We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Breakfast”
Review of Esk Restaurant

Esk Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Lithgow
Price range: $11 - $29
Description: Introducing ESK Restaurant a contemporary dining experience that is uniquely Lithgow. Enjoy an Australian inspired menu that has been carefully crafted by Executive Chef Tim Standing and Restaurant Head Chef Aaron Engeler. The menu has been designed to highlight the beautiful fresh produce that is sourced from Lithgow and its surrounding regions. The menu is complimented by carefully selected Australian and international wines, whiskies and signature cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: Introducing ESK Restaurant a contemporary dining experience that is uniquely Lithgow. Enjoy an Australian inspired menu that has been carefully crafted by Executive Chef Tim Standing and Restaurant Head Chef Aaron Engeler. The menu has been designed to highlight the beautiful fresh produce that is sourced from Lithgow and its surrounding regions. The menu is complimented by carefully selected Australian and international wines, whiskies and signature cocktails.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Had breakfast at the Esk Restaurant on a Sunday morning. Great range of bread and cereal fresh fruit Greek yogurt. Eggs bacon sausage mushrooms baked beans were delicious and plentiful. Coffee machine made great coffee.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank StephenG2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Esk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2018

Thank you Stephen G for your positive feedback regarding our breakfast. Yes we believe it is excellent value having a breakfast buffet for $20.00 which includes all the serials fresh fruit breads and the normal range of hot breakfast foods & coffee juice etc. Once again many thanks for choosing the workies and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2018

We stayed at Workies so also came to the restaurant every morning for breakfast. It is very clean, tidy and beautiful views over the courtyard and greyhound track. We were fortunate to be there with the wisteria in full bloom. STUNNING. The food was fresh and was in abundance each morning. We also went along to their USA night that was hosted and BOY OH BOY!! Food was fantastic, service was top notch, we ordered more than our bellies could handle but the even better part was the affordability! Would come back in a heartbeat!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank MeShele123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

From the food to the room decor and the wonderful service everything was fantastic. Delicious meals and fast efficient service

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank tripofalifethyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Esk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our Esk Restaurant. Our chefs and wait staff work extremely hard to ensure our dining guests have an experience to remember. Your kind words are a testament to their hard work and determination and I will certainly acknowledge your response to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

We dined here for the first time on the weekend and the food was absolutely amazing. I tend to be a plain eater when dining out but stepping out of my comfort zone tried a couple of different dishes and the food was a 10 out of 10. The quality of the produce really shone through and the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff made the night very enjoyable. Although a little pricey it is well worth every cent. Highly recommend you try it and we will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank cariev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Esk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you Carie for your kind words. Our Chefs & wait staff pride themselves on the provision of high quality service and product and they don't disappoint. It is encouraging when we receive so many positive comments regarding our service and food offerings in Esk Restaurant,it goes to show what hard work can achieve. Once again many thanks and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017

We booked ahead for 7:30 on Friday but it was pretty quiet when we arrived - apparently local folks tend to eat a bit earlier. It's a nice bright room at the back of the Workies Club - not too flash but nice and comfortable.

Service staff were very friendly and efficient throughout dinner. Then menu was compact but had the major food groups and good local ingredients. There was some flair shown in the combinations and this was well produced in the actual meals. We had the prawn tian with avocado, goats cheese with beetroot sorbet, surf and turf with lobster cream, pork belly and affogato for dessert - everything was delicious - dishes were not perfect but they were very good - especially the fresh ingredients.

The wine list is small but there are some good choices - we had The Lane 19th Cabernet - their most expensive wine but it's very good.

We spoke with the chef - Aaron - he's only worked at country hotels and resorts and is only 23 - his efforts here would be welcome in good restaurants in Sydney and Melbourne. Very impressive.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaydn215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Esk Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

We thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our Esk Restaurant. As we are a country club our chefs and wait staff take immense pride in the provision of high quality service and product. Our chefs source fresh local ingredients for most menu items and then prepare and cook them with pride and passion. We are very proud of all of our food offerings here at the Club and are always endeavouring to improve our knowledge, product and service. Once again many thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esk Restaurant also viewed

 
Lithgow, Blue Mountains
 
Lithgow, Blue Mountains
Lithgow, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Esk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing