We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jenolan Caves House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveler rating
336
562
346
123
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
562
346
123
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic roomthe grand dining roomold world charmthe cottagescave tourblue lakephone receptionamazing cavesmain buildingshared bathroomopen firegreat weekendelectric blanketsstayed one nightgrand archgrand classicchisolms restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family recently stayed in two Classic Rooms at Jenolan Caves House.

My wife and I had a nice room, however my daughter who stayed in an adjoining room was disappointed to say the least.

Of particular concern was that the old and tatty curtains were literally falling off the curtain rail and could not be drawn together to close them.

She could not get changed in the room without fear of being seen or to close the curtains to keep the light out.

When I complained to the front desk I was met with a surly "we cannot do anything about it as maintenance has left for the day"...

In the end we were forced to use a bulldog clip to try and keep the curtains at least partially closed!

Apart from the curtain issue the carpets were old and the room generally had a tired feel.

Jenolan Caves themselves were fantastic with the Orient Cave being a particular highlight

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been refurbished recently or is one of the old original rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was our third visit to Jenolan Caves. We normally stay in Caves House, but this time we came with our 2 children, so chose to stay in the Mountain Lodge Family Room, which is located up behind Caves House.
Mountain lodge pros; tv, kitchenette, queen bed, two singles, table, four chairs, daughter loved sleeping in her bed near bay window. Friendly cleaning service, towel replacement, closer to car park.
Cons; steep walk from Caves house (But it walks off your breakfast pastry),plagued with silverfish (one even dropped on me when lying in bed), heat wave during our stay but we didn’t get a fan till the second night. Checking in took 4 attempts. We arrived an hour early and weren’t allowed to check in (our fault – we wanted to drive down when the road is one way to avoid oncoming traffic on the bendy narrow road), 2nd attempt we got a room with only two beds, 3rd attempt the cards wouldn’t open the door, 4th attempt success! Referring back to the steep walk from caves house, four times was a lot! Reception apologised and upgraded our breakfast.
Room E6 had peeling paint, mould on outside of bathroom window, no handles to assist getting out of shower-bath. Soap dispenser and toilet button were very high, the kids couldn’t reach either. Door to our third floor family room no longer had the security chain lock. One of the kitchenette cupboard doors was off its top hinges so didn't use that cupboard.

Brilliant cave tours, standout tour guide this time was Emma. Parents actually allowed their children to play hand held video games during the cave tours?????

Our kids loved seeing a wombat, wallaby, platypus, turtle, ducks, water dragons, birds.

During dinner at Chisholm’s Restaurant the only music was that blaring from the bar worker’s mobile. A table beside us had children lying on the floor playing video games, nearly tripping our child. Meals were poor. Staff here poorly trained/untrained? The way it is being run is worse than an RSL. Come on this is where the Queen Mother and Prince Albert once dined!

Trails Café charged $16+ for 4 icecreams.

This time round most staff seemed young untrained and transient. I was advised Caves House would be closed in February for an upgrade.

Historic Caves House and Jenolan Caves is a special place and is a great adventure. We will be back again in a few years when kids are a bit older.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nswAustralia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

There were 3 adults and 2 teenagers staying in the 2 bedroom cottage for 2 nights.
We found the cottage clean, had all the amenities such as drinking water, crockery, pots, heating – cool at night, enough bedding for 5 people for 2 days, dvd TV, no TV reception –we brought games with us and were able to borrow some DVDs from the Cave House. We thought it was good value for money. From the road, the cottages were well sign posted and having a code rather than a key helped settling in rather than drive the extra 8 kms to the Cave House for a key. The cottages are set in a park surrounded by gum trees; playground and the tame kangaroos were entertaining in themselves. The sign on the road to the caves was confusing as it said the road was closed between 1145-115pm although we managed to drive to the caves during that time. The road from the cottages to the caves is very narrow in parts, enough to cars to squeeze past – thankfully it is all tar sealed.

Room Tip: All the cottages seem the same - three working barbeques you can use...remember to put outside light on if you are coming home in the dark.
Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The curtains didnt close, letting light into the room all night, No Bar fridge and the bed had a sheet that went about 3/4 of the way down the bed followed but a normal sheet then a duvet(No cover) with a sheet on top as a stand in duvet cover, The Bar staff are very friendly but the Easten european Manager is a bit arrogant just walking round Yelling at staff, The food is way over priced. a rear steak will come out medium. This hotel could be so much better, Come On Jenolan Caves Pick you're game up

Room Tip: About 5k up the road is a B&B Called Mckeown's rest.Try there don't go to Caves house
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Markzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked ahead and we got what we paid for ie a classic room with bathroom. Beautiful old building. Rooms a bit tired but service friendly and pleasant throughout.
Dinner in Chisholms was great and the food served in the bar looked good too.
We were worried upon reading all the negatives but were pleasantly surprised.
Caves are amazing.
Save yourself the travel and book ahead for a great night away.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews