We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa heaven”
Review of Artesian Spa Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artesian Spa Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Moree
canberra, australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spa heaven”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited Moree early July to bathe in the artesian waters in order to relieve my elderly mother's arthritis, and escape the Canberra cold for a few days. After one dip in the pool, we could already see a huge difference in my mother's mobility.
We (three of us) stayed in a spacious family unit nearest the pool which was very handy. Room was recently updated so everything was fresh and clean. One minor issue was that the shower enclosure had no door on one side, so when you were having a shower you couldn't help but make a mess.
The pool was just marvellous - not only did my mother's arthritic hands and knees improve (swelling totally disappeared!), our skin felt so soft and clean after a few days in the water. It was convenient being able to take a dip, then go back to the room to rest before swimming again (hard life!) The unlimited access to the pool is a real bonus.
We had dinner at the restaurant one evening and enjoyed it, it was a trifle on the expensive side though. The grilled barramundi was very tasty. Since our unit was self-contained we did quite a bit of self-catering, after stocking up at the local Coles.
In summary we really enjoyed our visit and will be back. (in a room near the pool, definitely!)
I reall

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the pool are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    94
    48
    25
    30
See reviews for
52
99
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spanking clean and fresh, if rather compact. Ok for one night but would try for bigger room if staying longer. So great to relax in hot spa in mid-winter. Good to have in-house licensed restaurant - the lamb shanks were good. For such a reasonable priced place, good value

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I couldn't wait to leave.
Small dingy rooms and bathrooms, room felt unclean.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rfps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moree hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here after a long drive purely for the RACQ discounts and the spa. Upon arrival we were told that the RACQ discount no longer applies due to change of management.
We paid $85 for the budget room and were really disappointed at the shoebox sized room we were given.
The staff were friendly and highly recommended the hot spa. The spa was lovely and warm however a little unclean. The next morning we were looking forward to a hot breakfast but preferred to not have room service due to size of our room.
The room service menu looked well priced and we expected to be able to order the same at the in house restaurant, which was not the case. We paid $12 each for a continental breakfast. A bit steep considering we had 2 pieces of toast and a drink each.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dani691v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

After staying here several times a year for many years, we discovered the motel has recently been sold to a chain. The food in patricular has changed and lost the special quality that it had. The food used to be very fresh, simple and very good value or money-the rump steak was the best I have had anywhere. The steak this time tasted like supermarket steak, was half the portion size for more money, looked like what you get in any hotel for less money and came well done when ordered rare. The previously lovely omelet for breakfast was flat and cold. The room was full of cicadas/grasshoppers and when I mentioned this at reception-the comment was " you're lucky that is all you got in your room." Disappointing.

Room Tip: The new rooms are an improvement on the old ones but more expensive. Pity they chose the same dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The receptionist Maureen was wonderful and friendly. She went out of her way to make me feel comfortable. The room I stayed in was clean and large with a back door onto an outside grass area that was nice. The food was fine, and priced well. The Artesian Mineral Baths were wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed here on three occasions for business trips to Moree. The location just out of the CBD is nice (quiet), and the room was large, clean and comfortable (ask for a deluxe room at the back-they are recent). The tariff was a bit steep as well ($135 for a deluxe room).

The spa is a lovely addition and very relaxing after a long drive. The restaurant was clean and the food was good (but a bit pricey, $90 for 2 people for two courses, and 1 beer, is a bit steep).

The staff are friendly and pleasant, but the lady owner must have been having a bad day as she was a bit perfunctory.

All in all, its a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are new and large and closest to the spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moree hotels
3.1 mi away
Burke and Wills Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Moree Spa Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Albert Motel
Albert Motel
#1 of 10 in Moree
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Winchester Motel
Winchester Motel
#2 of 10 in Moree
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spa Village Travel Inn
1.2 mi away
Dragon Phoenix Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artesian Spa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artesian Spa Motel

Property: Artesian Spa Motel
Address: 2 Webb Ave | Newell Highway, Moree, New South Wales 2400, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Moree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Moree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artesian Spa Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management and situated close to the Moree CBD, the Artesian Spa Motel offers 46 guest rooms and is rated 4 star. The rooms are tastefully decorated and all have private bathrooms and air-conditioning, with pay TV access. The Motel features The Artesian Gardens Licensed Restaurant, offering superb dining in picturesque surroundings. Experience the delights of the extensive a-la-carte menu, which has been specially designed to showcase the best of the seasonal produce. Set on five acres of landscaped grounds, Artesian Spa Motel Moree is one of only a very small number of local accommodation providers with direct access to its own natural artesian hot thermal pools. The waters from these artesian wells draws people from all over the region, as they are known for their healing and theraputic properties. We look forward to welcoming you to Moree! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Artesian Spa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing