has so much charm and potential, it really is in need of repairs and maintenance. However, the warmth and friendliness of the staff more than make up for the need of a coat of paint. We will definitely be booking in again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Victoria
3.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.9 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
27 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Mount Victoria Manor
Mount Victoria Manor
#1 of 2 in Mount Victoria
79 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Albert Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Albert Guesthouse

Property: Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
Address: 19 Station St, Mount Victoria, New South Wales 2786, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria & Albert Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria & Albert Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing