We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapphire City Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Inverell
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stay every four weeks and this place has become a home away from home, Dave and Deb are congratulated for friendly service, clean comfortable rooms and wonderful meals, reliable internet and engaging conversations (especially around State of Origin time). Great work, team.

Room Tip: On the Glen Innes by pass, noise doesn't bother me but if you are a light sleeper, ask for a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1965A, Owner at Sapphire City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks for the feedback Mick, kind words from a Queenslander! Thank you also for the can of XXXXXXXX beer as a gentle reminder of the footy. We will win one day you know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I extended my stay in Inverell, and decided to try the Sapphire City Motor Inn at short notice, and im so glad that i did, not only was it affordable the bed was comfy and warm. The heater and electric blanket worked a treat and the shower was lovely and hot!! The owners were very friendly and helpful. They offered superior service and i was very very satisfied .
Will definately be returning here on my next trip to Inverell :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuleznDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1965A, Owner at Sapphire City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your response, and yes the days of your visit were very 'fresh'. Glad you were warm and comfy. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Sapphire City Motor Inn on numerous occasions and continue to be impressed each stay. Yes the rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean, and affordable. Yes the motel is in a great location right across the road from the Bowling club and short walk from town. Yes the meals are great, but more than anything it's the amazing, friendly, welcoming and above and beyond customer service from the owners that have us returning time and time again! Would definitely recommend Sapphire City Motor Inn and as the other reviewers have stated it definitely is a home away from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1965A, Owner at Sapphire City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your very kind feedback. We look forward to seeing you when you next visit over Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Sapphire City Motor Inn ticks all the boxes for me.
Comfortable Bed,.Home Cooked Meals. Austar, Internet ,Great Customer Service and Very Affordable Rates.
The only time i have stayed in other Motels in Inverell was when i failed to book my accommodation in advance, I would not stay anywhere else in Inverell..
Congratulations to the owners and staff.
Home away from home

Room Tip: rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1965A, Owner at Sapphire City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. See you again next month, we hope you don't forget to book your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights ago. It was clean and spacious. But Austar was heavily promoted but all we could get was Sport and News. We went to the office a couple of times re this. It was a very cold night. The electric blanket didn't work. Room very cold - even with puting on the vented heating. In the morning, power points went out of use - so no jug, toaster, hair dryer etc.

Room Tip: Best not to stay in the cottage at all until they get the place rewired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyocean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1965A, Owner at Sapphire City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Please accept our apologies, it seems that some days things just go wrong and thank you for drawing these issues to our attention. To specifically address your concerns:

Austar - we contacted Austar to find out what had happened and for some reason unknown to all they had changed our package - you will be impressed with the new package we just signed up for - about 100 channels now. Plus Foxtel are easier to contact on weekends so hopefully we don't get a repeat of this.

Electric Blanket - we checked them the following morning and they were warming up so there must have been a short in it somewhere. Now thrown out and replaced.

Ducted heating - we are sorry that this didn't keep you warm, the heating usually copes with the coldest night that gets thrown at it. Next trip try our new cottage "Ruby Cottage", it has a wood fire that is lovely.

Power points - again sorry, the house is over 100 years old and does sometimes struggle with all the modern demands. We have improved this, but can only do so much. Thank you for alerting us to the issue however and we now make sure we let all guests know of the potential issue, and show them where to flick the circuit breaker.

Please call us next time you are staying in Inverell and we will provide you with a discounted night as an apology.

We do hope that you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spend my life on the road as a sales rep covering Northern NSW and the Central coast. I was introduced to this little Gold mine about 4 years ago when I took over the Northern NSW territory.
I love my trips to Inverell just to catch up with Deb and David the hosts of this great place and all the regular visitors that I have met during my stays. There is always a warm welcome on arrival, spotless rooms, comfy beds and a great breakfast. Room service meals are good but you also have the convenience of the Bowls club across the road if you feel like a night out. This is my home away from home and I recommend it to all that are travelling to Inverell.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie T, Owner at Sapphire City Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hi Julie,

Thank you for your feedback and kind words, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice and clean place. Traveled with family, and stayed only one night, more for its location than anything else. Greeting was friendly, and easy to ask for any assistance. Free internet, a little slow, but still able to keep in touch with other family members. Located across the road from the bowling club makes it easy to find. We have already booked a 2 night stay next March, and would only expect the service to increase. Highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: great location, especially if you need to access the bowling club across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrobo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverell hotels
0.2 mi away
Cousins Motor Inn
Cousins Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Inverell
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverell Motel
Inverell Motel
#6 of 7 in Inverell
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twin Swans Motel
Twin Swans Motel
#2 of 7 in Inverell
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Top of the Town Motel
Top of the Town Motel
#4 of 7 in Inverell
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inverell Terrace Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire City Motor Inn

Address: 30/34 Glen Innes Road., Inverell, New South Wales 2360, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Inverell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Inverell
Price Range: $85 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an owner operated country motel with 17 rooms that all have renovated bathrooms, friendly service and a pleasant smile all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sapphire City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing