We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghosts, Legends & Mystery Tour”
Review of Jenolan Caves

Jenolan Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$141.24*
and up
Blue Mountains and Jenolan Caves Motorcoach Day Tour
More Info
$136.40*
and up
Jenolan Caves Blue Mountains and Caves Tour from Sydney
More Info
$120.26*
and up
Small-Group Blue Mountains and Jenolan Caves Day Trip from Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Open every day, Jenolan Caves are the largest, most spectacular and most famous caves in Australia. Explore the world's oldest caves - one of the most outstanding cave systems in the world. You are never too young or old to experience the amazing - award-winning tours, adventure caving, scenic bush walks and Australian Aboriginal culture. Glimpse Australian birds and animals in the wild, including kangaroos and platypus. Relax in our magnificent Chisolm's Restaurant, cafe or bar. We even offer accommodation - hotel, motel, cottage or backpacker lodge. Set in Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness, Jenolan Caves are a national treasure, of awe-inspiring beauty and scale.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Wyong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ghosts, Legends & Mystery Tour”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Part of our red balloon deal. It was great to experience the caves in the dark and was classified as strenuous but really wasn't that bad. A little puffing at the start but was a nice pace to stop and catch your breathe. Biggest thing for us was the tour guide was having mixed contradictory belief in the ghosts. In our opinion the ghost/mystery component would have been more interesting if there was more "show" theatrics rather than presented as rumors or stories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    360
    73
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“These Caves Grab You”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived at the caves at about 2pm and booked into our accommodation at Caves House. Our accommodation allowed us to visit one cave and also the self guided tour.
We chose to visit the Imperial Cave at about 5:30pm after the tour buses had left for the day. It was a small tour with our group of 6 plus one other. The guide was most knowledgeable and was interesting and obviously loved his job. This cave was great and we went from level to level and ended at the river. This river was crystal clear and flowing. In fact it looked as if it wasn't there but was over a metre deep. The tour was supposed to be for an hour but went on for 1.5 hours. I would highly recommend this cave especially late in the day or early.
The self guided tour meant using an audio piece that guided you through about 20 stop points. It was through the Nettle Cave which was big and mainly open. It was again very interesting with an excellent commentary.
Overall a great stay- highly recommend, however, it is about 3 hours west of Sydney. We combined this with a visit to the Blue Mountains.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was blown away by the vistas when you first arrive at the caves. The caves tour was guided by a very knowledgeable man and for the price you also get to do a self guided tour of another cave. For the entry price also, the tickets can be used again for up to a year to purchase tickets at half the entry price. There are also plenty of walks in the area with a highlight being the platypus in the lake. Food was reasonably priced also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

it has been 40yrs since my last visit as a 6yr old.hehehe.
What a wonderful natural beauty this place it. We must absolutley thank the Pioneers and naturalists of the day to ensure this great natural beauty has been kept this way, and not fully overtaken by tourism. The 'adventure caving' was fantastic. pitty I am not a bit more flexible to do the higher grades.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A treat for those seeking an 'another world' experience.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been to this cave complex more than once and it never ceases to amaze me. I have seen a variety of the Jenolan caves*, and each is amazingly unique. The little town that supports this attraction is also lovely and most of the staff working in the area appear to be in 'happy-to-help' mode (although the main ticket office will try to sell you more than one cave tour exactly because of the 'unique' factor). Most of the tour guides I've had have been wonderful; each with their own little quirks and informative two cents' worth. A downside to the caves is the price, which - after seeing more than one cave on an adult fee, can quickly become pretty steep. They do, however, have a 'cheaper ticket if you return again' system.

* Orient
* Imperial
* Lucas
* Temple of Baal
* Chifley

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PepperPegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jenolan Caves also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Jenolan Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing