We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent representation of Lindsay's art”

Norman Lindsay Gallery & Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent representation of Lindsay's art”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

An art gallery and historic home combined across three buildings. The main homestead houses much of Lindsay's paintings (e.g. of female nudes), but also features some of the model ships he built and some sculptures. There are two studios that you can also tour at certain times of the days by guided tour (from memory daily at 10:30, 11:30, 12:30, 1:30 and 2:30). One is his original studio, which features some unfinished works. The other (called the "Etching Studio") features a "Magic Pudding" gallery as well as photographs of the property and family and the machine Lindsay's wife used to print the etchings. The gardens feature statues made by Lindsay, and offer another point of interest. If you are like this style of Australian art, you will love the home and gallery!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    60
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe @ museum”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went for a soup at the cafe which was leek & potato. It was excellent. The other dishes being served at the other tables looked better than your average cafe food. They appear to have some good chefs in the kitchen, so I would try something more substantial next time. The staff here are friendly & the place is cosy. I would return as it was a pleasant surprise.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great start to a romantic short stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The experience is unique!! cafe has great food. Tour guide very informative, ample knowledge of this artist and the history of the wonderful property

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Darren_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellinfton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must visit on the way to Sydney”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not a lot of visitor are aware of this gem on the way to Sydney from the Blue Mountains. A must visit not only for art lovers

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank boony7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting tour, friendly service”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to the gallery. Our tour guide was interesting and very helpful and was happy to spend plenty of time with us sharing information and facts about the Lindsay artworks. The cafe is open at the bottom of the property next to the Magic Pudding display and there we enjoyed some bread and dips and largest potato wedges I've ever seen! The menu is extensive but we found it a little expensive for lunchtime so just shared some 'starters' between us. It was a great activity to do on a wet afternoon.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Lindsay Gallery & Museum also viewed

 
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Norman Lindsay Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing