We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy haven with fantastic views.”
Review of Jenolan Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jenolan Cabins
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have been going to the cabins every winter for many years. Robyn and Michael are always happy and helpful. The cabins are very comfy and cosy, a perfect place to just veg out with a bottle of wine and some yummy food. We always take the slow cooker with and have a hearty casserole, this usually does us for the 2 nights. The wood fire keeps the whole cabin warm. We have been there in all sorts of weather, warm, then fogged in, gale force winds and sleet and snow, all the weathers you expect in the mountains and what a place to view it all from. The views from the lounge and bedroom are fantastic.The trip out to Kanangra Walls is spectacular, a view not to bemissed. Oberon has some great cafes and Cobweb craft shop is great for jams, pickles arts and crafts, the bakery makes lovely homemade pies (sweet and savoury). The Jenolan cabins are
somewhere we'll keep coming back to for years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41KAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 55 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here based on Tripadvisor reviews. The cabins are located on a hillside about 5km up a very steep hill from the Caves village. Our cabin was clean on arrival and we found it to be comfortable and spacious compared to other 2 bedroom cabins we'd stayed in. It was quite cold at night (due to the elevation) but the cabin had a very efficient log fire and the owners provided an unlimited supply of firewood. We all loved the fire and the children had great fun chopping wood. Our only real problem was with the cooking facilities. There was a microwave oven, gas grill and gas hob. There was no real oven and we hadn't expected this, so we had to replan our cooking program for the three days. We had been told that there were no supermarkets nearby, so we had brought all our food with us, expecting there to be an oven. Also every time we used the grill, the piercing smoke alarm (which was located very high up, almost directly above the grill) went off and the owners son was unable to do anything about this except to suggest we either cook on the BBQ or use the grill with all the doors and windows open.

The smoke alarm was so sensitive that it went off even when we tried to use it to warm up some croissants, so we ended up taking his advice and using the communal BBQ to do all our cooking. Luckily we had dry weather and it was actually very pleasant to cook and eat outside.

The information left in the cabins was useful and the owners were helpful and unobtrusive.

We would certainly stay at Jenolan cabins again.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed here with other families and all enjoyed the communal BBQ area on a warm summer's night.

Very good value with double bunks and spacious rooms. The eco toilet took a little getting used to, but it was a good eye opener as to how much water we would normally waste in the city!

Friendly and helpful hosts and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readytogo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We really loved our stay at the Jenolan Cabins. They were very clean and had everything provided for self caterers to ensure they can put a decent meal on the table at the end of a wonderful day at the caves. That was the other good thing... the caves were literally just down the road. Our family would go back to Jenolan in a heartbeat and if we did, we would most definitely stay at the Jenolan Cabins.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am normally an inner city 5 star hotel type but we decided to take the boys bush for the long weekend. The cabins are spotlessly clean and roomy enough given we didn't spend a lot of time there. Views are amazing and it is a very serene and relaxing setting. The decor is rustic but in good nick. If you are self catering, take along a good sharp knife, peeler and board. Oh and a colander. The ones supplied are no good, surprising given self catering is almost mandatory. If you like Your cup of tea from a mug, bring those as well, only glass tea cups supplied. Oberon is only 15 min down the road and we went to the pizza restaurant "the caves" which was great. Atmosphere lacking but well run and care put into the pizza. Also, don't forget to take a face washer and soap (not supplied either).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

These cabins were an excellent option. Have stayed at Caves House before but found them quaint but reasonable. This trip decided on having a self catering option as there is no good food options around other than caves house. The cabins are very room. They have wonderful views and were very comfortable. On the first night the log fire was set and going with lots of spare wood. Very cosy. (But on second night we had a lot of trouble getting the fire going. Bring a pack of fire starters). The owners were not overly warm. The cabins are a short drive to caves, only 10 mins.
Much better value than accommodation at caves house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coogeematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the cabins for 3 nights in february. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and the cabins were really cosy and spacious. The views from the cabins were fab and wallabies kangaroos and parots were everywhere!
The cabins themselves had everything in them that we needed and all in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livvys4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenolan Caves
19.8 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
20 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jenolan Caves House
Jenolan Caves House
#1 of 1 in Jenolan Caves
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
11.9 mi away
Jenolan Caravan Park
Jenolan Caravan Park
#1 of 6 in Oberon
96 reviews
11.3 mi away
Motel Titania Oberon
Motel Titania Oberon
#2 of 3 in Oberon
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenolan Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenolan Cabins

Address: Jenolan Cabins 42 Edith Road | Porcupine Hill, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jenolan Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jenolan Caves
Price Range: $98 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jenolan Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Fully self contained cottages lovely setting lovely views 6 kils from the world famous Jenolan Caves and 20 minutes fron the World Heritage National Park Kanangra Boyd ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Jenolan Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing